We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views & great service”
Review of Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this place for one night, just to have a place to stay after snowboarding. I was pleasantly surprised to see how great the views are. The staff was very nice and friendly, and the rooms were nicer than expected. I'm definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 4+ in the low numbers (I think 402-406, 502-506, etc.) had great views of the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliciabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Pepper Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

CONS: Upon check-in we were NOT told that they had discount discounts to Heavenly and Squaw Valley-we only saw the sign the 2nd day we were there. Front desk should have told us that upon check-in! The room was very small-the bed was pushed up against the heater. It also snowed an inch during the night and the very noisy snow plow kept going up and down the street at 5 a.m.. We stayed on the first floor near the office, and it sounded like a herd of elephants above us. The room was shaking it was so noisy. You could hear every footstep below. PRO: It is reasonably priced and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast a lot.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights during a ski holiday. The Rooms were clean and the were friendly and staff helpful. A Good buffet breakfast set us up for a days activity. A choice of good coffee and tea in the room which also had a large fridge and microwave.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nitkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Pepper Tree Inn on Thanksgiving night, 2012. We stayed on the fifth floor and had a pretty good view of the lake from our room. There was a little table and two chairs right in front of the window overlooking the lake where we could drink our morning coffee. And the attention to detail was a real pleasure. The hotel provided real glasses and coffee mugs, not just plastic and/or paper cups, and good coffee both in the room and at the breakfast buffet. And the rubber ducky in the jacuzzi was a nice touch. The room was very clean, and the buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent. It included not only waffles, bagels, oatmeal, and the customary continental breakfast items, but it also included breakfast burritos that could be heated in the microwave oven. The staff were friendly and helpful and Tahoe City itself was a cute little town. Initially I had reservations about staying in Tahoe City, because everyone says South Lake Tahoe is much better. I've stayed in South Lake Tahoe and enjoyed it, but Tahoe City definitely has charm. It's not a party town like South Lake Tahoe and it that is what you want, Tahoe City is not for you. But if you want to stay in a nice hotel in a charming mountain village right on Lake Tahoe, I'd highly recommend the Pepper Tree Inn in Tahoe City.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to stay on the third floor or higher. From the lower floors, you jus...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Pepper Tree in room 501 recently and were very impressed! Room was really nicely decorated and comfy. Staff is great! Jacuzzi room rocks! Thank You Pepper Tree for a great stay at the Lake with a great room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahoemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We used the Pepper Tree Inn as our wedding hotel, as we had a destination wedding in Tahoe City and had many out of town guests. As a local, I checked with all the area hotels and none were cleaner, cuter (they have a mountain town vibe!) and more customer service oriented than the Pepper Tree.

They allowed us to take over the pool terrace area for an after-party and a free breakfast (two steps above a regular continental breakfast) was provided for each guest. The owner Lee and his wife were an absolute pleasure to work with and I would recommend this as the best place to stay if you are visiting Tahoe City.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors in the tower portion have a killer view of Lake Tahoe!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlewing127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I had an excellent time at the pepper tree.. The manager at the desk was helpful polite and friendly...The room had a lovely view towards the lake and also had a table and two chairs which was useful...very clean .. however note ..no Air conditioning....although the a fan was supplied .. We left early in the morning (No person at desk during this period) an I wanted to mention my Brand New paperback which I was looking forward to make a start on ..I had left on the side cabinet.. had completely Vanished..We even looked under the bed.no book ! I presume that the maid thought it was rubbish! but if it was it would be in the bin ..So please pepper tree have a word with the maids if it isn't in the bin it is needed ...Other than that a Value for money Inn...walking distance of Shops..Cafe's .....

Room Tip: A higher floor gives a good View...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,088 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
5.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: $143 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned quaint, one-of-a-kind mountain inn centered in the heart of Tahoe City California. Directly across the street from Lake Tahoe. Our 7-story tower building is the 2nd tallest structure on the CA side of the lake and affords our guests an #EpicLakeView of the lake and summit from their balcony. Recent room linen & towels upgrades and 32" flat screen TV's. We offer our guests free off-street & underground parking, free access to our newly upgraded secure WiFi, 8-free HBO Channels via our new (60 channel) Direct TV upgrade, a free "expanded" continental breakfast in our mountain decor breakfast room, and a Staff who is sensitive and dedicated to our guests needs and comfort. We have a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool to which we have just added a new privacy fence, and offer recommendations to area attractions and even discount coupons to our favorite area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing