We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the high cost of the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I saw a lot of rave reviews of this place, and though it was cute, it was overpriced for what it was. Small rooms, expensive dining, and no A/C (I detest air conditioning, but the noise and the heat made it impossible to sleep), so it was 2 sleepless nights. For some reason we were above the delivery dock doors, and there was LOUD, LOUD slamming for hours and hours - so our kids (who were exhausted) didn't sleep until after midnight. I think none of us slept more than an hour or two that night.

Surely there are better deals to be had in other parts of Tahoe - we paid $240 a night, which wasn't close to worth it. I would have felt better staying in an old fashioned "Motel" - also right on the water - for the money. Those can still be had in the north of Lake Tahoe in Kings Beach. That's where we'll stay next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finewhine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 266 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed midweek and got a nice special with dinner included. We had no problem with noise from the restarant or the rooms next to us. Although it was midweek and raining while we were there, we had a very nice time, we liked the room, loved te view & thought the food at the grill was wonderful. All the rservers were great and the staff very friendly. My only 1 complaint- the rooms on the water have windows above the slider that the sun shines right in as soon as the sun pops up,then when you turn your body to the wall to avoid sun in the eye, the mirror on he opposing wall makes the window seem tame. So no sleeping in much. But it was still worth it and seemed more comical than anything. Beds were nice & rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We would echo those who have posted favorable reviews. The one compliant we have is: there is no comfortable chairs in the room we had. If you are confined to room due to weather, there is no where to sit other than two hard back chairs or the bed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our second time at Sunnyside and we would go back. They offer a great ski package. The restaurant is first class. The rooms are nicely done with outstanding views of Lake Tahoe. Service is great, friendly, and attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I surprised my boyfriend with a birthday trip to Tahoe and picked Sunnyside for the ski/lodging package. Neither of us like big impersonal chains, so the Sunnyside was perfect for us. The complimentary breakfast is great, the views are amazing, and the staff was extremely helpful. When we weren't skiing, we spent time downstairs playing cards by the fireplace and having dinner at the bar and the more formal dining room - both had excellent food. A few things to take note of - there are three rooms that are directly above the bar. It wasn't a problem for us b/c we're heavy sleepers and exhausted from skiing all day. If you're a light sleeper, it might be better to request a room away from the bar. The bed was comfortable, but next time I would ask for non-feather pillows. They were a little too soft but that was a personal preference. If you call a few days ahead of your arrival they'll switch the pillows. And you'll definitely want a rental car to stay at the Sunnyside. There are shuttles to the mountains, etc. but a car gives you the freedom to come and go as you please. Overall, the Sunnyside is a great lodge and we'll definitely stay there again when we visit Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccaffla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Sunnyside Lodge on Feb. 11 & 12, 2009. It was a wonderful stay and the staff was great with our accomdations. The continental breakfast is so good, there is a great choice of everything. Our room was very comfy and quiet.
It had snowed over night and I needed help with putting cables on my vehicle. The desk clerk sent someone out to assist which was wonderful. I have stayed a few times before and enjoy returning to the Sunnyside Lodge every time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riskywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Sunnyside Lodge between Christmas and New Year's Day. Our room was upstairs and facing the lake. The view from our room was spectacular and the people at the front desk were very nice. However, I would suggest that the lodge disclose the fact that while the lake front rooms boast the best views, they are also located directly above the bar and restaurant. We could hear the music and laughter from the bar until they closed (often as late as midnight). Also, the walls are quite thin and we were able to hear the neighbor's every word (most disturbing when it is 2:30 in the morning!)

Parking is also a problem. Because the bar and restaurant are so popular (very good food, by the way), they do drum up a bit of business, causing the front and side parking lots to fill up early. While the lodge offers a third parking lot, it is unfortunately located across the street. We had to park across this often busy street most nights and sprint across the icy road to the lodge. Not fun.

Bottom line: if you are a light and/or early sleeper, I would not suggest this lodge. However, if you are a hard sleeper and/or night owl, then the view and location are wonderful.

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank BrandyOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
5.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
16.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
913 reviews
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: $159 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing