We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at the domain hotel for 3 days for an interview. I came from paris. The service is excellent and employees are very friendly. I specially appreciated the driver Alex who took us to the company where we had our interview. This guy is just awesome, he made us feel confident and made us forget the stress on our way to the interview by telling us various stories about the valley and the way of life there.

Overall it was a very nice experience and I would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moustapha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Alex,

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments about Alix. He's a guest superstar!

We look forward to serving you in the future,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 973 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business recently. As with many hotels owned by this same company, the hotel has been fully refurbished to a nice level but it is still a 3 star hotel.

A couple of other points.
- The staff is excellent and well trained. They are very responsive to any questions or issues that come up.
- Because of the age of the hotel, it does have some problems and I only had two minor issues - both of which were addressed promptly.
- The workout room has been recently updated and the equipment is all new. I did have a problem with the elliptical working properly which they said that they would check out after told them about it.
- The room does have wooden blinds which have a small crack in them even when closed all the way. But there is a shade behind the blinds which can darken the room entirely. I tell you this because I didn't see the shade at first.
- The shower was good with good water pressure and an expanded shower rod to give more room. One major problem I had was with the water temp. It would be warm when it started and then after 2-3 min would be ice cold for another 2-3 min until it returned to hot/warm. So by the end of my stay I had learned to start the shower way ahead of actually getting in as this happened every day I was there.
- They do have a very small bar/lounge for snacks. It looks like a refurbished room that they made into a bar. It's that small but at least there is something to grab a drink after a long day.
(unlike other hotels in this chain)
- As others have noted, there is a sleep comfort adjustable bed in the room. I had never used one and did not find it particularly comfortable no matter what setting I used.

On the rooms, make sure you don't get a room facing the atrium. They play what is very loud music over the atrium until 10pm and if you are on a top floor (like I was) it is extremely loud. (fortunately they moved me as soon as I noticed this) (Also I don't know why they play this at all. It is overbearing music IMHO even on the first floor)

This hotel is a reasonable value during the week especially if you have a last minute trip to Sunnyvale.

Room Tip: Do not get an Atrium facing room. See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wine_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Wine_Moose,

We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and staff. You have a keen eye when it comes to hotels. We are looking to replace all of our sleep number beds and continue updating areas of the hotel. We currently have plans to renovate our business center and pool area with state of the art furniture and style. Thank you for your business.

We look forward to serving you in the future,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just hosted an event at the Domain Hotel (my third). The experience was excellent. The property is well managed, clean, attractive and conveniently located. The staff is outstanding. I can't wait to return and enjoy a comfortable room and an event that is superbly supported.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the ground floor because it's close to the large meeting room as well as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Bill,

We are so happy you enjoyed our banquet facilities. We try to offer the most up-to-date services and food presentation available. If we can do anything in the future please don't hesitate to reach out to myself or Anna Richards, our Catering and Sales manager!

At your service,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our room was small but comfortable. The beds were adjustable for firmness. There was an ipod doc but no way to charge an iphone, which I think would be much more useful to most. There were very few amenities. We enjoyed the hot tub and it was fairly empty on a Friday night. We managed to get a rare deal through Expedia but normally would never spend the money on rates they generally are asking (starting around $145). The bathroom was clean but there wasn't anything stellar about the place, not even location, that would make me want to pay their inflated rates. There wasn't internet without an extra fee. The breakfast buffet, restaurant and bar were wildly overpriced. We went next door to eat. Everything about the place was relatively average except some esoteric writing on the wall which apparently was supposed to make me feel zen-ish but really only made me feel sorry for all the people who might pay more for this hotel and realize the only thing special about it is that they painted quotes on the walls. It has modern decor but it isn't spectacularly clean or special. The guys at the front desk were friendly/nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Delancy1,

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We offer many different room types and rates to try to accommodate a wide variety of travelers and base our rates to stay competitive with the market. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve our service. I’m aware that you have many options when choosing where to stay while traveling and we thank you for continuing to choose us.

At your service,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I lived there for two nights. Service is good. I was impressed by its shuttle driver. He is really a nice guy. It was very kind of him to show me the city like a tourist guide. As I was there for interview, he also gave me a lot of helpful suggestion. I will book this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Maybe the higher floor is quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Jason,

We are delighted to have you as our guest and look forward to serving you in your future stays in San Jose! Alix was very appreciative of the nice comments!

At your service,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel although I've been in the area many times for business. The hotel was fine but nothing special or memorable. I had stayed in the Sunnyvale Grand and liked it better for the type of room as well as the breakfasts served. In the Domain, the breakfast was ordinary with so-so service in the dining area. It was adequate and I'd recommend it if you can't get the Grand. The room was clean and acceptable.

I found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllesseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Ellessa,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm please you enjoyed your overall stay, however I want to exceed your expectations. If you are coming back to the area please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly and we can accommodate certain breakfast request and or room preference.

Thank you,

At your service,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed for two nights. The gym was adequate, consisting of some barbells, a bench, two weight machines, two treadmills, an elliptical, a ball, and since mats. I did not try the pool. The bed was comfortable (the kind where you can adjust the firmness) . Parking was convenient outside and in the garage below the hotel. Staff was courteous and upbeat. Ruby was especially helpful, and got me breakfast ti keep in my fridge the night before my early flight since breakfast starts at 6:30.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Solarian,

I cannot thank you enough for your feedback and comments about Ruby. The Team and I look forward to seeing you again at the Domain Hotel and exceeding your expectations to 5 star status!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Rooms Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
985 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
197 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $111 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing