We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Thin Walls”
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pomona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel But Thin Walls”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Much better hotel than the Vagabond down the street. Found a great rate through priceline. The walls are a bit thin here and there was no complimentary breakfast but the whole experience was pleasant except for the people in the room close by doing it loudly. A bit embarrassing with our son with us.

Room Tip: The east side rooms face the wall of the adjacent hotel so noview there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jm_dll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. I would like to personally apologize for noise level of our other patrons. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve our service. Please contact me directly prior to your next stay and I ensure a quiet room for you.

Thank you!


Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    302
    99
    30
    22
See reviews for
127
119
91
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent service. Nice design. Good price (priceline). Great breakfast. Super fast WiFi Internet. Very convenient location (walking distance to many restaurants and amenities). What more do you need in Silicon Valley? Only complaint I have is that heater in room was too loud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one focus is always the guest! I apologize for the noise level of the heater in the room, if you could give me more information on which room it was I will have it inspected.

Thank you again,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Checked in after long drive through LA traffic. Greeted by Justin who upgraded us and walked from around the desk to hand us our keys. Couldn't believe it when he apologized profusely because we were too late for room service and he delivered fruit and yogurt to our door, refusing any payment. Room very comfortable. Price could not be beat!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namastegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We are aware that you have many options when choosing where to stay while traveling and we thank you for continuing to choose us.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I reserved here for one night and after seeing the rooms and feeling the elegance of the hotel and ambiance I had to stay again and again for 2 more nights! Although some nights can be pricey but if you catch it on an inexpensive night you'll be sure to want to stay again! I enjoyed the feel of a home bedroom with beds that are so comfortable we slept like a baby! I highly recommend trying it out for yourself its a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubenV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We are excited to serve you in the future.

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just read other recent TripAdvisor reviews for this hotel, and have to say I wasn't offered a free bottle of wine or informed about the free use of the workout facilities across the street! I wasn't nearly as impressed with this hotel as other reviewers appear to be. It looks nice, but my room at the top of the stairs on the third floor faced the open hotel lobby court, so I heard everything happening down there -- the coin collectors meeting, group conversation, young children screaming with glee as they ran around the seating areas, and the moment at about 5:00 a.m. when someone setting up for breakfast service dropped a stack of glasses or plates. The walls between rooms are also quite thin. I stayed at this location several years ago when it was the Radisson, and chose it again for its location, close to where I needed to be. While it has a nice new veneer as the Domain, the spacious lobby area is in fact a sound well and you would be well advised to seek a room inconvenient to the center of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. On your next stay, please see me directly, so we can sign up with us for our Joy of Life Membership Club. The club is 100% free to join and you recieve excellent booking specials and complimentary upgrades upon availiblity at each of our properties.

I would like to personally apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your last stay. We have a number of different room types ranging at different price points, to accomadate an array of travelers needs. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve our service. I’m aware that you have many options when choosing where to stay while traveling and we thank you for continuing to choose us.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations!

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel room is nice and clear, bath room is a little bit old but it's ok. Bed is comfortable that you can adjust the softness of the bed by a controller. Hotel lobby looks great, and the location is good.
You can use the fitness center across the street for free, not a fancy one but you should have all the equipment to workout.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roderick_Hsiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve.

The hotel has plans for a full renovation of our on property fitenss center that is planed to be finished by May of this year. We are planning to upgrade our water pressure system in all guest rooms by the end of this month. The addition of pressure pumps, new shower heads in all rooms, and higher flow sink restrictors, will make the Domain bathroom state of the art.


Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time and I will personally oversee your stay to ensure the up most satisfaction and tour with you our new facilities. We look forward to serving you in the future.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations!

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time - great and I'll be coming back here every time I visit! thanks to Jeff for the great service! be sure to sign up for membership - you get a free bottle of wine with each stay and the chance to be upgraded to the fancy rooms

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tanuja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for becoming a Joy of Life Memeber at The Domain Hotel. It is a membership that rivals the best! Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve!

At your service!


Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
0.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Property: The Domain Hotel
Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing