We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pepper Tree Inn
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Tahoe City(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granlibakken Tahoe(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$129
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn(Tahoe City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinquapin(Tahoe City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Tahoe City Inn(Tahoe City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
53
78
38
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
78
38
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesview of the lakecovered parkingtower roomfree breakfastnumber bedguest laundryhard boiled eggsbreakfast roommountain townwaffle makerfat catrestaurants shopsski tripmake your ownsnow stormawesome stay
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 198 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for four nights mid july over a week-end. The hotel management is friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. Room was large enough, with frig & microwave, whole coffe beans and grinder, clean...although week-end "maid service" was not as good as the regular maid service during the week. Best part is hotel is located across the street from great restauarants (e.g., Wolfdale, Jakes on the Lake, Rosie's), bicycle rental, bike path, shopping mall, etc. If you make a reservation I recommend you call the hotel directly rather than over internet so you can ask for a room in the high rise. The room we got over the internet was along the front second floor. The lights strung along the front shine in the room at night. And noise from roadway was prominent over week-end...not the best for sensitive sleepers. Overall we enjoyed this hotel stay very much and the price is right! They accept AAA as well.

Room Tip: Calal the hotel directly and ask for a room in their high rise. Great view of the lake, no lights right outside window, much less noise from road way, elevator, and management/owners will match internet price.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This property has a great location across the street from beautiful Lake Tahoe in a quaint little town. The room was nice but not spectacular. Not a huge room and the closet area was tucked back into a corner behind the wall, access to it was very strange. Unit appeared to be clean, but the carpets were a little questionable. Noise from trucks behind the build at random times was annoying. No smoking signs posted everywhere but the staff all seemed to be smokers and were outside the office blazing butts. The continental breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The view of the lake and the moderate temperatures made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The inn was ok, people at the front desk have no clue what hospitality means.... To say they were unfriendly and rude would be how your arrival will be, The rooms are nice and clean but bad odors that never go away, the bathroom has no exhaust fan!

for me the crowd noise went on all night
I know it is not the hotels fault but good luck getting any sleep

Room Tip: The rooms smell!,
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We took the kids up for a spur of the moment overnight to Lake Tahoe. It's hard to know how a hotel actually is by the pics they show online but I must say, for the Pepper Tree Inn, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful and we got a great deal on the room. We got a room with a nice big Jacuzzi tub and even the kids had a blast with the jets. We were on the 6th floor so the view of the lake was incredible. The pool was clean and relatively private from the road. The free breakfast in the morning included make-them-yourself waffles, bagels, cereal, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, breakfast burritos, yogurts, and more that I can't remember. The room was a little small but it was very clean and the cabin- decor was cute. They had Sleep Number beds that my husband loved but I wasn't as fond of but the sheets were clean and that is way more important. This isn't a 5 star hotel but for the price I don't think you can get better in the area. We will go again for sure.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you're on the better your view of the lake. There are several restaurants within walking distance, our favorite is Rosie's. There's also an ice cream shop and a nice lake front walk with benches right across the street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyfuljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed on the 7th floor and had a great view of the lake. The room was very clean and comfortable and had all amenities, including a coffee pot that has a bean grinder for fresh ground coffee in the morning. A real treat! Expanded continental breakfast included. We were there in mid-May and it was quiet since there weren't many people there, but I would imagine that it gets noisy during the summer season. We have learned to always travel with ear plugs.
Good restaurants within walking distance, nice walking trails on the lake side of the road.
A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews