We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for cheap ski trip”
Review of Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good spot for cheap ski trip”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed a week in early April 13 for some spring skiing. The hotel had everything we needed after a long period travelling.

Continental breakfast was ok.

Highlight of the hotel is the view across Lake Tahoe.

Bus stop for Squaw Valley just a short walk of about 50m down the road.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better view of Lake Tahoe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    37
    14
    15
See reviews for
50
86
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna VA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Motel choices are actually rather limited in Tahoe City and the Pepper Tree has always been my choice, due to the location (and view) right across from Lake Tahoe. We had a pleasant two night stay recently. Previously I've been at Tahoe alone, this trip my husband could join me. The room and bathroom seemed much smaller for two than for one! We had some trouble juggling all the luggage and our 'stuff' in the room. Breakfast is provided and the breakfast room is nice. We'll be back, the location and view are the best in Tahoe in my opinion.

Room Tip: For the view, ask for a room in the 'tower' approximately 3rd floor to the top 7th floor. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Another enjoyable stay at the Pepper Tree! We spent six days there last month and were once again most impressed. Friendly helpful staff, spotless rooms, sparkling clean pool, terrific view from our 5th floor balcony. The 2nd floor deck is great for eating, just hanging out, and our yearly Tahoe domino competition! I think this will be our 'base camp' from now on when we go to Tahoe every year in August. Tahoe City is a quaint, lovely little town - mostly within walking distance from the motel. Marika has a great thing going - hopefully she will be there for some time to come. (And the coffee grinders create some mighty tasty coffee.)

We discovered a new Italian restaurant on this trip - Zia Lina - which was excellent and just down the street from the Pepper Tree.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldilocksSanJoseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Inn is perfectly located for shopping, exploring, and visiting restaurants. The Inn makes up for small rooms by providing amenities normally found in 4 or 5 star hotels. In addition to the normal bathroom amenities, one can grind the coffee beans provided in your room and heat your favorite pastry in the microwave. All this is in addition to the fine free breakfast in the morning. There is also a nice sized refrigerator to chill your wine that you can sip on your veranda while enjoying a fabulous view of Lake Tahoe. We plan to return as this place is a real gem.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to enjoy a better view in the superior rooms on the 6th or 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I were staying at the West Shore Inn for Labor Day weekend and my daughter and her boyfriend (mid-20's) wanted to join us in Tahoe for one night. We wanted to treat them to a mini-getaway but we could not get a room anywhere for them that did not have a 2 night minimum and had vacancy.

We finally found a room available at the Pepper Tree Inn. It was a Lakeview Room on floor 5 for $126/night (AAA discount available). It was perfect. Yes, the property is older but they thought it was clean and comfortable, the front desk people were very friendly and the breakfast impressive for a continental. They also enjoyed its location in Tahoe City. After we had dinner with them and returned to our hotel, they had options close by for going out afterwards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Its a big building in tahoe city--seven stories! But, if you stay on the 5th - 7th floor, you will get a stunning view of the Lake. Grab a chair on the balconey and dirink it in... The rooms are kinda small, but the amenitied are top rate. Beatuiful duvets, and sheets. The rooms very quaint, with a cabin feeling. HBO, refrigerators, and coffee makers with grinders in the rooms. Great breakfasts includes with fresh food, not packaged junk. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay in 5th to 7th floor for the views! Best in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Tower at the Pepper Tree and loved the view. We had a jacuzzi suite that was very nicely appointed with new designer tile and cozy decor. The continental breakfast was classic....more than one could want...waffle maker, eggs, bagels, toast, etc. Free wifi was great. Altogether a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhostCounrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,015 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Property: Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned quaint, one-of-a-kind mountain inn centered in the heart of Tahoe City California. Directly across the street from Lake Tahoe. Our 7-story tower building is the 2nd tallest structure on the CA side of the lake and affords our guests an #EpicLakeView of the lake and summit from their balcony. Recent room linen & towels upgrades and 32" flat screen TV's. We offer our guests free off-street & underground parking, free access to our newly upgraded secure WiFi, 8-free HBO Channels via our new (60 channel) Direct TV upgrade, a free "expanded" continental breakfast in our mountain decor breakfast room, and a Staff who is sensitive and dedicated to our guests needs and comfort. We have a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool to which we have just added a new privacy fence, and offer recommendations to area attractions and even discount coupons to our favorite area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing