We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Communication and Customer service opportunities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
GreenLeadersGold level
Chico, California
1 review
“Communication and Customer service opportunities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I made a reservation online and asked to bring my service animal. I spoke to Madeline on the phone. She had to go ask her manager if it was OK for me to bring my service animal. After being on hold she came back and asked me what my disability was. This is a HIPPA violation. I asked her if I could check out at 1PM instead of noon, she said fine. When I arrived the next day at check in no one knew of my service animal or my reasonable accommodation request. Madeline had noted on the reservation that I would be checking out at 1 PM the next day. The room had loose plumbing in the shower, the sink, the mirrored bypass closet doors were broken off the track. Not god shape. The maid and a house keeping have both been knocking on my door to tell me I need to check out. It is still 12:30 PM right now as I write this. The TV remote failed so I asked for batteries. I thanked the young man for the batteries. Then the front desk called and asked why I would not let him in to help us. I thanked them for the batteries and said my wife and I are lounging around this morning and did not want company. The food had very little flavor in the restaurant last night and looked like microwaved left overs out of the freezer even though they advertised " Wild Caught Mahi-Mahi." The "non-smoking area of the restaurant stunk like typical casino cigarette smoke. Dreck. The general staff is unfriendly and walking around in their own unhappy world. The service area's people were warm and friendly but no one else. I asked for simple directions to a local lake in the area that no one had heard of so they handed me a map and wished me good luck. I can not recommend this place until they fix their customer service and communication issues.

Room Tip: Pay less, get a cleaner room and free breakfast at the local Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Chad, I sincerely apologize for your inconveniences. We appreciate knowing where we can improve. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    27
    13
    1
See reviews for
37
44
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greater San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We found the hotel easily using our GPS device. It is a clean facility with great food at inexpensive prices. The rooms are nicely appointed, charming even! Bed comfy if a bit on the soft side. Compared with some of the other rooms that my company books, this was a notch above. I read the concerns about the coffee maker. Although I understand the inconvenience of figuring out the Keurig, I appreciate the better than normal flavor. Enjoyed shopping at the $10 shop. The employee who working our all day business event in the Board Room was very helpful and accommodating of our needs. I know I will return for business and I will recommend this venue to co-workers who will travel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eringorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Eringorah, Thank you very nuch for your kind review. I will see that the banquet people also get to know about your review. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Boy what a place of contrasts. I was there 2 days on business in town, I was not ready for the smoking. Whats good first. The food in the casino was great and very affordable, the staff were also really friendly and fun. My room and floor was no smoking. Now the bad, everywhere smelled of smoking, the front door, the hallways, and the cafe. The furniture was cheap and showed it although the hotel is not very old, and I had to walk through the hallway downstaires to get to the single, only tiny elevator. The "Board Room" was off that hallway and the doors were open with what seemed like 300 smokers in there. If you gamble it would be okay, but I shall not be back.

Room Tip: 4th floor was "non Smoking"
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm really not sure they have any, the usual towel enviroment thing, but with the smoking it's all wasted
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Malcom, thank you for your comments. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel was very accommodating with our changing work schedule. The rooms were nicely appointed with refrig, mircowave, flat screen, and Keurig. The bed was too soft and lumpy as were the pillows; however, others in my group found the beds to be comfortable.
The gym was VERY small and stuffy.

I did not eat at the hotel due to the stench of cigarette smoke on the first floor. The paperwork at check-in had a statement that was highlighted which said illegal drugs were not allowed on the premises and the discovery of stuff would result in immediate removal from the property and MAY result in prosecution.....interesting!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstraveler155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments. We do enforce a zero tolerance policy and inform our guests of the same. One must remember that we are NOT technically in California, Federal laws apply here and many guests from California don't realize that fact. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stopped at this hotel many times on business trips. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds are just a few assets. Great getaway for a few days of leisure and if gambling is your kind of fun, they have it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Les, Thank you very much for your kind review. I'll post this for our staff. We also are very close to Lassen Volcanic Park and the Biz Johnson Trail. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and every time has been wonderful. The beds are so comfortable, I haven't found any other hotel that compares to the beds here. The rooms are always very clean and you have everything you need in your room. My kids love the pool they have a blast when they are here. For the price its the best place to stay I would recommend it to all my friends and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Alison, Thank you so much. I will post your review for the entire staff. Its always nice to hear that the efforts of the staff are paying off. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was heading to Reno by way of Susanville Ca. Big storm and icy roads, myself and three other friends decided to play it safe and spend the night. One of my friends suggested the above because she had gone to there dance club.
The room was nice and clean comfortable. A suggestion I would have is that they put real coffee makers in with real creamer. The two cup coffee makers are slow and require thinking in the morning when a person needs coffee to read the instructions. I noticed other people thought they were broken. There not, I initially thought the same. There to complicated for a person whose is half asleep! LOL!
The food was good at the restaurant and affordable. What I thought was interesting is people could smoke in the restaurant. For me that seriously distracts from the good food that's being served. If I had not been snowed in I would have ate somewhere else.
90% of the staff is very helpful and friendly. The other ten percent is the opposite.
I'm bring these things up so that management might address them. I think they are easy fixes. This is why I rated it average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Carol, Thank you for staying with us. We always appreciate learning where we can improve. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.2 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel

Property: Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Address: 900 Skyline Drive, Susanville, CA 96130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Diamond hotel includes 70 Lodge-style non-smoking Rooms, Coffee Bar, Non-smoking Gaming Area, Conference Room, Business Center, Small Amenities Shop, Indoor Pool and Spa and free breakfast in our restaurant for all paid guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Mountain Hotel Susanville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing