We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sunnyside during the 'off season'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunnyside during the 'off season'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took advantage of an off season special...$270.00 for 2 nights, $60 hotel credit and champagne in the room at arrival. We had a lake view room. This was a great deal. The room had a great view (#32) and was fine. It was a little bit dusty, like it hadn't been used in awhile but not anything to make me feel it was unclean. The bed was comfortable, the staff was great, the complimentary breakfast was great, the afternoon tea and cookies was fun.
All in all a good value and a fun get away.

Room Tip: #32 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelemoore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    74
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
61
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved the location, and the view of the lake. For the rates that they charge they need to give the rooms a makeover. The wallpaper is from the 80's, mismatched furniture, needs a fine tune cleaning. Dust on the doors and in the corners of the bathroom mirrors. Some people may find this "quaint" but we did not. The queen room was larger, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The "upgraded" king room had a crazy bathroom set up. The breakfast buffet was nice, but there were not enough tables to sit and eat. If you were lucky enough to have a table in your room, then you were lucky enough to have a place to sit and eat. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved the Sunnyside, having stayed there for 4 days recently while visiting our son in Lake Tahoe. The location was among the best in Tahoe City, and the lakeside dining was terrific. We enjoyed the spacious room, from which we had a view of the lake. The continental breakfasts were really a full breakfast, and we enjoyed the morning newspaper while having early coffee - being on east coast time at first. Plenty of parking, and the staff we talked with were very friendly. Lots of places to have the breakfast besides the admittedly small room with 2-3 tables. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The ones with a side view of the lake are probably better than the full frontal, since those have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbocu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to Sunnyside for our 29th anniversary, and were very disappointed in the room. The bedside lamps were dusty, and not just a little dusty - but very very noticeable. We can live with dust, but the hair in the tub/shower was, ugh - I can't even describe how horrific I find that. My husband has a number 2 buzz cut and I have curly hair. The hair in the tub/shower was blonde and brunette. No mold, no signs of tub ring, just hair. When we got home I showered. We used to live at the lake and always wanted to be able to afford to stay at Lodge, so imagine our dissapointment. We ordered some desert and was told we would have it in 10 minutes, seemed fast for room service, but it never came. We called around 9pm, the restaurant wasn't busy, so 20 minutes would have been fine. But after an hour, we figured we were S.O.L. Thankfully it wasn't added to our bill at checkout.
It was great being back at the Lake for our 29th, and having coffee on the deck off our room in the morning. Thankfully we didn't order it from room service.

Room Tip: Enjoy the food in the restaurants, and the views from almost every window. I suggest never staying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Skip the breakfast, which is included in the room rate, unless you like juggling a cup of tea and your food on your lap! There are only 2 tables to really sit and eat at, and one of them is so close to the food line, you are practically bumping elbows with other patrons. There's also 2 sofas with very small low tables, and everything is right on top of one another. The worst part is that the area looks out over the restaurant deck with 50+ tables! Why can't they serve breakfast there??? For a hotel with over 30 rooms, this is ridiculous! The room was very nice but on the small side, and the balcony is tiny. Also, we could hear loud music from the bar from 4 PM on, which ruins the quiet setting. They told us we could get a discount at the Squaw Valley tram ride by showing our Sunnyside guest card, but the staff at Squaw Valley never heard of any discount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This review is about Sunnyside's pier bar because they have the BEST BLOODY MARYs on the planet!! Pull your boat right up to the pier and they will valet it to a bouy and "park" it while you enjoy the bar drinks and atmosphere. The bartenders are very fast and friendly and serve up some great adult beverages....ask for extra spicy on your Bloody Mary for a jump start to your morning boating adventure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimster9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Slow service. Food was good but french fries were cold. First drink in a nice glass. 2nd one in a glass coffee mug. I think they ran out of glasses. I think the mug holds less than the regular drink glass...at least it appears that way. Also..we were told 30 minutes for an outside table. We decided to go inside and as soon as we ordered our drinks, we were told our outdoor table was ready. It took a long time for the drinks ro arrive at our outside table. The restaurant looks very nice and has great views. I will go back knowing I need to bring my patience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
5.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
16.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Property: Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing