We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lure Resort(Downieville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granlibakken Tahoe(Tahoe City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Village At Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
53
78
38
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
78
38
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesview of the lakecovered parkingtower roomfree breakfastnumber bedguest laundryhard boiled eggsbreakfast roommountain townwaffle makerfat catrestaurants shopsski tripmake your ownsnow stormawesome stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 198 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed on the 7th floor and had a great view of the lake. The room was very clean and comfortable and had all amenities, including a coffee pot that has a bean grinder for fresh ground coffee in the morning. A real treat! Expanded continental breakfast included. We were there in mid-May and it was quiet since there weren't many people there, but I would imagine that it gets noisy during the summer season. We have learned to always travel with ear plugs.
Good restaurants within walking distance, nice walking trails on the lake side of the road.
A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a nice view of Lake Tahoe from our fourth floor room. The room had all the amenities we needed. Tahoe City is small, but everything was a surprisingly easy walk from the hotel--restaurants, grocery store, lake trail, etc. Staff was very helpful when we wanted to ride bikes; telling us where to rent and the best trails. My wife likes to travel with her own pillow and when she forgot it, they had it the mail the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Overlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Tahoe City is a tiny town and as such you worry about the quality of the hotels as all are rated 2 stars. The Pepper Tree is the best place in town. It is clean, recently updated and the owners are awesome. We were there for a volleyball tournament and they knew that and had copies of directions pre-printed for the guests. They have a nice little breakfast included and the location is right on the main street near restaurants, the lakefront and all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Tahoe City is a really great town, but unfortunately there are not many options for lodging. The Pepper Tree Inn is centrally located and easy walking distance from numerous restaurants, bars and shops. The view of the lake is wonderful and mostly makes up for what is a very basic motel room.

The worst part for me was that the rooms are not particularly sound proof so even after one night of enduring a very rowdy group at 2 am, I could still hear people's TVs through the walls and had to sleep with ear plugs. Perhaps the fact that they give them out of the front desk should have been a clue.

Given that there really doesn't seem to be a better option, I'd stay there again, but I'd know what I was getting into.

Other pro(s) - in room fridge, free breakfast with lots of options
Other con(s) - awful comforter, the kind you worry never gets washed

Room Tip: 6th and 7th floors have the best views
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My 10 year old daughter and I having been coming to Tahoe City for many years for ski weekends, but stayed elsewhere. This time, we decided to try someplace new, and were pleasantly surprised by our experience. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a fabulous view across the lake. The room was clean, with a fridge and microwave. Good water pressure in the shower (and lots of hot water). Average queen size bed, but lots of pillows. Enjoyed good wifi reception. Breakfast selection was terrific (not your simple "continental" choices).
Marika gave us a very friendly reception.
Convinience store next to hotel, many restaurants within walking distance.
We shall look forward to our return to Tahoe and this hotel!

Room Tip: Pick a room in the tower.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews