We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Town?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in Town?”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just completed a 3-night stay. Second time for us at this property. Has good location, relatively new and modern compared to other choices in town, and rooms are clean and spacious. Staff has always been friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was above average.

Room Tip: This property is at the east in of town and sits back from the highway a bit. Rooms on the north (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    80
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
81
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Junction City, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was very very nice with clean rooms and a great exercise room. The king size bed was the best we had on this trip. Very knowledgeable staff and reasonable rates. The breakfast, coffee and dining area was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if possible. Inside building hallway room entries is much easier on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich Edna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way north, as we have done before, and it was quite satisfactory. The staff was helpful and the beds soft and the breakfast varied. It is a little ways out of town, so unless you want pizza you should plan to drive for dinner. But the location beside a creek is quite pleasant; we saw a doe and two fawns foraging outside our window. In hot weather, the A/C unit has a common feature with many places that the newest ones avoid: it comes on with a rush and goes off the same way, which can disturb a light sleeper. If it is not too hot, setting the A/C to "Fan" can be a good compromise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you're in Susanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the High Country Inn for four nights, while in Susanville to play in a golf tournament and to visit friends and family. As usual, the spacious and well appointed room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding, with many choices. By far the best motel in town and for that matter, second to none anywhere else. Check in was fast and efficient and staff very nice. Strongly recommend staying here while in Susanville.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After traveling on a motorcycle and camping out for over 30 days, we had a long day and decided to stop at a hotel/motel. We called this property and luckily they had rooms. The front desk person, was just great and the rooms were a pleasant surprise. Large, clean and comfortable! Breakfast was included. It was a great choice for a one night stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're delighted that you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again next time you're in Susanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

High Country meets all high performance standards: a gracious receptionist; a clean, clean room, wi fi, good TV offerings, a spit-spot jacuzzi/pool, blissfully quiet. On our next trip through Susanville we will be sure to enjoy a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate your business and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice. It is easy to get to off of the main road. Over all it was a nice place. I did however find that the rooms were a little warm for my taste. And there were Oreos in the floor by the nightstand. The coffee pot wasn't cleaned. Made me second guess the cleanliness of the entire place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funsize08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I'm so sorry you didn't find your room immaculately clean as we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. I'll definitely make sure this gets addressed with our housekeeping staff so it never happens again. Thanks for sharing your experience so we can make things better for future guests. Hope you'll choose to stay with us again next time you're in Susanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#3 of 8 in Susanville
426 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing