We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Morning, this is another trip to Susanville, CA and we had recently stayed at the Best Western Trailside Inn earlier this month. The Best Western Trailside Inn in Susanville, CA is for lack of a better term is a very poor "Hotel" and I will never stay there ever again with my family.

My wife booked us a Hotel Room at the High Country Inn in Susanville, CA. We were a little skeptical because of our last horrible experience with the Best Western Trail Side Inn. As soon as we arrived at the High Country Inn the Hotel staff already had our room ready to go and we were in and out of the lobby in about 5 minutes or less (very fast). My wife had booked us a King Suite with a Queen. Wow! This time, we actually got a Suite and not only was it a king size bed but it also had 2 queen beds in a separate area within the same room.

This room was awesome to say the least! The furniture was very nice and the room was very clean. (The Best Western Trailside Inn needs to stop by the High Country Inn to see what a real suite should look like and to also see what a nice room should look like). (Example, Room 245 for starters). The only downside about this Hotel was the price. Without tax the room for one night was $156 which is pretty darn expensive for a 3 star hotel. The continental breakfast does need a little updating as it does not have much breakfast food choices to choose from. One of the waffle maker timers is broken and it didnt work so I had to use my watch which wasnt that big of a deal.

My overall experience this time to Susanville, CA was much - much better and I highly recommend the High Country Inn Hotel to anyone that is heading to Susanville, CA. Avoid the Best Western Trailside Inn as that place advertises and depicts nice rooms on their web site but when you open the door to your room your mouth drops open and hits the floor in disbelief of disgust.

I highly recommend the High Country Inn to anyone who plans on staying in Susanville, CA. Expect to pay a lot more for the room as the prices are pretty high. With our Triple A discount the room we got was still $156 before taxes. I still believe that is really high for a 3 star hotel.

Oh yeah, the pool and jacuzzi were also very nice and well maintained. My family enjoyed the pool and the Jacuzzi a lot.

The High County Inn in Susanville is highly recommended to anyone planning on staying in Susanville, CA and we will definitely be back when we travel back to Susanville, CA.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 245 and it was very nice and quiet. The High Country Inn is next to the main highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're delighted you found your stay at our facility enjoyable. The room you reserved was indeed out most expensive room as it has two separate bedrooms and 3 beds plus a jacuzzi tub. Our normal rates run between $84 - $156 plus tax. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    82
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
84
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Nice spacious, clean, comfortable room with pleasant decor. All the amenities we like to have while on a road trip. Comfortable bed, quiet, but with easy access right off the highway, and breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great place to spend the night. Bed comfortable and clean. Bathroom had one little missed spot behind the toilet lid that grossed me out a bit (I did not complain to the front desk so they might have handled it, I just cleaned it myself and forgot about it.) I arrived at a time when the area was surrounded by wildfires and the smoke was blocking out the sun. The room A/C did a good job of filtering out the smoke, but you could definitely smell it in the hallways. My car was covered in a layer of ash in the morning! So I was pleased that the air quality of the room was good. Breakfast was just okay; terrible orange juice, though, and the coffee was nothing special. But good waffles, hardboiled eggs were available, and fruit. Overall given the remote location I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. I was planning to head to Lava Beds National Monument the next day. I asked the clerk for info about it and she clearly did not know anything about the place! So...not very knowledgeable about the area attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisure_Traveler045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you had a comfortable stay and we appreciate knowing any details in which we can improve. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Arrived in town after long drive from Yosemite. Had read good reports from fellow travellers on tripadvisor so decided to book in here. Front counter had a young trainee learning the ropes from a bored looking receptioniste. Trainee was on the phone and the young lady would not look acknowledge or even look at us for 5 minutes until he had finished his call. Should have walked out then, but didn't!
All she had to do was say "do you mind waiting a minute" or words to that effect and everything would have been fine, but not to look at us in front of her for 5 minutes i thought was pretty rude! Everything else was fine but I guess that first impressions last longest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you experienced poor customer service from our staff and were not helped promptly. Thank you for brining this to our attention. You can be assured we'll do everything possible to retrain and correct any deficiencies in our customer service. We hope you'll consider us again next time you're in Susanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We came to Susanville for a family wedding and our cousin recommended the High Country Inn. We were glad she did. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful at check-in. I was even pleased with the fact that the air conditioner (a machine that can often be more of a sleep disturber than a help) was quiet and worked efficiently. The morning breakfast was ample; a cut above much of the continental fare offered at motels. We did not use the pool but it was small and on the sunny side of the building - great for sun bathing but there was no shade offered to break the heat. Some umbrellas might be helpful. The rooms seemed well insulated - we heard none of our neighbors from other rooms or in the interior hallways. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad you found our hotel clean and comfortable. I'm sorry there weren't any umbrellas out at the pool for shade. We normally have several umbrellas out but recently we've had numerous umbrellas break and they just might not have been replaced yet. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, bc
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just coming into town on a road trip, but called ahead to reserve for the night. Friendly staff, clean rooms, seldom used fitness room. No time to use the little pool. Free wifi only works for one device at a time, but my kids just used other room numbers. Breakfast was satisfactory, with the waffle machine as the highlight.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtsvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you comments and hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonifay, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are big and the beds are heavenly! All the workers, even down to the maintenance man, are very friendly. There is a Pizza Factory next door that makes wonderful pizza's also! If your ever in this town, check these places out. You'll be glad you did!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miakodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you found everything to your satisfaction. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you come through Susanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
437 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
12 reviews
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing