We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite nice and convenient to SJC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Quite nice and convenient to SJC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotwire for the night before an early flight out of San Jose airport. The hotel is located in a business park about a 15 minutes from the airport (on a Saturday morning with no traffic) ... but it seemed remote from a casual restaurant or shopping.

The people at the front desk were quite nice and check-in is quick. There are cookies and coffee across from the desk.

As Hotwire prepaid customers, we have noticed that we are assigned less desirable room locations. This time was no exception. Our room was located in a busy place, adjacent to a door leading outside the hotel, one to the business center and an elevator. On several occasions, we heard both adults and noisy children just outside our door. We didn't complain and fortunately, things quieted down after around 9 p.m.

The room itself was large, clean and well appointed (with a nice desk and chair), but showed a fair amount of damage from previous occupants. The louvered door to the closet was missing a few louvers, for example, and the door to the bathroom didn't close without a lot of effort. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice, with the vanity area outside the toilet / bath room. The bath towels were a fair distance from the bathtub, so be sure to hang yours on the back of the door within reach of the shower before you get wet.

Breakfast (included) was surprisingly good, with a fairly wide assortment of hot and cold items, including (powdered) eggs, sausage, corned beef hash, oatmeal, etc. The coffee was passable, juice choices (including guava) interesting.

We would definitely stay at this Country Inn again (at the right price), but not in the same room.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 103 unless you are really hard of hearing or not bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    257
    72
    29
    7
See reviews for
177
97
42
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

On a trip with several legs, it was nice to stay at the Sunnyvale Country Inn and Suites. The room was nice and clean and it was very quiet despite the fact the elevator was near my room. The staff was friendly and the room comfortable. The only detractor was the strong room deodorizer when I entered the room, however my nose quickly adapted. Will definitely consider this hotel when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greg2mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is THE hotel to stay in Sunnyvale. The rooms are spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. Great free breakfast with eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles you cook yourself, fruits, everything. Friendly staff. Here's what happened this morning: I went for an early breakfast and there were no complimentary Wall Street Journals. I asked one of the breakfast staffers, Angie Figurosa, if there were any WSJs. She went to the front desk and reported that they hadn't arrived. As I was eating the great breakfast, she appeared at my elbow with a WSJ that had just arrived. How often would you expect to get that level of personal service in a complementary breakfast buffet? These folks are terrific!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room (though perhaps they all are by now)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

After reading multiple outstanding reviews from previous guest, our travel group spent the weekend at the Sunnyvale Country Inn & Suites while touring the San Francisco area in early September. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out we could not asked for better results. Check-in was a breeze. the rooms clean and user friendly, beds comfortable, lobby area inviting and staff attentive. Can not say enough regarding the hot buffet breakfast, BEST EVER. It's clear why this property at an average nightly rate of $70 is so highly rated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My son and I just spent the past weekend at the Country Inns & Suites in Sunnyvale, CA and I have to say for the price which averaged about $70 a night, I have never had such a terrific bang for the buck. Upon entering we were welcomed with open arms by the staff, and Jessica Gamaz, the Front Desk Lead couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating.The room was large and top notch, 2 huge queen beds and a nice flat screen LCD as well as a fridge and microwave. Also, the hot buffet breakfast each morning was the best I have ever had, included waffles, omelets, sausage, fruit, fruit salad and all the breads and cereals you can think of as well as 4 different delicious juices to wash it all down with...it was awesome! On top of that, the crew that was taking care of the breakfast room were extremely kind and courteous, asking each table if they needed refills on their coffee and juice...unheard of for an included breakfast. All n All we had a terrific stay and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the San Francisco area, it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent one night at the hotel to attend a Molin Rouge sing-a-long at the Retro Dome. I was pleasantly suprised how nice the hotel was. Serivce was great. Very quick check-in with a very kind check-in staff. The lobby area was great. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet, despite facing a very busy freeway. The room included a great AM free breakfast. A typical morning buffet. My one and only complaint: The hot food at the AM buffet was COLD.

The hotel is a little difficult to get to using public transportation, but I made it work. I walked thru a few business complexes to get the VTA tram to downtown SJ and the SJC airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I have been staying at this hotel at least twice a year for the past several years and this was our first disappointing stay. We normally get a suite but this time because of a great deal through hotwire, we ended up staying in a regular room. The room's carpet may look fine, but it was incredibly dirty. The color and the design of the carpet hid it very well. The only reason we noticed was my four year old took off his socks and was running around the room barefooted for half an hour and when we went to bath him, the bottom of his feet were black with dirt. Even though the hotel went through a renovation awhile back, the bathroom door looked like it was forgotten about. It was pretty beat up and covered in scratches.

Since we have a toddler, we normally get up by 8am, but the one day we were able to sleep in, we were woken by housekeeping at 8am cleaning the room next door. We heard some banging as if someone was trying to hammer a nail into the wall followed by vacuuming. The vacumming only lasted a couple of minutes but it was enough to wake us up.

The hotel also offers a few designated hybrid parking and since we drive a Prius we always took advantage, but this time both hybrid parking spots were taken by non-hybrid cars. This happened 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there. On one night, one of the cars was a massive SUV. If you are going to make designated parking for hybrid cars, you might as well try to enforce it. I don't expect the cars to be towed but maybe a polite reminder note on the windshield from the hotel explaining the concept of allowing hybrid cars to park in designated spaces would be nice.

Lastly, there apparently was an incident one morning with an individual and 4 police cars arrived to take him away. The whole thing unfolded in front of the morning breakfast crowd. The hotel would not divulge any information which is understandable, but a little reassurance from management would have been nice especially for parents with small kids.

Other than this one disappointing stay, I would still recommend this hotel. Staff is overall very nice, and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinsela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear kinsela,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. All guest feedback is welcome and appreciated as a way to let us and others know what we are doing well and what we can improve upon. We are very appreciative of your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to your future visits. However, I sincerely apologize for the concerns you had expressed and I assure you we will look into all corrections to ensure these do not affect future guests. We will closely monitor the carpet condition as cleanliness and sanitation is one of our highest priorities. I also enjoyed your idea regarding the hybrid parking letters and I will be submitting this to the rest of the management. Although it is still open parking we can do our best to affect the planet in a positive way. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during the unfortunate disturbance which occurred during the breakfast. Because the hotel was not directly involved we were limited to information as well. Safety and security are highly valued at our property and we have staff available 24/7 to assist guests in any way possible. I am excited to let you know that we will be starting phase 2 of our renovation process very soon which will replace the bathroom doors as well as many other refreshing updates throughout the hotel and guest rooms. If we can be of any additional service please let us know. Once again, we thank you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring your back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
3.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#3 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Address: 1300 Chesapeake Terrace, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#1 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Country Inns And Suites Sunnyvale
Country Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing