We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This property is tucked away which made it a nice, quiet place to stay. The lobby is beautiful and there is even a book-borrowing sitting area in the lovely main lobby----I had never seen this before! It was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the service by all of the hotel staff. On our first night, when we asked if there were any cookies, Jashan (at front desk), retrieved some fresh-from-the-oven cookies for our family and even got my son and I a glass of cold milk to go with the cookies! What a special treat!! The smiling, happy faces that work at this property made us all feel welcome and special. It was a good experience! The only negative for me...was the hotel's bed pillows! The pillows were too soft and it took several of them to give good support---better pillows on the beds would definitely have made for a better night for me, but overall, this property is excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our property. I am excited to hear all of your positive comments about your stay, including our staff, read it and return program, and complimentary breakfast buffet. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the comfort of our pillows and I apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during you night's sleep. We hope this did not affect your choice to stay with us again and we hope to see you again soon! Have a terrific day!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    256
    72
    29
    7
See reviews for
175
97
42
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This Country Inns & Suites makes you feel at home. They have always be courteous and professionally friendly. Besides the breakfast is great with a variety to suit your morning mood. Whenever I have a question about restaurants, shopping or how to get somewhere, the staff will find a good answer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool seem more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate hearing all of the positive comments, especially about our staff and complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again with us soon!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was the first time that I stayed at a Country Inn. I did so because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I experienced all of the accolades to be true. I was unaware of the existence of this property hidden away in Sunnyvale. The staff, accommodations, grounds, and breakfast buffet were all excellent and consistent with the previous reviews. The proximity to Twin Creeks sports complex was perfect for me. The property is not with in walking distance to restaurants, convenience stores, and shopping. It is nestled into a complex of office buildings off the main highway. This may be viewed as a positive or negative by some. But you are likely to have access to a car if you stay here so it should not be a major issue. In summary, the Country Inn was a very pleasant surprise in an area I thought I knew well. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Country Inn and Suites in Sunnyvale, we thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay at our property. We are delighted to hear that you took the time to check out our reviews and we were able to live up to your expectations. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again during your next trip to the Sunnyvale area. Have a terrific day!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel received very high ratings - especially given the great price - and the ratings were totally on target. The staff was welcoming, professional, and helpful - from the front desk staff to the breakfast room staff to the check out experience. It is such a relief to NOT run into any hassles and to be treated well when traveling. The guest rooms were quite large, and very clean. The breakfast selections were yummy. We also found this location to be convenient to Stanford, Half Moon Bay and a day trip to San Fran.

Room Tip: King size bed was great. Best sleep we'd had in a week. We were overlooking the pool, but were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FenwayFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our property. It is great to see that you had such a wonderful experience from check-in to check-out. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet, the size and cleanliness of our guest rooms, and the helpfulness of our staff. We hope to serve you again during your next trop to the area. Have a great day!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

spent the day shopping in bay area malls and needed a place to spend the night before going to the season opener at candlestick. hotel was inexpensive and not too far from candlestick park (an hour drive), great mall milpitas, hot pot city, and 30 min from gilroy outlets. for the price $$ I paid, it was well worth it. receptionist was friendly, king bed room was HUGE, free wifi worked great (no lag), work out room was nice, pool was decent size (deepest was around 5 feet), breakfast was WONDERFUL. self serve waffle machine, cereal, pouched eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, mixed fruits, OJ, milk, coffee, toast, country potatoes, and best of all service to take your plate (ceramic) when you were done. no other hotel does that for $$/ night. lost a score for location because it is isolated in a business location and no store nearby. there is a chevron about 1 mile away so no quick access to snacks or drinks late at night. lobby does sell drinks but a little pricey. NO vending machines (atleast i couldnt find any). the location does offer a quite nights sleep and safe parking due to no other traffic around. spa is average score but there is NO spa. i gave it average due to its pool. decent size pool and if i was there longer i would use it to just cool off and relax. NO air conditioning unit in each room. CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING! how SWEET is that. room was at 72 degrees when we first got there. set the thermostat and forget it. no guessing at temp. just like home. mini fridge was set at max cold (never happens at other facilities). VERY comfortable king bed with fluffy pillows (4 plus extra pillow and blanket in closet). in room coffee machine, pantiene shampoo and conditioner, and 40 inch flat screen tv. i enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again. highly recommended.

Room Tip: book early for good price $$. it could get expensive $$$ if booking at last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Jae,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our property. It is always a pleasure to hear all of the positive guest experiences. I am glad you chose to stay with us and I am sure you had a great time at the game, especially since the Niners won! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff, room quality, location, and all of the numerous amenities that comes with the price, including our complimentary breakfast buffet and wifi. It is great to see the comments that you have shared in such great detail. We look forward to your stay here again with us during your next trip to the area, whether it is for a football game or to just visit some of the popular tourist destinations we have here in the Bay Area. Have a great day!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had several family members in the Bay Area for a football game.
We all had a fabulous stay. From 3-65 we all were satisfied at the breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff. Loved the smiles. We will defiantly be back and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdcardfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your family's recent stay at our property. I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope to see you and your family back during your next trip to the Bay Area!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the onset upon checking in, the staff was incredibly cheery and friendly, the manager even came out to greet us. 30 second check-in with an outstanding attitude. Location is perfect, safe parking which is patrolled and access to amenities made our trip AAA+ Anything you need is super close, restaurants, movie cinema, San Francisco, Great America, the famous San Jose Flea Market and much more. Again, the staff made our trip as though we were staying with family. We have our permanent Bay Area Hotel now.

Room Tip: Rooms are very well insulated from outside noise, but even so, there is no outside noise as this Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Guest Service Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback that you have shared with us about your recent visit to our property. It is such a pleasure to hear all of the wonderful comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff, service, location, amenities, and the numerous Bay Area destinations to visit. We thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you and your family again during your next trip to the Sunnyvale area. Have a fantastic day!

Thanks again,
Stephanie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
3.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Address: 1300 Chesapeake Terrace, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Country Inns And Suites Sunnyvale
Country Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing