We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring Accomodations”
Review of Maple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2007

I stayed at the Maple Tree Inn week of Mar 5th and found the accomodations barely adequate. Rooms are tired, smell somewhat, and the bedding is fair at best... very worn blanket and bed spread. Breakfast is just Ok and the seating is very limited so you end up sharing the table with strangers. Happy hour is 5pm to 630pm... not much use for the business traveler that returns around 600pm or so. For the 90$ room rate it was a fair deal... I tried it because it was a company preferred hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NHbizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Maple Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 376 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2007

I have stayed at the Maple Tree Inn several times now because it is reasonably priced for a Silicon Valley motel and well located for those wanting to stay in Sunnyvale. I've stayed in some of the other Sunnyvale motels and feel that for shopping, restaurants, and other amenities the Maple Tree Inn is the best selection. The motel is located on the El Camino Real but not so close that you can hear the traffic like the others. The rooms are clean but some need updating and this is currently underway. The breakfast is quite good and always well attended. The staff is very courteous and helpful and I have always found them, from the front counter to the manager, to be quite flexible.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CasualView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Excellent service. They brought a can opener, extra box of kleenex, and two forks to my door. Three times I was asked if there was anything they could get me. After arriving, housekeeper knocked on the door and asked if it was satisfactory, which it was.

Average bathroom and okay bed with iron and iron board, refrigerator, internet, and a hot breakfast all included. The staffs gave good directions, help me find local resturants, and gave accurate information about local attractions. The service is usually not included for $65 a night.

This is a great value and $10 cheaper than the moldy Travel Lodge room I checked out of.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cocreations2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

My company booked me at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly that staff was. The rooms were clean and charming. The free breakfast and happy hour was great. Anytime I needed anything the hotel staff delivered in minutes. I stay at a lot of hotels for business and I've never had so much wonderful service at one property from so many of the staffers.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pulse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Having read the excellent reviews of the Maple Tree Inn on Trip Advisor - I decided to book the hotel for a group of us who would be travelling to Sunnyvale on a business trip. When I arrived at the hotel I have to admit I was disappointed, the lobby looked old and unimpressive and when i got to my room, though it was very large and spacious, it was also quite old and musty. The breakfast the next day was tasty and there was lots of it. I also took a dip in the pool which was a nice additional feature to have. The happy hour with complimintary food and drink is also a great selling point for the hotel but the hotel itself is quite old and musty and definitely does not deserve near five stars. I paid 80 dollars a night for my double room at Maple Leaf and it was well worth the money. Good value but don't epect a five star.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Location is suberb. The staff is wonderful. Reminds me of a small Euorpean hotel. Above all was quiet and clean!! A find for price and what you get in Silicon Valey!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrystal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

I can't think of a negative thing to say. The location was great, the breakfast was wonderful, the rooms were nice, the hospitality hour was great. I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
956 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Inn

Address: 711 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sunnyvale
#4 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#5 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $115 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the balance of affordable luxury at Maple Tree Inn in Silicon Valley. Maple Tree Inn offers elegant accommodations, value-added services and amenities, and a prime location in Sunnyvale, California. Maple Tree Inn offers two indoor meeting spaces as well as a new outdoor venue that can accommodate up to 125 guests in formal dining as well as 150 people for a beautiful outdoor ceremony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Maple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Hotel Sunnyvale
Maple Tree Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing