We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of River Inn

River Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
320 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

After a very rude reception at the Best Western in town we were glad we checked out the River Inn.
The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We had the handicapped room with a king size bed, table and two comfortable chairs, a well working fridge with a decent freezer compartment, and a good microwave, and free WiFi. The walk-in shower was awesome. Everything was very clean and well maintained. There are no coffee pots in the rooms, they have a great cup of coffee ready in the morning at 7am with some sweet cakes. The restaurant across the lot seems to open at 6am. Staying here saved us $35 over the Best Western.

Room Tip: Check this place out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Probably the tidiest-looking motel complex along highway 36 in Susanville, this place has no pretensions but is good value with friendly office staff. The same can be said for the Mexican diner across the carpark.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Polite clerk, cheap rates, decent room with fridge and microwave and lets not forget Wifi. Next door is a fantastic restaurant, El Tepeyac Grille. As a single woman traveler, I really liked this place. I generally stay at Holiday Inns and known name quality hotels. I was gonna stay at Best Western, but it looked run down and dark around the building. I decided to drive thru town to ck out the rest and River Inn looked the best. I'm very pleased!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbunnies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Nice room, decent price. Wifi, frig, microwave, tub. Restaurant right next door, 1/2 steakhouse (we ate there, very good!) and 1/2 Mexican food (didn't eat there). Quiet motel, even though easily accessible on main drag of town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
0.7 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn

Property: River Inn
Address: 1710 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130-4517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Inn is a traditional motor inn located in the beautiful Northeastern California town of Susanville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing