We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“150 year old Inn with delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sutter Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutter Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sutter Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“150 year old Inn with delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

The Inn is located on the main street in Historic downtown Sutter Creek. You cross the street or walk one block to restaurants and shopping. Sutter Creek Inn is an old inn that needs some improvements especially to the bathrooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. Beautiful grounds!! There are 17 units in eight buildings on this large property. We stayed in Lindsey's room because it had two beds. It came with a fireplace, two comfortable chairs to read in and no TV. Thus the quiet!! We had own patio and access to the beautiful grounds. The breakfast was outstanding Everyone eats at 9:00 in the dining room/kitchen in the main house.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We decided to stay the night in Sutter Creek after meandering through the little shops in the old town and wanting a little pit stop.

We decided to go for one of the cheaper rooms called the east room, which was clean, had a nice bed and the en-suit was simple (a little 60's looking but functional) But this was only $90 so you really cannot complain. (watch out for the thigh high bedposts which left me and my husband with some bruises!)

The staff were pleasant and very welcoming letting us look around before we booked the room. They had lemonade and cookies in the kitchen, which you could help yourself to, a spectacular garden with hammocks and little places to sit and relax.

In the evening we sat in the living room and picked out some books to read and played scrabble...which was lovely (remember, no TV's here...in the cheaper rooms anyway) The breakfast was lovely, with pancakes, coffee, scrambled egg, sausage and fruit. This was a lovely little pit stop and I would recommend the steakhouse on the main street too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterThumbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Sutter Creek Inn is a lovely b&b, which offers rooms in the main house and cute bungalows. We stayed in one of the rooms, which was nicely appointed and comfortable. The house itself is very nice, I particularly liked the library/living room. The grounds include several patios and some hidden hammocks.

Breakfast is heavy on eggs, but good, and the accommodations are a great value. The owner/manager is extremely accommodating.

  • Liked — Lovely house, acommodating manager
  • Disliked — Breakfast didn't have enough carbs.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, california
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

We stayed at this property because we were going to be attending the California Ghost Hunters Conference and we heard it was haunted. Perfect for us!! We stayed here along with quite a few other people attending the conference. Since they were friends we talked with each other regularly. We had to call to make our reservations. Their online reservation form didn't work nor does their email (or no one answers it). We called once and asked about the rooms. We decided to think about which room we wanted. We called two days later and got someone else who couldn't find our reservation. We made it again. A week later, out of curiousity, we called for information regarding nearby attractions and they had our reservations but they were wrong. This was the beginning of small problems.

We stayed for the haunts but also the breakfast. Hubby hates continental breakfasts. The breakfasts were wonderful but getting extra coffee or juice was difficult. It was served family style and we didn't want to "pig out" in front of others and didn't feel full. We also noticed that we were watched by the owner, the owner's daughter and the staff while there. They were always just hanging around watching everyone. It was making us a bit uncomfortable. We weren't really able to sleep in because the maids wanted to clean the rooms right away, first thing in the morning. There was one time our room wasn't done when we returned at 6 pm. It was a bit frustrating.

While the property was really nice and well maintained, the parking really sucked. There were very few parking spots, it took us awhile to figure out where the parking was (it was behind the building on the adjacent street but there were no signs to let us know that) and how to get in and out. It was very difficult to maneuver.

Overall, the stay was okay or maybe a bit better than okay but there were problems.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — The difficulty registering
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SutterCreekGloria, Owner at Sutter Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
This review is so full of puzzling inaccuracies. We have never done online reservations, we did not loose their reservations, we always serve plenty of food and if she experienced any stares, it was most likely to see if she needed more coffee. We do not serve a continental breakfast, we serve a full, substantial table d'hote and it does not include pitchers of juice, but a serving of juice for each guest. The parking lot has plenty of signage. We bent over backwards for these "ghost hunters", perhaps she was disappointed to find no ghost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

My wife and I took a few days off to visit Gold Country in California. We chose the Sutter Creek Inn due to a positive review in a book entitled "Best Places to Stay in California". The book is about ten years old but the review of this spot was accurate. This charming inn is located on Main St. in the small town of Sutter Creek. It is within walking distance of the few dining establishments that the town possesses. The Inn is moderately priced. The family style breakfasts were very good. However, breakfast is served at 9 a.m. for everyone which is not as flexible as other B & B's might be. We stayed in Stephens Room. For the most part it was fine. However, there were cobwebs and the tv was smallish and hard to operate. But at least it had a TV for late night viewing. The staff cleans while everyone is eating breakfast so it does not get a thorough makeup. The gardens around the inn are beautiful and well maintained. Overall, it was a good place to stay. It is a good starting point to visit the many sites of Gold Country as it is in the middle of the 49er trail.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkylover43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sutter Creek Inn 3 years ago in the Tool Shed Room and had a wonderful time. The Inn was charming, the staff were warm and polite and the place was very clean with no problems. Which made us want to return..however, after our last visit this May, I think we might try another B & B in town. This previous trip we stayed in the cellar room, not as nice as the tool shed but had it's own charm. Upon arrival, one of the staff noticed us carrying in our luggage and asked if we had let the front desk know that we had a cooler. We said we had not and asked if it were a problem and she replied that she didn't want it leaking on the carpet and asked us to leave it outside our hotel room. We explained that this cooler is rather unique in that it does not require ice (infact putting ice in it would break it), and has a wall plug in that runs the fan on it to keep it cool. She nodded and asked it we would keep it in the tub. We unfortunately saw the same gal later that evening and I asked if she would take a picure of us. While my husband moved a patio chair for me to sit in, this gal rudely barked at me "do you realize that is my furniture you are throwing around?" And to top off the whole weekend, when we were packing to leave at the end of our stay, I had discovered a shirt of my husbands that had fallen out of our suitcase on to the floor, was completely soaked. Under it on the carpet and going under neath the wall was also saturated as well. That was not the worst part. The worst part was the smell of raw sewage coming from the shirt, hence explaining what we thought we kept smelling the whole time we were in that room. (We think their septic tank backed up and overflowed). When my huband went to alert them of the problem, they nonchalantly replied that they would take care of it. No apologies for his shirt being ruined or the drive home with the smell of sewage coming from the suitcase. Not sure if the place is under new management or what, but the lack of concern for their guests comfort, some of the staff being down right rude, as well as cleanliness issues, will never bring us or any of our friends or family back to the Sutter Creek Inn.

  • Liked — The grounds are beautiful and nostalgic
  • Disliked — The septic tank overflowing into our room, ruining our clothes, and the staff not caring and being rude
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FTBLWDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SutterCreekGloria, Owner at Sutter Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
This was indeed a terrible day. We suffered the 3rd sewage overflow in two months from the City of Sutter Creek, which subsequently paid for the damage. The woman was unhappy and I was so upset that I didn't realize her husbands shirt was messed. I returned her $ in full and sent a personal apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

The Sutter Creek Inn is a real gem ~ friendly staff, gorgeous grounds, and even though you wouldn't know it by the name of (The Tool Shed), our room was light, airy spacious and cozy. Breakfast is fun and festive, served at two communal farm tables in the homey dining room with other guests at the very civilized hour of 9:00am. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyagemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
0.2 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutter Creek Inn

Property: Sutter Creek Inn
Address: 75 Main St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-4175
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Gold Country, and it's haunted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing