We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright. But we got an anonymous call from someone...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
SAN JOSE
1
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was alright. But we got an anonymous call from someone and when I left the hotel I realized I was bitten by bugs... the restaurant food was good server was nice and hot tub and breakfast was enjoyable too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was acceptable.

We conduct "Welcome Call" shortly after guests check-in to make sure that everything is ok with their rooms yet we're concerned about your comments "We got an anonymous call from somone." In order to understand and address your dissatisfaction, I would appreciate it if you would contact the hotel at your convenience to discuss your experience further as it is through specific guest comments that we are able to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay each and every time they stay with us.

We thank you for your business and comments.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 533 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

The last time I stayed at this property, the carpet had a huge stain on the carpet. This time, everything was in order. The manager even called shortly after I checked in to inquire if everything was satisfactory -- I was impressed. Had a very restful stay, thank you very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear mgtpro,

Thank you for giving us another opportunity to be in your service. We are pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was satisfactory.

Please know your feedback, positive or negative is important to us. Feedbacks such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

mgtpro, should you return to the Silicon Valley area, we look forward to welcoming you back. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Best price/quality ratio hotel in the area. You get what you pay for - clean room, breakfast, free wifi - and even a little bit more.
Some rooms are facing the highway so it might get noisy - bear this in mind.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear s s,

We appreciate sharing your feedbacks about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that we met your hotel needs.

While cost of the hotel in the Silicon Valley area can be expensive, we offer our accommodation at reasonable cost with many amenities including free continental breakfast and wireless internet and more.

Should you return to the area, we look forward to welcoming you back. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Ramada Silicon Valley came recommended by a local business man. The lobby is separated from the rest of the hotel and is not representative of the room quality. Parking for the room (accessed by outside breezeway) was dimly lit and backed by trees which lowered the ability of this traveler to stay aware of his surroundings. Room service was discontinued at this hotel 2 years ago. There is a convenient 7-11 right around the corner where inexpensive alcohol can be purchased...I'm not sure what the local business man had against this traveler!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank RETLAW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear RETLAW G,

Thank you for taking the time out of your bus schedule to share your feedbacks about your recent stay with us. Despite the recommendation from a local business man, we regret to learn that we didn't meet your hotel expectations. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and it was very unfortunate that we didn't meet your standards.

Please feel free to contact the hotel if you would like to discuss further. RETLAW G, we apologize again fro the less than satisfactory stay with us.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank CHRISTOPHER G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I came into town to visit with family and chose the Ramada Inn because it seemed like a great value for the money. Sadly, we were wrong. The main issues are 1. The lack of functioning internet, and 2. The ghetto building and location. 3. I ended up with FOOD POISONING from their breakfast sausages.

Internet: We are currently 3 days into our week stay and so far we have had to call the front desk 15+ times in regards to the internet not functioning properly, which is pretty much every time we have tried to use it. The connection is as slow as dial-up when we can even get it to load at all, and staff has not found any solution to the problem. Apparently, the hotel has very little bandwidth, and apparently if the are folks downloading movies then no one else can use the internet at all. Taking into account that even when the staff kicks those user, their computers are automatically reconnecting, there is no way for anyone else to grab a piece of bandwidth. REALLY FRUSTRATING!

Rooms: The Ramada is in a building that has got to have been around since the 70's and the interiors have probably not been renovated since at least the early 90's. There are small holes in the walls from where there used to be different lapms installed that have some kind of paper-like fill stuffed into them. The sink has the porcelain chipped off so that gross rusted metal is showing through and their are stains running from the upper drain down to the lower one. The fridge seems to work, but without a microwave , you can't reheat anything. And the coffee-maker uses special coffee inserts so that is you just want to heat up water (without an insert) for the (provided!) tea bags, the water spews everywhere but in your cup.

Location: The location is run down and nothing like any of the other Ramada Inn's I've been to. Every other Ramada I have stayed at had the room doors on inside hallways. The doors here are the outdoor/motel style and the parking lot is old/gross. The area is definitely ghetto, and though we haven't had any problems with break ins yet, it seems like an area where that is a definite possibility.

Continental Breakfast: I ended up in the hospital with food poisoning. I think that pretty much sums it up.

I would not recommend anyone to stay here and we will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Jamie M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations while you were in the area to visit your family.

According to our records, you have contacted the front desk numerous times about the internet issue you were experiencing during your stay as you mentioned. Every time you called the front desk to report the issue, our front desk staff tried to assist you by checking the wi-fi usage status as well as we offered to change your room for possible better internet connection. We put the room with wireless router on the side for you to move yet unfortunately, you declined to change your room numerous times. There is also a number to call for technical support on the piece of paper with the internet passowrd information. By reviewing our records, we couldn't find complaints about wi-fi issue from other hotel guests for the dates your stay.

We are an older property and in process of updating our property. We are very sorry if you felt the area and the building was “ghetto.” City of Sunnyvale is one of the safest cities in the country and it is very unfortunate that you were concerned about your safety during your stay. We also have security at night to perform foot patrol every night. In regards to the coffee maker, we tested and found no defect to the machine and the water didn't spew everywhere as you mentioned. The coffee maker we provide in the room (insert special coffee filter) is a new style that many hotels choose to use nowadays. We do provide a microwave in the breakfast area which is accessible for all the hotel guests 24hrs a day/7 days a week.

Lastly, we don't know how to comment on “Food Poisoning” from breakfast sausages. Again, we have checked our Manager On Duty reports for the dates of your stay and we couldn't find anything to indicate that the guests suffered food poisoning from our breakfast. In fact, we had no such incidents reported. Our sausages are prepared every morning and pastries are also delivered every morning from a local bakery.

Jamie M, we apologize again for the less than satisfactory stay with us. Please feel free to contact the hotel if you would like to discuss further about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank SeekWa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
950 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Address: 1217 Wildwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $109 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing