We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Trailside Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Sisters, OR, United States
1 review
“Excellent rating”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stay at this hotel twice a year and consistently get great service from the staff as well as a nicely furnished, (good amenities), room. Everything works in the room and it's a great pleasure to open the door to such a well furnished and maintained room after a long day in the auto.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I am glad that we are always able to provide you with a consistent wonderful guest experience. We value each and every guest that comes into our hotel. If there is anything more that we can do for you in the future, we would be happy to accommodate it for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    161
    94
    33
    15
See reviews for
123
149
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice accomadations. This hotel accepts pets and in the pet rooms they have wood floors which is very good so you aren't being exposed to the previous pet's dander and if the other pets have had any accidents. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel. In fact we already have reservations for a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our property. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful trip. And we are ALWAYS glad to have our furry friends stay with us. They are a part of our families and it is always nice to take them with us. We hope that you will be bringing them with you on your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Just an average Best Western. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The water heater was not turned on for our room the next morning, so we had no shower :-( The breakfast coupon at the Lumberjack is a joke. You get a kids size meal with the coupon or a $2 discount for a normal breakfast. Needless to say, we had the mini breakfast and had an early lunch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyldreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your stay. I do apologize for the hot water issues that you had but we have now replaced the entire hot water heater so that will no longer be an issue. I also am sorry about your breakfast experience I understand that when you are traveling a healthy full breakfast is what gets you going in the morning. I will be personally looking into the portion sizes and will be working closely with the Lumberjacks management to ensure that all of my guests are getting the proper breakfast they deserve. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Bed was good. Breakfast next door with the voucher is ok. Staff was nice, the girl checking us in made me feel a bit guilty for using BW points for the room. She told us the money they get back from BW only covers the housekeeping for the room. Well the housekeeping needs to vacuum the rooms better then! We had a small issue with the room, but it was resolved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quadchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that the Desk Clerk made you feel guilty for using your points. We understand how hard that you work to earn those points. We value your business and appreciate you staying with us so I would like to offer you 1,000 bonus rewards points for your next stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staff was nice, bed very comfy, our hot water had not been turned on so we had none, they fixed it right away (flipped a switch), but we didn't have time to wait for it to get warm. They were nice and refunded some of our BW points. So we were satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our property. I do apologize for the lack of hot water that you guys encountered. We have now replaced the entire hot water heater so they will be no more hot water issues for you next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here right before heading to Lassen. The room was small, but clean. Our family barely fit.

The pool was small, but then again the kids enjoyed it. Room entry is from the outside and it isn't very quiet.

The staff was nice but not very knowledgeable, particularly about places to eat in Susanville or anything in the general area.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but only because I know what to expect and I don't anticipate much else better in the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyandpeteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I hope that you decide to stay with us again so we can provide you with the world class guest experience that I know we are capable of providing you! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Awful, rude staff, housekeeping kept knocking on my door at 8:30 am, then 9:30 then 10:00. Check out time is supposed to be 11:00am? The door doesn't close right I had to slam it. Room smelled of animals. I specifically asked for a room with no smoking and pets. Prices are the same as High Country Inn go there instead, very nice, doors worked, no animal smell, better breakfast.

Room Tip: Do Not Go There
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western T, Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. Check out time is at 11:00 am and there is no reason that Housekeeping should be knocking on your door before than once let alone three times. This situation has been dealt with will no longer be an issue. I would like to make it up to you for your next stay with us. If you can contact me directly at (530)257-4123 I would like another chance to earn your business. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. You are helping us to deliver a better guest experience for all of our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
1.8 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Trailside Inn

Property: Best Western Trailside Inn
Address: 2785 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is an adventure when you choose the BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, with many wonderful places to explore located nearby. Named one of the top towns in which to live in Outdoor Life Magazine, Susanville is an outdoor lovers dream - and this Susanville hotel is the perfect place to call home while exploring the area. From hiking at Lassen Volcanic National Park to fishing at Honey Lake, Eagle Lake or Lake Almanor, there is something for everyone in this picturesque town. The Bizz Johnson Trail, stretching 30 miles, offers world-class mountain biking, hiking, annual marathons and other events. Bird watchers and nature photographers can observe osprey and more in the grounds surrounding the property. You can also enjoy visiting Lassen County Parks and Susanville Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Susanville
Susanville Best Western
Best Western Trailside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing