We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not All That Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Reviewed December 5, 2005

For reasonable rates and pretty decent rooms I like the Vagabond. It's certainly not upscale, but worth the money and for the most part clean (could have dusted a bit more). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean I was apprehensive (sp?)about staying there after reading another review regarding the "thugs" that hang out in the Denny's parking lot making noise - I stayed here in November also over the weekend, and never heard a sound or saw anyone that even looked like a "thug." I might add that although I'm not a fan of Denny's, out of convenience I ate breakfast and dinner there and was impressed with the service and the food - quite a surprise to me since in my opinion Denny's trains their workers to be as slow as possible and have a moderate talent for cooking.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LaRee1L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 131 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
oakhurst
14
Reviewed January 10, 2005

This was the absolutely THE worst place we have EVER stayed at. Please take my word DO NOT STAY HERE! they have a Denny's restauraunt on the premesis and friday and Saturday night the club nearby closes and all the thugs hangout in the motels' parking lot with there car stereos thumping. the cops finally came after 1 hr to clear them away but it made them angry so they would purposely drive through the parking lot yelling profanities and blaring their car steroes. We had reserved through expedia for two nights so they wouldnt refund us our money. let me tell you this happened both Friday and Saturday night. The guy at the front desk told us this happens every friday and saturday night. It was a nightmare. I also feared our kids safety too. we had planned a trip to great america for the weekend but were so tired from lack of sleep. I am not one to ever complain but this was ridiculous!! hope this helps.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondInns, Director of Tour and Travel at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2007

Yes, our hotel is next door to Denny's. The guest should have spoken with Denny's management and the police, as we are not Denny's, we are a hotel. This response has nothing to do with how we provided our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2003

After a three week reservation. I was told my small dog would add $10.00 to my room rate. At check out , $20.85 was added to my bill for one nights stay. Just sign me One very unhappy EX-CUSTOMER.. NEVER AGAIN. I hate being screwed over.

1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Benmax07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vermijd de kamers naast het washok vanwege de herrie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNdeKoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Owner at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de arriba son un poco mejores que las de abajo por lo que pudimos ver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julián D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Owner at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#26 of 35 in Sunnyvale
46 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#16 of 35 in Sunnyvale
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
0.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#8 of 35 in Sunnyvale
221 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale

Address: 816 W Ahwanee Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-1409
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing