We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

America's best value inn it wasn't, at least this particular hotel. Staff acted as though staying there was an imposition. Further, check-in person was nearly inarticulate in English and it made for frustration and misunderstanding (which is not what one wants to encounter after a days driving in tough traffic). Later, another of the staff was able to act as an interpreter and was very accomodating but it cannot erase the initial experience. The room was remodeled but without much attention to the comfort and requirements of a traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
8
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The plane is run by a family living in the back office. There is always a crying baby when you come . The mother and father are probably running the hotel and you always seem to disturb if you come. The breakfast is very very basic - unfirdged milk, cerals and a cake in a nylon bag - and is "served" in the office, where no place is there to sit. The milk is served in its galoon plastic container which is out of fridge for hours every day. There is no coffee in the "lobby". There is no coffee machine in rooms. The "office" is closed around 2100, after which you will have to wake up the poor family to get service or hot water.
The rooms are ok. A bit old but not too bad.
Quite noisy (on HWy 101)
Overall, it is overpriced (I payed 85 USD for a night)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yommi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here a couple times. Staff has always been friendly. Rooms are good sized and clean. beds are comfortable. rooms have fridge, microwave, ironing board,iron and hair dryers. Have not tried the continental breakfast so I cannot comment.. Have not had a problem with noise as other reviewers have. As any place I guess it depends on where your room is located. Parking spots are a little tight and not a lot to start with. Overall a good value for the $$ spent

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My room was clean and comfortable but the highwaynoise was a little annoying.
The so-called continental breakfast was terrible. The first morning the orange juice was watered down, but the apple juice was OK. I told the manager about it. However, the next morning, both the orange and apple juices were watered down. I guess they were trying to save money. The pastry "selection" consisted of plastic wrapped items, all the same.
I have a large truck and it was very hard to park in their tiny parking lot.
All the aggravation is not worth the low price.

Room Tip: Find a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisunnyvale, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for posting your review we appreciate your comments. We are conveniently located in Sunnyvale and we have easy on and off freeway access off of the Fair Oaks Blvd. exit. We do provide a continental breakfast which consists of two kinds of cereal, assorted danish, fruit, coffee and tea and 2 varieties o f juice. The juice is in dispensers and they are preset to insure that the juices are dispensed properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel has few amenities, but a low price. The room was OK. To dine, you need to drive at least a mile. The room I had faced US-101 at a distance of about 100 feet. This translates to noise from 4 AM to midnight making sleep a challenge. The cure I found was to turn the HVAC unit on to mask the noise.

Room Tip: Not sure how you avoid the freeway din.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daSVGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisunnyvale, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. we appreciate your comments. There are restaurants within a short drive of the the hotel. We do also provide room service menu's as well. We have installed doubled Payne windows to help noise abatement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Clean and big room, there was a small jacuzzi in the bathroom. When we arrived the wifi did not work, but the receptionist was extremly helpfull, restarted the system and after that everything worked perfectly. The continental breakfast is quite small - as usual in these hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisunnyvale, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your taking the time to post them. We do provide free Wi Fi , contintental breakfast, micro wave and refrigerator, iron and iron boards, hairdryers, satellite TV with HBO and ESPN. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our Inn and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here. Based on other favorable reviews I thought this was the best value for money.

The room was average sized, clean, appeared to have been recently remodeled with new paint and a granite countertop for the sink area and the bathroom also looked newly redone. There was a small fridge, microwave and tv.

The tv was set to only show Pg 13 shows and so most channels were blocked.

They did not have baby cribs.

The free wifi was very fast. They had thoughtfully placed good quality hangers on the rail next to the sink area.

There were a couple of negative points that marred my otherwise favorable impression and based on which I won't stay here again:

All rooms face the 101 freeway. Traffic sounds are constant and quite loud, even at night. Felt like I was camped out next to the freeway.

The a/c unit below the window gave off a smell eerily like urine. Don't know why. Kept it turned off.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Repeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisunnyvale, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. we appreciate your comments. We take your comments seriously and use them to evaluate our Inn and provide additional training as needed. We have investigated the AC odor and this was a unit we have found no odor present. The Televisions and the TV service have been updated recently. We have installed double payned windows in our Inn as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
5.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
3.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain...
#18 of 18 in Mountain View
52 reviews
14.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 7 in San Carlos
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
124 reviews
23.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 16 in Livermore
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 385 E Weddell Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing