We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sisters passing through town on cross country drive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sisters passing through town on cross country drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My sister and I made this our last stop on a cross country drive and boy were we happy! Pepper Tree Inn had great value for a great price. The Inn was clean, neat and quiet. Given we arrived in the off season, so maybe take my review with a grain of salt. The location was excellent, right down town with shopping, restaurants and the path immediately available. The Inn is across the street from the lake. Not lake front, but the view we had was just fine. The hotel is nothing fancy, but they had put a little extra effort into decorating the room so that it wasn't bare bones. We got a AAA discount also, btw.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors in order to have a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgriffing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    36
    14
    15
See reviews for
46
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, NV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was centrally located; we parked our vehicle and either walked and rode our bikes through town. We stayed in Rm 605, which had a nice partially obstructed view of Lake Tahoe. The rooms are as stated by other reviewers...not fancy, but clean and serves the purpose (after all, when you come to Tahoe City it's not to stay in your room!). The toiletries were nice (loved the soap) and plenty of towels. The room included a coffee maker/coffee grinder with free beans and all the necessary coffee treats, microwave, and mini refrigerator. The bathroom and closet were very small, but again served their purpose. The breakfast was good and had plenty of goodies to choose from including waffles, hard boiled, eggs, burritos, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. There was a modest, but clean pool (no hot tub though, which we needed after a 23+ mile bike ride and 2+ mile uphill hiking). All was pretty satisfactory; the reason I am giving this hotel a 3 rather than 4 is because both beds (that's all they had available) in our room seemed like they came from Bedrock (Flintstones) because they were hard as a rock, and our sleep quality truly suffered because of it...I woke up with my body hurting, and not because of all the hiking, etc...the bed was horrid!!!! Also, there was pronounced street/tourist noise (but that's not the hotel's fault.) Other than those rock hard beds, we enjoyed our stay and we will return. (They do offer a nice romance package with a $60 credit to Jake's on the Lake, and sleep number bed, so maybe we'll be back sooner than later as long as we can get a bed we can actually get good rest on!)

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsarnee1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My other half and I spent five days in Tahoe City just last week. After having a problem with last year's motel, I found the Pepper Tree online and made a reservation at basically the last minute. We had an absolutely gorgeous lake view from our room and even ate breakfast each morning on the balcony right outside our door. The room was clean and comfortable and the housekeeping was first rate. I don't understand previous reviews about rude staff at the front desk; everyone was most pleasant during our stay. There is a great deck/patio for gazing at Lake Tahoe - we played several rounds of dominoes there while getting some much-needed relaxation. Tahoe City is a cute little town - everything was within walking distance - and believe me, I'm not one who is known for doing a lot of walking! Nice restaurants - Rosie's, Blue Agave (excellent), Fat Cat. We would definitely stay at the Pepper Tree again, hopefully next summer! Oh yes, rooms have coffee beans/grinder - the coffee was most tasty!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor in the tower with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldilocksSanJoseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel in early August. A worker in the city's visitor information center steered us there, and we got a good deal on a 7th floor room with a king-sized bed and a gorgeous view of Lake Tahoe. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The chairs outside on the walkway overlooking the lake were a thoughtful bonus. There was no air conditioning and the provided electric fan was somewhat noisy, but this was a small price to pay for the lake view and convenience of being able to walk to restaurants and the lakeside park. The included breakfast was simple but adequate. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors of the tower have the best lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I loved this hotel. My friends and I were on a tight budget and this hotel was perfect for summer. Great pool / balcony area - perfect for kicking back with a beer & deck of cards. Brilliant location. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Easy parking. Yummy breakfast (even if it was basic). You can see the lake but there are a few trees in the way. Who's complaining?? Not me!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siracdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for four nights mid july over a week-end. The hotel management is friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. Room was large enough, with frig & microwave, whole coffe beans and grinder, clean...although week-end "maid service" was not as good as the regular maid service during the week. Best part is hotel is located across the street from great restauarants (e.g., Wolfdale, Jakes on the Lake, Rosie's), bicycle rental, bike path, shopping mall, etc. If you make a reservation I recommend you call the hotel directly rather than over internet so you can ask for a room in the high rise. The room we got over the internet was along the front second floor. The lights strung along the front shine in the room at night. And noise from roadway was prominent over week-end...not the best for sensitive sleepers. Overall we enjoyed this hotel stay very much and the price is right! They accept AAA as well.

Room Tip: Calal the hotel directly and ask for a room in their high rise. Great view of the lake, no lights r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This property has a great location across the street from beautiful Lake Tahoe in a quaint little town. The room was nice but not spectacular. Not a huge room and the closet area was tucked back into a corner behind the wall, access to it was very strange. Unit appeared to be clean, but the carpets were a little questionable. Noise from trucks behind the build at random times was annoying. No smoking signs posted everywhere but the staff all seemed to be smokers and were outside the office blazing butts. The continental breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The view of the lake and the moderate temperatures made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Property: Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned one-of-a-kind B & B, centrally located in the heart of Tahoe City, directly across the street from Lake Tahoe. Our 7-story tower building is the 2nd tallest structure on the CA side and affords our guests a beautiful view of the lake from their balcony. Recent room linen & towels upgrades and 32" flat screen TV's. We offer our guests free off-street & underground parking, free access to our newly upgraded secure WiFi, 8-free HBO Channels via our new (60 channel) Direct TV upgrade, a free "extended" continental breakfast in our quaint breakfast room, and a Staff who is sensitive and dedicated to our guests needs and comfort. We have a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool to which we have just added a new privacy fence, and offer recommendations to area attractions and even discount coupons to our favorite area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing