We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!”
Review of Grey Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grey Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We had the pleasure to visit Grey Gables this past weekend and just the fact that I'm taking the time to write a very positive review should be testimony enough. Roger and Sue were fantastic hosts, we loved our room, the parlor and especially our breakfasts (2). Again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
177
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My husband surprised me by suggesting we find a B&B for a Valentine's weekend getaway. I went online and discovered the Grey Gables Inn. Would it be everything its website claimed? Oh yes, yes and yes! From making dinner reservations for us (short notice, Valentine's weekend) to providing a brochure with a map of the many Amador County wineries, Roger and Sue took care of our needs. They were gracious without being obtrusive. We really enjoyed meeting other guests at the evening wine and cheese hour, and at breakfast (yummy). Unfortunately, during our two-night stay, we never made it to the afternoon tea and "goodies" hour. Our room (The Byron) was beautifully appointed with a comfortable king-sized poster bed and fireplace, plus nice touches like fresh flowers, champagne and chocolates. The inn is in a quiet location, but a comfortable walk to the the charming shops and restaurants of Sutter Creek. We had a lovely time and would highly recommend the Grey Gables Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMTR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Franisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in the Shelley Room (all rooms named after English Poets). Sue and Roger were gratitious hosts and were full of local information. Breakfast is served at 9; tea at 3; and wine at 6-7. The rooms are unique and immaculate. The breakfasts were among the best we have ever had (coffee/tea, juice, cakes, fritatas, etc.). Located in Sutter Creek on Highway 49 (2.5 hours from San Francisco).
Great Sutter Creek Gold mine tours; free wine tastings in Plymouth's Shenandoah Rd (10+ wineries). Great restaurants (Taste in Plymouth *****, Imperial Hotel in Amador City ****, Susan's in town ***.) Newspapers available.
We were wonderfully cared for with such nice touches as a bottle of sparking wine and chocolates delivered to your door on Valentine's day.
Outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Thank you Roger and Susan for a most memorable Valentine's Day getaway. Every aspect of our stay was superb and your gracious hospitality exceeded our expectations. Champagne and chocolates awaiting us in our room was truly a surprise. Our room was very comfortable and it is apparent that you see to every need of your guests as well as providing great recommendations for dining and fabulous wine tasting. Breakfasts were exquisite and the coffee was delicious. Our getaway was most relaxing and enjoyable thanks to you. We'll be back with our friends and family. See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandLiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Grey Gables bed and breakfast on Saturday Feb 6th 2010. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and our comfort zone is usually the local Marriot :) Roger and Sue gave us a change of heart after our stay at Grey Gables. Their hospitality almost instantly makes you feel at home. The rooms were themed after poets and decorated with great detail. The tea time and breakfast were relaxing and made you feel like a British Aristocrat lol =) If you're looking to getaway check out Grey Gables in Sutter Creek!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clams619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I took my mom here for a Mother's Day Getaway. The Inn is cozy, the rooms comfortable, the breakfast delicious! The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed wandering around the property and walking to the shops nearby.

I loved that the rooms had the English author motifs and no TVs, appropriately! As a result, the rooms are quiet and peaceful. Take a book and enjoy it! I would love to come back with my husband someday. A wonderful B&B and less pricey then some of the other ones in Sutter Creek.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiestace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We had high hopes of this Bed & Breakfast and I must admit, the Grey Gables and its hosts exceeded our expectations.

The accommodations are simply immaculate and charming but without any stuffiness. We felt a sense of truly being welcomed. We have stayed at some B&Bs in which how it was advertised and the pictures used were an exaggeration of the reality, we found the Grey Gables to be exactly as how it was promoted. The cleanliness of the rooms sets the standard for what every B&B should see as its goal.

The hosts were extremely pleasant without being overbearing. We had some questions about winery tours in the winter and found all their advice to be helpful and accurate. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour in the Amador Wineries.

The breakfasts had that special touch of being served with fine china and yet was not pretentious at all and the afternoon teas add something special to the day. In the evenings, having a fireplace in the bedroom was the perfect way to sit back, relax and unwind.

Congratulations to the hosts of the Grey Gables, we highly recommend it and are planning a return trip for a three day weekend this summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
69 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
8.5 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Inn

Property: Grey Gables Inn
Address: 161 Hanford St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend for two, or a quiet place to be by yourself…the English charm of The Grey Gables will fit your mood to a TEA. With eight elegantly decorated guestrooms furnished with authentic antiques, each room has air conditioning, a fireplace, and full private baths, some with classic clawfoot tubs. In true English tradition, there’s afternoon tea with cake, evening wine and hor d’oeuvres, and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Grey Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing