We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey feel, Beautiful grounds, great location, Like staying at Grandma's house”
Review of Sutter Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutter Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sutter Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spent a nice night at the Sutter Creek Inn last week, very satisfied.
Booked through their website, found it very informative and easy to use. All the rooms have colorful names and different characters to them, pics and descriptions on the website were accurate. Had picked the Miners Cabin initially. When we arrived, it was 106deg out, the proprietor had actually turned on the A/C in a couple rooms as she thought we might prefer the "Cellar" room, A/C less noisy and roomier accomodations. We accepted and were grateful for the consideration.
Rooms are definitely vintage, probably 70's style, but very clean and comfortable. Many have their own private patios. Ours had a 100 books to chose from, no TV which was a blessing, and VERY quiet. We were given a tour of the main house and offered lemonade and cookies right off the bat. No trouble checking in. Even asked us how we prefer our coffee for the next morning.
Grounds are impeccably maintained, lush grass, trees, flowers, lots of private little nooks and crannies to relax in, although only one other couple was booked that day. Enjoyed the hammocks under the trees for an afternoon nap. In the morning, watched hummingbirds feeding and birds doing their morning thing.
Location is perfect. Right in the middle of the main street. Shopping and restaurants were steps away. Cute little town with lots of charm and history. Site of the original 1849 gold strike. Wine tasting and antique stores everywhere.
The breakfast part of B&B was outstanding. The bell rings at 9am sharp and guests sit together at large tables, gives you a chance to be social.
If any complaints, décor was a little dated, rooms have that musty "grandmas house" smell, mattress was a little firm for my taste.
All in all an excellent experience!

Room Tip: Tool shed is biggest, books first. Liked "the cellar" room, Miners Cabin was a little tigh...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Sutter Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in the Toolshed. It was tops. The staff was always courteous and responsive. We arrived after a brief rainstorm, and staff had been busy, having made sure to keep patio furniture dry.

Breakfast was enjoyable. All guests were invited to the 9 a.m. seating by the ringing of a bell.

The town was super quiet, but the scenery was worth the while.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were in Sutter Creek for 3 days from the East Coast. The friendliness, the food, and the wonderfully helpful staff made our stay well worth the trip. If you want to take in quiet hospitality in a town rich in history, this place is perfect. Kudos to the great folks @ The Sutter Creek Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foresider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is such a charming place in a lovely little town. It exceeded our expectations and we would return happily. We stayed in the Miner's Cabin, which included a fireplace and an en suite bathroom. It was a little cold in the room, as the old wall heater was not capable of producing adequate heat, but it was spacious, full of books, and very quaint. All of the other guests looked so happy and there was a genuine warmth at breakfast, and not just from the food!

The property is located right in the city center and everything is within walking distance.

Sutter Creek Inn is a perfect little place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Peaceful, extremely relaxing, romantic, and the grounds are beautiful and give each of the cottages there own bit of privacy. I believe this is the oldest operating B & B in California. We stay here at least once a year and we live less than 25 miles away. No chrome and glitter here, just good ole country comfort. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and good cooks too. Breakfast is always unbelievable. One of our 2 best weekend getaways. Plenty of wine tasting nearby, one of our favorite things, and a wonderful restaurant just down the street at Susan's Place. Oh yea, accross the street from Susan's Place is probably the best Pizza I've ever had at the Pizza Place. If you want to relax and unwind with a good bottle of wine, this is the spot for you.

Room Tip: all of the cottages are nice, very unique. try the hanging beds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It just lacks a few of those fabulous B&B qualities (though if you've seen the Portlandia B&B skit this would be a phenomenal B&B). The grounds are beautifully manicured, but one the inside the rooms are a little stale. Our bathroom was gorgeous, beautifully refreshed, but the rest of the room is very retro. If you are looking for nostalgia, say, grandma's house circa 1960 this will suit your fancy. Another oddity (that I thought would suit my fancy) is the bed which hangs suspended from the ceiling by chains. No, not weird S&M chains, just nice, normal, small-town chains. I thought it was a neat quirk until I hopped aboard and nearly lost my lunch, and that was before imbibing the local wines. Thankfully, you can drop the bed down onto solid ground if you so choose. Breakfast was nothing fancy or even very impressive. You sit family style with other guests and pass around a fairly basic, nondescript plate of eggs, sausage and hot cakes. Though I adore the town of Sutter Creek, I wasn't head-over-heels for this inn. It wasn't a bad place to stay, just not my style.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Charm, romantic, and quiet- this place is a great get-away for those looking for a place to stay while enjoying one of California's best wine regions. The breakfasts are hearty, and a superb way to start the day for some fun touring. We love the rooms and gardens! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
587 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
0.0 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutter Creek Inn

Address: 75 Main St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-4175
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Gold Country, and it's haunted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing