We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, Great Value”
Review of Grey Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grey Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, Great Value”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Tennyson Room - which was lovely with meticulous attention to detail and spotless. But the best part by far was Sue's fabulous hospitality and wonderful breakfasts. We stayed in 8 hotels over 2 weeks and this was certainly one of the nicest and certainly the best value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sq2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
177
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
socaltwo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Great place in a cute little town.
Property is mostly all new, especially the rooms.
Very well kept and very clean. Top quality furnishings.
A nice touch would be cozy bathrobes.
Grounds were but quite nice, good parking.
Owners were on vacation and couple on premesis were good .
Her breakfasts were superb, three courses and plenty to eat.
Have no knowledge how they compare to owners.
Wine and cheese hour was modest, a bit too modest actually.
We slept with windows open and road noise was obvious.
Perhaps a bit stiff in atmosphere and not real cozy, but top quality ffom the furnishing to the food.
Perhaps best for couples in their 50's and up who expect top quality and prefer no to deal wih older properties which may not be as clean or well kept.
Not for the disabled as the parlour and dining room are up stairs.

  • Liked — New and clean
  • Disliked — Not real cozy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socaltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed in the Wordsworth room for 4 days (3 nights), Aug 7-10, 2008 and had a wonderful time.

Roger and Sue were consummate hosts, our room was quiet, clean and well appointed and the breakfasts were great (a bit rich, but isn't that what you're looking for on vacation?).

The location is perfect, just to the outskirts of Sutter Creek so you can walk everywhere, but it's far enough out of the center of town so it's quiet and not congested (OK Sutter Creek is pretty small, but it does have a downtown!).

Breakfast is served at 9AM but you can arrange for an earlier service if you have other plans (just ask!). Coffee is available from 730 AM on so you can relax with the paper if you are an earlier riser.

There's also an afternoon ice tea service and an evening wine and cheese reception to add to the ambiance.

The only downside is that the rooms are very well decorated and accessorized, so there is minimum of "flat surfaces" to spread out your stuff.

We have been guests at hundreds of hotels, resorts and B&Bs over the years and the Grey Gables is among our favorites.

  • Liked — Great Service, Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Flat Surfaces for our stuff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wb6jao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed one night at the Grey Gables and loved it! After five nights in a tent cabin in Yosemite, the Grey Gables was pure luxury. The beautiful house and gardens, the attentiveness of our hosts and the lovely decor were very much appreciated. Our room, the Bronte, was one of the largest I've ever had in a B&B. And the breakfast! Stuffed French toast and fresh fruit were to die for, beautifully prepared and served. We would definately stay there again!

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shampel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Grey Gables is off the highway (but on the main street) in Sutter Creek. The old mining town has several shops and restaurants. The rooms at the Inn are roomy and comfortable. The Inn has a great sitting room full of Victorian furniture, and the afternoon tea and evening wine-and-cheese are nice additions. Hosts were pleasant but pretty invisible after our check-in. We had to leave very early, so missed breakfast, which (like at too many B&Bs) is at a fixed time instead of being flexible.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zendurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a B&B at the last minute before traveling to the Amador Wine Country. We took a chance on the Grey Gables Inn and we were not disappointed. The Inn Keepers are a British couple who know how to run a B&B the way it should be. I have
stayed at dozens of them and this was, by far, the prettiest, most well maintained, and definitely the best amenities in terms of breakfast and other treats. Our room, the most expensive in the Inn was well worth it. Oversized room, fabulous 4-poster king-size bed, even a gas fireplace which, we turned on for atmosphere, even thought
it was July - very romantic. (Incidentally the top floor can get very
hot, but each room is air conditioned, which made our room perfectly comfortable). The claw foot tub made for a perfect place to clean up before dinner out. Sue, one of the owners of this lovely Victorian, was great about finding us a restaurant (the Inn is fully stocked with all the local restaurant menus). While not gushing in "cutesy" warmth, Sue and her husband, are both professionals, and run Grey Gables with an eye towards beauty, efficiency and service. Ice Tea in the afternoon and wine & cheese in the early evening made the cost
all the more worthwhile. Breakfast is served in a beautiful Victorian
dining room, complete with matching china and other little touches that didn't escape either my husband or me. We also like the fact that the Inn is in Sutter Creek, the most charming of the nearby Amador Wine region towns, is only a short drive to the wineries. We would highly recommend this place. TIP - try to arrive between 3 and 6 as these hard-working people also enjoy their private time.

  • Liked — Decor and attention to details
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mckinleyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We had an exceptional B&B experience at the Grey Gables Inn. The property is beautiful, very tastefully and opulently decorated and landscaped, the rooms are lovely, spacious and immaculate. I had a chance to view the rooms of other guests and they were equally enchanted with theirs. Each room is a little different. We liked ours, the Browning, the best.

The owners, Roger and Sue, pretty much take care of everything themselves. They do not have a large staff. They are gracious and accommodating hosts. We found them to be just the right presence, not intrusive, reserved but not aloof, and always friendly, approachable and helpful when we needed them.

The full breakfasts were generous, more than we could eat, but each was well-prepared and elegantly presented. There was an abundant variety of very high quality seasonal fruits every morning, delicate coffee cakes and tasty frittatas. Afternoon tea featured cakes or cookies and ice cream, and each evening a different assortment of cheeses, crackers and spreads with 3 kinds of wine was served at 6 in the parlor. We were there for 6 nights, so sampled them all. After a few days, the offerings became very familiar, but because the quality was good, we didn’t mind the repetition.

The ambiance was intimate, quiet and romantic, almost like being personal guests in a very, very nice private home.

As for the quality of the mattress (in response to an earlier poster who complained about the Browning room), I cannot say as I am not a mattress fanatic, but I slept well all 6 nights in quiet, air-conditioned comfort. As for the other negative poster, the credibility of the post is questionable, considering the fact that the assertion that Sutter Creek is a mile away is simply not true. The main restaurant and shopping area starts a couple blocks from Grey Gables, maybe less, depending on what you think the “start” is, and most all the shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Of course, if you want McDonalds or other fast food, then it is probably a couple miles away. We walked the length of town several times and had no difficulty, even when the temp reached 100 degrees!

Our stay was most enjoyable and relaxing. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FengSui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
69 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
8.5 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Inn

Property: Grey Gables Inn
Address: 161 Hanford St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend for two, or a quiet place to be by yourself…the English charm of The Grey Gables will fit your mood to a TEA. With eight elegantly decorated guestrooms furnished with authentic antiques, each room has air conditioning, a fireplace, and full private baths, some with classic clawfoot tubs. In true English tradition, there’s afternoon tea with cake, evening wine and hor d’oeuvres, and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grey Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing