We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Susanville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Susanville”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Susanville has limited lodging options and this is the best among them. The rooms are standard motel, clean, with all the amenities you'd expect of a motel. It's located on the edge of town but surrounded by (chain) stores and restaurants, none of which inspire, but are handy for restocking your cooler if you're on a road trip. I would say call to confirm your reservation prior to your trip. I arrived to find my reservation had been put in for the following night. No big deal, as they had rooms available. Still, it wouldn't have been fun if they'd been full. Which they probably never are. But still. Decent place. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tex049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    80
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
78
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very pleasant, clean and convenient location. We stay at Holiday Inn Expresses a lot and we found the accommodations here very similar.

They have a wonderful breakfast selection. Everything was fresh, clean and nicely organized.

Across from the HCI, there is a Safeway, Starbuck's and a host of other stores and fast food places. After our complimentary breakfast at the Inn, we scored our coffee for the road at Starby's. Win-win!

For dinner, we tried the recommendation of Rose's on Main Street. It is about a mile from the Inn. Not a fancy establishment, but the food was excellent. Menu showcased Italian, seafood, chicken and steaks. Creme brulee was scrumptious and smooth as silk!!

My husband and I booked our one-night stay through Expedia. The hotel's website only offered two-night weekend stays.

Highly recommended and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: AAA card was used. King bed room price including taxes, etc. was $100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanskiKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The High Country Inn was a fabulous find in this small town. Check-in was efficient. The room was bright and clean. The breakfast provided in the room rate was abundant and tasty (including fresh waffles). We highly recommend a stay at this Inn when you're visiting or passing through Susanville.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsayw739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Liked it a lot. Clean and comfortable rooms with nice bathrooms and furniture, some rooms even have flat screens on wall creating more counter space. Perfectly located for prison work or visits, and it's across from stripmall, fast food, and stores. Wifi worked great. I stayed there four weeks total with one other person. Was disappointed the spa wasn't open, and the continental breakfast was very lame. Yes, I would stay again, and even bring wife and kid.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semi-local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folsom ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We always stay at the High Country Inn when we visit our family in Susanville. The hotel is very reasonably priced, impeccably clean, and has a very welcoming feel. We tried some of the other hotels/motels in town, but none of them have the same warm feeling or clean atmosphere. The staff is very helpful, and it is also a great place to stay with our young child.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The staff were very polite and helpful. Coffee, pastries and fruit were provided in the lobby as well as a coffee maker in the room. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant associated with the hotel, The Sage Hen, served an excellent dinner and a 10% discount was provided by the hotel. There was a complimentary breakfast menu at the restaurant or you could apply a $5 discount to regular breakfast items.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClioJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The room was very nice. The Inn provides a discount on breakfasts at the associated Sage Hen restaurant, or a free minimal but adequate continental breakfast. For dinner the Sage Hen was excellent but pricey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SackOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
407 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing