We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Trailside Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Reviewed November 18, 2008

FEELS LIKE HOME!
Friendly staff, well appointed rooms including large flat screen tvs, refridge, microwave etc. GOOD breakfast.

well run property, a good bet when traveling northeast CA.

posted by a seasoned California Business Traveler.

Thank sierratraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 465 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

We've stayed at the Trailside many times when traveling cross country and decided it was time to write a review. We have found this to be a consistently good stop. Always clean and well-maintained. It even has a fairly decent expanded continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This Best Western was just usual. The room was adequate and normal. The breakfast in the morning was your usual fare. Small pastries, bread, cereal, hard boiled egg, etcetera. Just a nice stopover for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cps102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We checked in about 7pm and the man behind the counter was bouncing an inflated ball on the counter toward my face. Couldn't have cared less about customer service. He was sullen and answered questions with sarcasm. I'd find another hotel to stay at.

Room was okay; quiet and clean. Staff working in the morning was very nice.

Kids enjoyed the breakfast -- standard lite hotel breakfast and swam in the pool before we left.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveller54w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. If you are making a reservation, make sure you ask for one of the rooms that has been updated, some rooms looked like they hadn't been done over yet. Those rooms looked nice but weren't quite up to ours. Nicely decorated, clean rooms with flat screen tv, microwave and refrigerator, comfortable beds with really nice bedding, sitting area with sofa and two chairs and clean, updated bathrooms. Bath towels and amenities were step above what you normally see. Don't know if I will ever be passing through Susanville again but I would definitely stay here...staff was also very accomodating and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liketotravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 530-257-4123.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Rakesh Mehta
Guest Services Manager
Best Western Trailside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Stayed one night with 2 young kids. Queen suite, not a true suite, but big enough. Flat screen tv, fridge, micro. Nice and clean. Staff helpful. Breakfast typical. Pool was small, but clean and lots of flowers planted near-by. No hot tub.
At night our air was loud...went off and on, kept me waking me, but I was too lazy to get up and turn it off. Our toilet rocked when you sat down/stood up.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kamerenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 7/1/07. The staff was friendly and the grounds are nice, with a nice pool (no whirlpool), a few benches for sitting and a good sized parking lot (the back of the Black Bear restauant was pretty dirty, which we had to walk past to get from our room to the office/breakfast area). Check in was slow, but we paid at check in, so check out was fast.

The room was large, nice and clean, and had a large TV (but cable reception was poor on most channels), a nice sofa, chair & coffee table in sitting area, desk/table, small refrigerator, small microwave, large dresser, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, two sinks, thick & soft towels, whirpool bath/shower combo.

The bed was ok, too hard for me. It had two top sheets with cotton blanket between them, which appeared nice at first, but the sheets were very scratchy, not comfortable on bare skin.

The whirlpool tub in the room was just ok. You have to make an effort to get the jets to hit your low back properly, so consequently it wasn't all that relaxing. The tub is too small for two people.

The continental breakfast was good, with a large assortment of goodies (although the bagels were stale). The outside sitting area was right next to the parking lot, so we chose to take our food back to our room.

Overall, our stay was pretty good, despite the gripes I've listed. I would not recommend it for romance. Next time in Susanville, we'll try another place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iam_Trippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
1.7 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.7 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 8 in Susanville
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Trailside Inn

Address: 2785 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130-4741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is an adventure when you choose the BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, with many wonderful places to explore located nearby. Named one of the top towns in which to live in Outdoor Life Magazine, Susanville is an outdoor lovers dream - and this Susanville hotel is the perfect place to call home while exploring the area. From hiking at Lassen Volcanic National Park to fishing at Honey Lake, Eagle Lake or Lake Almanor, there is something for everyone in this picturesque town. The Bizz Johnson Trail, stretching 30 miles, offers world-class mountain biking, hiking, annual marathons and other events. Bird watchers and nature photographers can observe osprey and more in the grounds surrounding the property. You can also enjoy visiting Lassen County Parks and Susanville Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Susanville
Susanville Best Western
Best Western Trailside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing