We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service”
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Temecula, California
1 review
“Great hotel with great service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stay at this hotel almost every other week. The people there are great right from the very start before I became a regular. Problems happen, these folks take care of them quickly. Parking is free and never a problem. I don't really eat here too much so can't comment on the bar or restaurant. The rooms are very nice, clean, and modern.

Room Tip: Every room I have had is a great one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello James,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We are excited to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    305
    100
    32
    22
See reviews for
129
120
92
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I highly recommend the Domain Hotel in Sunnyvale—they have been a pleasure to work with over the past few years. As someone who hosts multiple events on an annual basis, Zohal and her team have been responsive to our needs providing excellent customer service, and have been fun to work with. Whether you want to book your stay or host an event in a friendly business environment, the Domain will not let you down. There is plenty of parking, great staff, and consistently good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineSJREI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Geraldine,

We appreciate your continued business and will pass on your comments to Zohal in Sales and Catering. Please stay tuned for banquet updates, including all new lighting.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a wonderful stay there but it is to pass it by it looks more like an apartment
!lovely inside and very clean not too many smiles from the front desk but professional!I had a pizza and drinks at bar from a funny and friendly bartender his name started with a j but not sure!there is nothing like a good bartender to make a bad day good!I would refer people here just hard to find overall good experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonyveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Veronica,

We are delighted to have you as our guest and look forward to serving you in your future stays in San Jose! We will pass on your comments to Jeff.

Please come back and see us anytime!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I went to visit fiends who were staying here. We hadn't heard of it before. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised! Nice, clean grounds, Easy parking.The lobby was very inviting. We met our friends for drinks at the Bytes Bar during happy hour. The bartender,named Jeff, was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. Our friends said they were very pleased with their room and they were glad they stayed here. Overall, we all agreed The Domain Hotel was a hidden gem and we will definitely recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Stephen,

Thank you so much for your positive comments, we will ensure Jeff knows about them!

Please come back and see us anytime!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed twice now in the past few months. Everyone at the Domain is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is beautiful, I LOVE the free parking, and they were very accommodating to our large group. The rates were very reasonable, and the location is quiet with easy access. The breakfasts were very nice, and the rooms were very clean and comfy. I loved too that they had a fridge, that was very helpful to our family. Thank you , thank you!

Room Tip: They do have adjoining rooms, that would be fun to ask for if you are traveling with others. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Margie,

Thank you so much for your comments. We'd be happy to help you with booking in the future, if you would like adjoining rooms please don't hesitate to contact me in advance so we can have it set up for you.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've attended several small conventions at this hotel and have always been impressed by their level of service and willingness to make things work. There's plenty of space for side conversations in this striking, arty layout. The central elevator connects the garage with the conference areas for easy set-up and take-down, even if it's raining. Rooms surround the conference area; there's no long inside commute. Jeff, the energetic, enthusiastic bartender at "Bytes" can get you smiling at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: There's a nice view of the Santa Cruz mountains from the South Facing rooms. If your conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Gerald,

You have a great eye for detail. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place was great! I'm going to stay here every time I'm in the area! Very pleased with the service & overall hotel! Very comfy beds, great restaurant, fitness center & pool! The ambiance of the hotel as a whole is great, the decorations are beautiful & the workers are great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiejacqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Katie,

Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest! Thank you so much. Please come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
0.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Property: The Domain Hotel
Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing