We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real South Indian Food”
Review of Madras Cafe

Madras Cafe
Ranked #6 of 377 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
280 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 725 helpful votes
“Real South Indian Food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good taste, reminds of Chennai City, has good value for money - one who loves Rasam-Rice must enjoy here...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SadhanaRakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    69
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant for regular visits”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Madras Cafe offers good south Indian fare and is a refreshing change in service/attitude from the nearby Saravana Bhavan. They stick to a smaller menu amongst the possible South Indian spreads, but they make it all well. The food is definitely not in best of breed class - but they make it quite well though - enough for me to be a regular client there. The restaurant is clean, simple and utilitarian - you do not go here for the ambience though. It is quite popular nowadays and gets crowded, but the staff is quite efficient ensure quick turnaround of tables by serving food very quickly and efficiently.

While you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu, and the portions compared to other restaurants are quite generous - I regularly have the Sambar Vada (especially when I go in hungry as it is the quickest to be served, and the vadas are quite large) and plain Dosa. Other things which I like are the Curd Rice (very good for Curd Rice lovers), Onion Chilli Uthappam and their killer Pongal (very tasty and a large portion again). The kurma for parathas and pooris lack any vegetables. Infact it is hard to find any dishes with any veggies other than onion, tomatoes and potatoes.

It is only apt to offer a comparison with nearby Saravana Bhavan since Saravana Bhavan is a well known establishment atleast in the South Indian community - bear in mind there are many more restaurants in the nearby vicinity catering the exact same South Indian food. However amongst them all Madras Cafe is now easily on the top of my list.


* Madras Cafe is less expensive - you will notice the difference compared to Saravana Bhavan. Frankly the latter is slowly pricing themselves out for me, personally - my periodicity of visits to them is on the decline, especially given the excellent alternative in Madras Cafe

* Saravana Bhavan has better Chutney, Sambhar; though Madras Cafe's are by no means a pushover. Saravana Bhavan offers above average Meals/Thali (depends on the time you go in there for the quality and type of curries/vegetables served in the Thali). Madras Cafe does not serve meals. That is one reason why you might want to skip them.

* Madras Cafe staff is generally more happier and attentive even during very busy times (though you will have to hail them); Saravana Bhavan has consistently very poor wait staff - though they appear more formal/trained given their uniformed outfits.

* Both places are equally noisy

* Madras Cafe is a bit smaller in size but is definitely cleaner - thanks to their choice of tables/flooring etc. Cannot rate the cleanliness of the kitchens between the two - so that would be a wash

* Both places are quite popular - especially on weekend evenings - given the density of South Indian food lovers in the bay area - though prepare to wait longer in Saravana Bhavan

* Both places have reasonable parking - though sometimes parking might be difficult in Madras Cafe due to the presence of nearby groceries and McDonalds.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the rating”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had the Dosa vegetable special (about the most expensive thing on the menu), but it really wasn't special. The Dosa was great but the mix of gently fried onions with a bunch of frozen vegetables was rather disappointing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money south indian fare...”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

+Good south indian food, especially the dosas, curd rice & pongal
+Quick service, once you are seated
+Reasonably priced
+Open for breakfast!
-Can we get more pickles for the curd rice please?
-Crowd management. it gets out of hand.
-Avoid the sambar vada if you can. If thats all you ordered, you will not come back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Analogous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Early Morning Weekend breakfast has to be here :)”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Opens at 8:30 am in the morning, reached there by 8:35 am and still I see 4 tables have already been taken. what??? what does that means??? It means it's hack of a place for some awesome south indian snacks and most amazing filter coffee I ever had!!

Seriously man, within 30 mins, I saw almost all the tables were taken. Must say, I was impressed.NO, not with the mabience but the food. I and husband ordered masala dosa and idli plate. They both were nice. The best part of eating at such places is that you are sure, everything is fresh because the don't have any left overs to be consumed the next day.

I am a regular here and everytime I eat here, I see the consistency in the taste. Nice breakfast and such aromatic coffee over a nice saturday morning at cafe madras is a Bliss!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanchanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Madras Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing