We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly and lovely!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
332 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Friendly and lovely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We decided to stay at Sunnyside Lodge b/c it was right on the lake. It was a lovely old lodge but the rooms were clean and modern but still had that lodge feel. Every room had a name, the staff was friendly and engaged everyone in conversation. We watched the sunset from the dock outside and then went into the bar area to eat and drink. It soon filled up with locals and tourists alike and with the fireplaces and the view of the lake from the full size windows, it was the perfect ski lodge feel!! Our room though (#28) was quiet and we could watch the sunrise right from our balcony. This is the 3rd TS Restaurants property we have frequented, the other 2 in Waikiki, and each gets better than the next!! We were able to buy ski tickets at a slight discount.

Room Tip: we chose one of the partial lake view rooms, #28, and it had just as good of a lake view as the full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    75
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
59
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We could not come away without saying what a wonderful stay we experienced at Sunnyside Lodge.
The reception team were very welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
The standard of accommodation was superb with, a well-stocked wine rack in the room, a great selection of in room entertainment and beautifully scented bathroom products by Aveda.
A tasty breakfast was served in the breakfast nook, which has views over the lake and forest, with its own private beach and marina this would be a perfect location in the summer to enjoy the lake, and in the winter walks around the small bay area are peaceful and tranquil.
The restaurant bar and lounge area are attractively decorated with eye catching photography and the occasional ornate moose head. We ate from both the room service menu and in the restaurant, the service and food on both occasions were efficient and delicious.
We will both visit again for sure and recommend Sunnyside as a great location for outdoor fun and adventures both summer and winter.

Room Tip: Lake view room - which most have
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We are from Sacramento, and needed to get away for an overnight. The people at the hotel were extremely helpful and our room was amazingly quiet (I noticed there were rooms with small children around us and didn't hear a thing). They set out snacks and tea in a little area upstairs all afternoon.

We also had dinner in their dining room which was fantastic. We got the last seat at the window, looking out at the moon over the lake during dinner. Very romantic. And our waiter was great.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a very nice suite in Sunnyside with a wonderful view over the lake. Check-in was friendly, staff were great. The atmosphere was very relaxed.

We ate in the hotel that evening. Again, the staff and attentive service was first rate and the food was very good.

Lake Tahoe is one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb241152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Sunnyside Lodge is a great place to stay in Tahoe City. It is right on the lake, has a full bar and restaurant and is quite clean and comfortable. You'll appreciate that the Honor Bar in the room has a choice of reasonably priced bottles of wine!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiningDetectives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Sunnyside is an essential part of the magic of Tahoe's West Shore. I've visited the property quite often through my whole life, and have fond memories from years of experiences there, but had never stayed overnight before. What a pleasure to wake up in the morning to that amazing view! Better yet, what joy to sit and watch the sun go down, and the colors deepen on the mountains, and not have to drive home!

Any property on the lake shore should be focused on the exquisite beauty of the water and mountains, and Sunnyside does an excellent job, bringing the beauty inside. Every room in the building is designed to optimize the experience of being on the water. It would be easy to spend entire days and nights experiencing Tahoe in all its glory, every hour, without ever leaving the property.

Sunnyside is comfortable. I slept deeply on a delicious mattress, enjoying the lush linens, and total silence. In the morning, the breakfast nook offered not only a wonderful assortment of yummy treats and great coffee, but yet another cozy spot to sit and get lost in the view. Free wi-fi is available through the whole building, and it is a real treat to sit by the fire on a chilly night with some hot delicious food, a glass of elegant wine, writing emails and ruminating on life. My room itself was a good size, tastefully decorated, pleasant to spend time in, and offered in-room bottles of some of California's best wines at extraordinarily good prices. Hard to resist! The ensuite facilities are clean, well-maintained, and pleasant. Knowing how busy Sunnyside is, I wondered just how loud it is in the rooms, and I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was.

The staff is available to help with anything at any time, and were pleasant to deal with, making every effort to accommodate all my requests. Their friendliness and helpfulness contributed a personal, welcoming element to my stay.

In the summer, Sunnyside is THE place to be on the north and west shores. A bustling marina, a waterski school and boat parking, kayak and jetski rentals, and a public beach are literally right there. Sunnyside's deck is enormous (the largest on the lake?) and virtually no one comes to Tahoe City in the summer without stopping at Sunnyside. Nothing beats sitting outside at sunset, watching a full moon rise over the mountains in the alpenglow, enjoying a delicious adult beverage and zucchini sticks while eyeing the talent. Unless it's sitting outside at sunset, watching a full moon rise over the mountains in the alpenglow, savoring a filet mignon and lingering over a deep glass of Cabernet.

In the winter, Sunnyside's charms are even more homey: gleaming wood and polished brass, big roaring fires and fat, comfortable chairs, glowing warm lighting, and outside the windows, crystalline-cold night air and the glittering stars. The atmosphere is cheerful, homey and relaxing, in an honest way. Evidenced by a bar full of locals and regulars, Sunnyside is so welcoming that many consider it a second home. On a weekend night, or the Wednesday fish taco events in winter, the cheerfulness becomes heightened, and once again, it is the place to be for a good time after dark.

To me, Sunnyside feels like home. It seemed so natural to stay overnight; I should have been doing this all along!

Room Tip: The view from the lakefront rooms deserves 10 stars. It doesn't get any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

First thanks to all Sunnyside staff for making our pre- Xmas stay so delightful. Special thanks to Matthew, Diana, Lindsay and to Allie. S who made us feel like family. What a wonderful warm group! Great restaurant, superb bar and wonderfully comfortable sleeping rooms. Our view overlooking the Lake was beyond marvelous, cozy comfortable beds and all of the comforts of home and more. Breakfast in the 'nook" with spectacular lake views was always delightful. We can hardly wait to return to this delightful spot. Thanks all at Sunnyside from Ginger, Mike and GUS

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konkerpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
5.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
16.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
2.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Property: Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing