We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, peaceful night's sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Susanville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, peaceful night's sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were on a 19 day road trip and by the end of each night, we just wanted peaceful, restful sleep in a clean room. We liked this place because it had 2 bedrooms and the price was wonderful for that. It's an older motel and very well taken care of.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelhamqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
19
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grant-Valkaria, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The folks who gave this motel rave reviews must live directly on the interstate and never experienced a quiet night in their life!... immune to noise because this motel is noisy. Between the traffic on 395 and the between-room, and outside thumps and bumps, it is a difficult night's sleep. This is unfortunately a perfect example of Trip Advisor being a cautionary tale. The rooms are clean, everything seems maintained and in good order. Our heater worked fine, micro operative, refrigerator loud as almost all of them are. (we unplugged it to take out one more annoyance). The operators are indeed personable and friendly, a real plus to the place. There isn't much they can do about their position on the street and the nature of the sound transfer. Most motels on 395 are on the road and prone to nighttime traffic. Just be aware that rave reviews are oft-times misleading and bring your earplugs. The price is right.

Room Tip: Get a room at the farthest end off the street.. Preferably the very end.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid December of 2013, on our way to Las Vegas. Nice people, clean locally owned motel. The heaters were wall mounted propane heaters. During the night, the heater in the unit that our daughter's were staying in malfunctioned and pumped carbon monoxide into the room. They were very sick and nearly were overcomed. They had to spend the night in the hospital.

All of this would have been avoided if they would have had CO2 sensors installed in the rooms. They did not. The fire marshall red tagged 5 units all together for faulty heaters.

The owners didn't even bother to refund our money, We won't be staying there again anytime soon.

Room Tip: BEWARE !!!! Make sure that there are working properly installed CO2 sensors in your room if you cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great stay for the price. The owners were super nice. There was nothing fancy about the room but it was really clean and the bed was comfy. I would definitely stay here again if I were traveling through.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jackdaniels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

When I arrived at the Apple Inn after a long day on my motorcycle I was enthusiastically welcomed by the owner. The room was very clean and well appointed with a mini fridge, microwave and flat screen TV. This was so much more than I expected for the price and will certainly stay there again when I am passing through Susanville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Echolake38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a really nice place. The owners meticulously maintain this small inn, which has only 10 units. It is very clean, the bed(s) very comfortable, and each room has a small refrigerator and microwave. Behind the inn, is a park-like area, where you can picnic, grill, or just sit outside and enjoy the weather, which is part of the inn property. Walmart and other shopping is nearby. When we checked in, we were each given a choice of two treats out of a small basket at the desk. In addition, we were given discounts to both the casino and the Pioneer Pub/Restaurant in town. This is a good place to eat, but be aware, the state of California prohibits minors in this establishment. The owner at the Pub expressed his thanks for Jay giving us the tokens for a free pint of their brew. The price was exceptional in this day and age; even though the inn is older, it was nice to have a quiet, small inn, instead of one of the franchised mega motels. We look forward to staying at the Apple Inn again.

Room Tip: We were in #9 near the back of the property by the picnic area. It was quiet, but I would think any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Judy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Apple Inn is obviously an older property, but it is lovingly maintained and cared for by its on-site owners. Everything is nicely updated and very clean. I don't think you will find a better motel value in Susanville. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wingleader09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
0.6 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Inn Motel

Property: Apple Inn Motel
Address: 2720 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130-4742
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing