We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great Wines/Friendly Staff

Three of us went to Baiocchi Tasting Room in Plymouth and we enjoyed it so much we decided to have... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
luv2wine52
,
Placerville, California
via mobile
Wonderful wines with a warm reception

Baiocchi wines only get better. It is difficult to select my favorite because they are all... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2018
JudyStacia
,
Campbell, CA
Read all 10 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sutter Creek
from $20.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $78.00
More Info
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
10
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley tasting room grenache picnic wines bottle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Let me start by saying WOW, there is not a wine made by Baiocchi that I have not fallen absolutely in love with! We live in the wine region of the California Central Coast, have traveled all over the state and to different parts of the world enjoying wines, with that said, Baiocchi wines have absolutely blown us away. We look forward to our visits to Sutter Creek now even more just to enjoy these wines. However, to talk only about the wines would be a disservice, Greg and Sharron are two of the nicest people we have ever had the pleasure of encountering. They are friendly, authentic and make you feel like family when you step in the door. The tasting room is beautiful from the open air patio, up the steps to the picturesque little house that is the tasting room. We recently got married in Sutter Creek and hosted part of our celebration at Baiocchi. Greg, Sharron and their team's efforts made our special event easy and unblemished! We LOVE your wines and thank you for being such a big part of our enchanted day!

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Kalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015

Baiocchi wines are well worth traveling a couple of hours to enjoy. The wines have gotten better over time and each new wine is wonderful. I particularly enjoy the Viognier which is THE BEST I have ever tasted. The new Octave is smooth and has great flavor. Sharon is the perfect hostess and Greg is a terrific teacher by letting you taste the different years of the same wine to experience the changes. Together they are very warm and hospitable. And, Baiocchi Tasting Room offers an eating area in their court yard. Excellent spot for a picnic after purchasing a fine bottle of Baiocchi wine. Dogs are welcomed guests.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2015

Check out the new releases. Winemaker Greg Baiocchi has a new viognier that balances floral and fruit aromas and flavors with a delightful minerality and herbaceousness that perfectly offsets the slight sweetness of the fruit. And his new Syrah is fantastic, finished more in the French style, with complex aromas and a smooth and lingering finish on the palate. Easily one of the best--if not the best--syrah I've ever tasted. The tasting room is a very attracive old cottage set back a little from Main St., Sutter Creek. Don't miss this excellent winery and their other varietals and blends. The tasting fee of $5 is waived with the purchase of a bottle of wine, which you will want to do. The serving staff is friendly and knowledgable.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank HometownChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2014

Baiocchi is a small, family winery started up by a largely self educated winemaker (Greg) and his wife (Sharon). Greg's grandfather was in the industry & may have passed on the gene :-) The vineyards/winery are in the nearby El Dorado region and the tasting room they've opened in Sutter Creek (now a wine tasting destination) is quaint & friendly. Sharon is very nice & helpful. Greg is extremely open, technically knowledgeable, and a long time 'wino' like myself. The wines offered were one white---a viognier dominant French blend that's cleaner/crisper than many stone fruit style viogniers---and 4 reds that were Grenache/Syrah based. Three grenache dominant wines had the characteristics I'd only heard that Grenache is supposed to have before doing this tasting (a bit on the lite side with cherry, strawberry, a little cranberry). And this was despite (undetectable) high alcohol levels. One Syrah dominant offering was somewhat bigger/richer, but also very well balanced. By all means, give Baiocchi a try along with a few other tasting rooms in this small, old western town. It's worth the trip!

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Brian_901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2014

Never been to Sutter Creek, California? Better get it on your list to visit. A great place and a growing center of very good to great winery tasting rooms. The first on your list should be Baiocchi Vineyards. They are a wonderfully cordial couple who just happen to make superior wines from their vineyards in southern El Dorado county. Fairplay to be more precise. Their wines are tasty, mouth filling juice that make you want another sip. Their reds are already well established as excellent, but don't miss the whites they are coming on strong.

Date of experience: June 2014
2  Thank WineCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews