We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible service and wine country knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Country Wine Tours - CLOSED

Gold Country Wine Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for a fun and unforgettable wine tasting journey in our spacious shuttle bus through the heart of historic Gold Country! We will pick you up at your lodging and transport you to 4-6 incredible wineries within the scenic Sierra Foothills of Amador County including Shenandoah Valley. Enjoy delicious gourmet picnic lunch at a winery and receive a souvenir wine glass to remember your special day in this unsurpassed wine country.
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible service and wine country knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Gold Country Wine Tours has great service and extensive knowledge about the local wineries in Amador County. They are friendly, organized and yet flexible. We had door to door service from our Bed and Breakfast Inn. Their friendly attitude contributed to a great time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCountryWineTours, Owner at Gold Country Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Mary: We are so glad that you enjoyed your wine tour with us visiting some of our special Amador County wineries and their delicious wines. Your group was incredibly fun and well versed when it comes to wines and wine tasting. This made it all the more fun for us to share this wine country with you. Cheers, Kirk & Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine tasting at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I recently joined 5 other couples for 2 days of wine tasting in Amador County, using Gold Country Wine Tours as our guides. Kirk and Cathy were great. Their senses of humor, attention to the details and knowledge of the local wine industry provided us with an unforgettable tasting experience. This was our group's 5th wine tour, all using a guide service, and Gold Country Wine Tours is among the very best. If you are looking for a fun and educational, but safe, winery touring experience, we highly recommend Kirk & Cathy.

Gary & Jennifer

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Outstanding - great hospitality with a personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Cathy and Kirk were our guides for two days. By the end of day two our party of six couples felt like they were part of our group. Cathy shared interesting details about the many historical sites as we traveled the Amador wine country, and it was obvious both Cathy and Kirk had a great relationships with the owners and winemakers we visited. Kirk was able to accomodate some specific requests for tours, and he added a wonderful list of new experiences to the mix. Our group has had extensive experience with wine tours, and Cathy and Kirk rank at the top of our list. We know you will enjoy your experience with them!

Jerry and Sandy

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The BEST way to experience Amador County wine country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I booked a mid-week wine tour with Gold Country Wine Tours. They were prompt in their arrival at our B&B and had wine glasses and a bottle of fine red wine waiting for us, along with copious amounts of water. Cathy was our guide and it turned out that we were the only couple on the tour that day, so it quickly became a private tour. Cathy was just full of information about the mining history of the area, the history of the vineyards and their owners. The tasting room managers all knew her and she knew them. It was a fantastic trip - great lunch, very relaxed. Becasue it was just the two of us, we were efficient in our visits to the tasting rooms and ended up going to seven wineries instead of the customary 4 or 5. Cathy also gave info about the Gold Pass, which is a great service. They will go to the wineries you have visited and purchased wine, will gather up all the bottles and then ship it to your home destination. Don't have to worry about it jostling in the back of the bus or sitting in the hotel room. Great service. THANKS, CATHY!!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank neo-oenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
“Exceptional Knowledge, Hosting, Care & Details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have been a wine enthusiast since I lived on the Rhine in 1972, know California wine country very well, and have visited El Dorado & Amador counties many times. The wines & vineyards are quickly becoming some of the best in the world, IMHO, especially as tastings are free, people are friendly, and prices are v.good value. Cathy & Kirk are 2 recovering lawyers, who did their homework - on wine makers, on vineyards, on area history. They showed us places, people & "stuff" (including a gourmet picnic lunch) that we wouldn't have found any other way. And they didn't start with "their" list of wineries, but worked with us based on "our list", then added 1-2 that we deem very special! Pickup at our Inn, flexible schedule, details like wine storage in the tour van, logo'ed wine glasses as souvenirs. This is extraordinary!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Country Wine Tours also viewed

Sutter Creek, Amador County
Sutter Creek, Amador County
 
Sutter Creek, Amador County
Sutter Creek, Amador County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing