We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best no-frills place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've been spending an extended time in the Silicon Valley area so I'm booking cheaper hotels to save some money. Cheap is relative here. I'm finding that I need to pay around $100 a night for a place to sleep that isn't a dump. This, by far, is the best place I've found. Note that there is no restaurant or pool. They offer free hot breakfast and coffee in the mornings although I can't comment on it since I haven't eaten there yet (it did smell pretty good though).

The good: the rooms are very clean and in good shape albeit pretty basic; the bed and sheets are very comfortable (I'd rate them better than many high end hotels that I've stayed in!); flat panel tv's with a great channel selection; nice front desk staff; they have washers and dryers which are very convenient (cost is $1 each and I found one dryer on the second floor to take a LONG time to dry my clothes so plan accordingly)

The ok: the hotel smells a bit - not bad mind you, it just has a smell to it; the hallways aren't in as good condition as the rooms - not bad, just a little worn unlike the rooms; here are two buildings and one is separated from the other so if you check in and are in the other building you literally have to drive back out and into another driveway down the block to get to it - an odd layout; there was a very small workout room with a treadmill, tv, and multi function weight machine - nothing fancy but at least there's something.

The bad: nothing.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the same parking lot as the front desk (you'll see what I mean when you get...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuggets00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 353 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

At around 300 square feet including the bathroom, the king bed guest room bore no resemblance to the "spaciously-appointed" rooms described on this hotel’s website. It was way too small for two people to spend time in unless one person stayed in bed. Two suitcase stands could not be set up at once for our small carry-on bags - there simply wasn’t room for both. If that wasn't enough, numerous management and maintenance problems made this a really unpleasant place to spend any time. The window was frosted to block the view of the fence 3 feet away – it felt like an inside cabin on a cruise ship. The lights were all the really unpleasant "warehouse white" fluorescents that cost a few pennies less than the warm white variety used in decent US hotels. The faucet was plumbed backwards so hot and cold were reversed. The door to the room stuck every time we used it and needed good shove to open. A 4 foot long crack ran up one of the walls. Worst of all, the toilet was installed incorrectly and leaned significantly to once side causing an apparent leak of sewer gas and a persistent rotting garbage odor in the bathroom. When there are this many problems in a room every other amenity, nice furnishing, bed, etc., are like lipstick on a pig. I've stayed at many Best Western hotels. This one is by far the worst I’ve ever experienced. It was a truly unpleasant place to stay and will make me think twice before booking a room at another Best Western property.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank srainyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at this Best Western for the Great America package. For that use, I really like it. I only give it three stars because while it is clean and comfortable, the amenities are not really that nice. The microwave is very old and takes forever. There is hardly any room in the fridge and I have had to get a replacement DVD player on two of my three visits here. However, the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The front desk people never say much and aren't very personable, but they are always fairly nice. Some of the rooms are in a separate building that you have to drive to a separate parking lot to get to, but it's not that big of a deal. It just makes it a little ways to walk the next morning for breakfast. One of the reasons I like this place is the breakfast. It is good and has variety with eggs, tater tots, waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, pastries, etc. It is just about ten minutes away from Great America. If you get there and check in early, you can take advantage of a special offer on the Great America ticket. You can still use the ticket the next day, but you can also go the night you check in to the hotel for just ten dollars a person.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Office staff was very friendly and helpful. What a great surprise when we got into our room! Very clean, well appointed room with microwave, fridge, DVD player and flat screen TV. The bed was huge and very confortable. With very nice linens. The breakfast was great with homemade waffles you made yourself and all the trimmings. It was only 4 miles or so from the Shoreline Amphitheatre, we were there to attend the M.U.S.E. Benefit concert with Crosby, Stills and Nash, Jackson Browne, Bonnie Rait, Jason Mraz, the Doobie Brothers. The office called us a cab and we were on our way! I really like this place and will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjnightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

we stayed only a night on this hotel and it is your average BW. They say in their add that they have newly renovated rooms but we didnt get that. Ours was the plain BW style with a very very ancient micro-wave (I guess it was made during my grandma's life!). However, rooms are nice and clean, bed and bed linen and decor are good. You cant get wrong spending a night here. Breakfast was better than your usual BW type, no yogurt included but they did offered apples and bananas and a wide variety of cereals plus waffles and scrambled eggs and very good hash brown potatoes. It is good value for money and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Clean and good some appliances could use some upgrade though.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milepost2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Front desk clerk (Johnny) is very rude and unprofessional, not to mention the management staff that seem to condone this behavior. But if you’re from India you should have no problems. Otherwise they seem to think that they are doing you a favor when they should realize you are a paying customer. Don’t bother asking for extra towels and as for room service if you forget to put the sign on door you will not get any. Also housekeeping will come knocking at your door at eight in the morning if you forget to put the sign. You’re better off paying a bit more to stay at a 5star hotel where all customers are given the same service.

Room Tip: Look for a 5 star hotel before you stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fitzpatricknel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I visited Sunnyvale with my family. This was perfect for us, very close to freeways.
Closed to restaurants and Great America park. Rooms are great and breakfast was the
best. All hotel employees were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliom254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
954 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
969 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Silicon Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Silicon Valley Inn

Address: 600 N Mathilda Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $125 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Silicon Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Silicon Valley Inn is a AAA Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley/San Francisco Bay Area hotel offering special value lodging. Hotel is centrally located near Paramount's Great America, Winchester Mystery house and Bay Area events and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Silicon Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Best Western Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing