We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Gold Country”
Review of Grey Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grey Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colfax, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Gold Country”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We decided to spend Thanksgiving at Grey Gables after seeing their Holiday special. We arrived and Roger was very warm & friendly and signed us in. Gave us a tour to our rm and told us tea was now being served in the parlor. We relaxed in our rm a bit then wine & cheese was served at 6:00-7:00. We had 7:00pm reservations for Thanksgiving at the St. George Hotel in Volcano about 20mins away. It was a great meal and fun adventure to this old town a treat paid for by our Inn.
Our rm was the most expensive of their rms being we got the last available one. It was lovely and very comfortable from the bed,linens, to deep soaking tub &plush towels.
Little attention to detail through out the whole inn. It was decorated lovely for the holidays.
Coffee and the paper are available at 7:30 Breakfast was served in the dinning rm at 9:00 A pretty presention and the food was good both days. Sue and Roger sit down and visit with you. Talk about the town or make recommendations etc. They have been there quite a while but seem to still enjoy meeting folks and being hospitable and charming. These two make you feel your at their home in England and its worth your trip to see for your self.
I had never been to Sutter Creek but it's so cute when decorated it looks like it's the town in "It's a Wonderful Life" when lite up at night. Lots of shopping, eating and wine tasting
in this area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clipperbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
179
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

What a delightful Inn! Roger and Sue are exceptional hosts! The inn is immaculate, furnished beautifully, and the food was superb! Evening wine and cheese combined w/ hospitality, and scrumptious breakfasts in the morning make a culinary memory on their own! Our room was very comfortable and the English charm is so refreshing. Walking distance to the Sutter Creek shops is a plus, and the parking is ample. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texanml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Planning a 2 night getaway weekend to the foothills and we happened across Grey Gables -- from the reservation to check out, all experiences were wonderful. Our immaculate room was beautifully detailed in English motif, lovely antiques throughout the inn. Wonderful shade gardens. Evening wine & appetizers beautifully laid out -- full breakfasts were fantastic - large portions of wonderful food & beverage! Great location - walk to quaint shops in 5 minutes. The hosts - Sue & Roger - are perfection, making you feel comfortable & at home immediately.......we'll be back!!
Rene - Davis,CA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miekle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We recently visited the Grey Gables Inn in Sutter Creek, owned by a delightful English couple Roger and Sue. This home is gorgeous both inside and out. The interior is both immaculate and beautifully decorated with a lot of attention to detail given to every room of the house. The photos on the B&B’s website cannot possibly do the exquisite décor justice. When we first arrived, we were cordially greeted by Roger who immediately showed us around and invited us to enjoy the wine and cheeses set out in the parlor during the evening reception. In the morning, Sue served an utterly fabulous breakfast. The table linens and china she uses adds a very special “English” feel to the breakfast dining experience. Sue served a delicious homemade bakery treat each morning in addition to either a mixed fruit cup topped with yogurt and granola, or a mixture of fresh fruit served alongside the entrée. One morning we had an egg and cheese soufflé with salsa and artichoke hearts. The soufflé was so light, fluffy and flavorful that we savored every bite. The next morning we were treated to a hearty portion of apple-butter-stuffed French toast with a delicious mixture of fruit on the side, and of course the hot coffee was flowing all throughout breakfast. My husband and I were out wine tasting each day and didn’t make it back in the afternoons for the English Tea. We can only imagine what scrumptious bakery treats Sue would have served for the Tea in the afternoons. I would highly recommend the Grey Gables Inn if visiting the Sutter Creek or any nearby area. The accommodations are fabulous and Roger and Sue make you feel right at home. We would definitely love to stay there again next time we visit Amador County.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaloves2cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

The Grey Gables has become our place to stay whenever we want a weekend away and a visit to the Sierra Foothill wine country. The inn is impeccable and the owners, Roger and Sue are attentive to every detail. The breakfast is truly a gourmet experience and Sue always has a new recipe to try. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The gardens are lovely with several different places to sit and relax. The inn is a nice walk to Sutter Creek and several different restaurants to enjoy after the evening wine and cheese at the inn!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Don't recall how many times we've stayed at Grey Gables-just whenever we're in the area. It is always such a pleasant stay and Roger & Sue have become almost like family.
The rooms are comfortable, immaculate and beautifully furnished. Sue is a wonderful cook and the breakfasts are superb. You can trust their recommendations & directions around the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The2Travelers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Tennyson Room - which was lovely with meticulous attention to detail and spotless. But the best part by far was Sue's fabulous hospitality and wonderful breakfasts. We stayed in 8 hotels over 2 weeks and this was certainly one of the nicest and certainly the best value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sq2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
71 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
0.2 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hanford House Inn
The Hanford House Inn
#3 of 6 in Sutter Creek
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Inn

Property: Grey Gables Inn
Address: 161 Hanford St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend for two, or a quiet place to be by yourself…the English charm of The Grey Gables will fit your mood to a TEA. With eight elegantly decorated guestrooms furnished with authentic antiques, each room has air conditioning, a fireplace, and full private baths, some with classic clawfoot tubs. In true English tradition, there’s afternoon tea with cake, evening wine and hor d’oeuvres, and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Grey Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing