We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value!”
Review of Super 8 Susanville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Susanville
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Traveling with a dog sometimes limits motel choices but this Super 8 is not a compromise in any way!
The room was very clean, spacious, and had a fridge and microwave.
The property is in excellent repair, very appealing and the location is quiet.
The beds were good.
The Manager is a delight with dogs. She is the welcoming type and someone you could talk with for hours.
The breakfast is a very good value, waffles, yogurt, toast and pastries.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 470 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pros...
1. Location is perfect (next to walmart, walgreens, Jack in the box, subway)
2. Pet friendly (brought our 85 lb labrador) no problem
3. Room clean with refrigerator and microwave. Tv with decent selection of channels
4. Front Desk staff (what can I say, this team really goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Amy gave us a early check in, really needed it after a 10 hour drive and then there was Dee.. She was there most of our stay and even went over our billing with us to find we were overcharged 42.00.
5. Breakfast was good, waffles yummy,cereal, toast, yogurt, cinnamon rolls. (suggestion..throw in some hard boil eggs on weekends)

Cons...

There is nothing to do in Susanville (at least in the winter). Very boring! No fun centers for kids and the bowling alley doesnt even open till 4pm on a saturday, are you kidding me! Only 10 lanes and we got there at 4.15 and most all of them were reserved??
The two parks are really run down and in shady neighborhoods. Although it says drug free area, there were plenty of unsavory looking people in the park. There is NOTHING THERE to do.
Overall...
If it was not for Dee and our great stay at super 8, this would have been a complete disaster. I guess we will have to try this again in the summer, lots of lakes and fishing in this area.
***pastrami burger***

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank LYNNETTE T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DAVE P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CASEYF753
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This MOTEL was exactly as we expected. A good place to stop overnight and it was all we needed for this trip.

We were traveling with our two Standard Poodles who are great travelers and do not bark unless someone is knocking on our door. Unfortunately, there was a little yapping dog next door that we could hear OFTEN as the walls seemed thin.

In our opinion, the dog "area" is very small and is made up of large rocks. Really? Picking up dog poop is made a little tricky. I'm guessing the management does not have dogs.

The carpet in our room left something to be desired, with stains. I'm guessing that could due to it being a designated dog room.

The room itself was much larger than we expected and had we been there more than one night, the size would have been very appreciated. The outside grounds were very tidy.

Breakfast choice was waffles (make your own), fresh fruit, packaged cinnamon rolls, coffee, juice. There was a toaster, but no bread or bagels. I was too late at 7:30, I guess. More than adequate breakfast and appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sued1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We didn't have a reservation when we entered Susanville yesterday afternoon. I checked TA for prices and reviews and this one was cheaper than the Best Western. We drove through town and viewed all the properties we could find, this is a very clean place. We slept really well. The man at check in indicated no one would be put in the unit upstairs, but about 11pm we got upstairs neighbors. I don't think they were stomping but we heard them shower, get up at 5am, pack and leave. Not great insulation. Otherwise fine for the night. No pictures, same look as any other of this chain.

Room Tip: I'd be the upstairs neighbor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.1 mi away
SureStay Hotel by Best Western
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
1.9 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
74 reviews
1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 8 in Susanville
15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Susanville

Address: 2975 Johnstonville Road, Susanville, CA 96130-4736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range: $80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Susanville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Susanville Hotel Susanville
Super Eight Susanville
Susanville Super Eight
Susanville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing