We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a Ramada quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is not like any Ramada I've stayed in...... I had stayed in la Quinta that will make this hotel look like a motel.... I would not have a problem with the rooms if it did not have the name Ramada attached to it, not a Ramada quality hotel,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Jonathan N,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review about recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback, both positive or negative, so that we strive to continuously implement corrective measures where necessary.

Jonathan N, we sincerely apologize again for your unpleasant stay with us.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to our daughter's house, and were pleased with the overall experience. The carpets are a little grubby, but the service is quite good and the pool is wonderful! We needed to extend our stay twice while we were there; the first time they were able to upgrade our room and the second time they let us stay in the same room for extra nights, despite being quite fully booked. We were very pleased with the overall experience and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The room with a king bed and a couch is only a little extra money but provides significantly better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear PamD127,

We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us while visiting your daughter in the area. We were also pleased to learn that we were able to accommodate your needs including extending your stay. We appreciate your feedbacks and thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley.

Should you return to the Bay Area, we look forward to welcoming you back!

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were promised a room we got a room instead, that's not the problem we settled, the real problem is there is a bar attached to that hotel people kept coming back yelling and screaming all night we got no sleep whatswhoever, when we approached the general manager about it he said it's beyond his control and was very rude, bottom line if you want a good night sleep don't go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssaleh711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Despite the room being a nonsmoker, had a very strong smell of cigarette. The bathroom could be cleaner, as well as the hotel in general. It is well located for business travelers to the Silicon Valley. We'd spend only two nights and all day outside. So, as a hotel for the night only, it is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear DSGomes,

Thank you for your feedback. Please know your feedback, positive or negative is important to us that your comments will be addressed to an appropriate departments.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be in your service. We appreciate your business.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Based on the reviews here and a previous bad experience at a different Ramada, I didn't have very high expectations, but I was pleasantly surprised. I needed a reasonable place to book for a one-night trip to the area for a concert with a couple of friends.

The property and decor are certainly dated, but everything was clean and comfortable. The bedding was definitely better than the other Ramada I stayed at with family (where the blankets were see-through). The staff were friendly enough. The free breakfast is good -- waffles, pastries/bagels, cereals. The only complaint we had was the coffee, but really, for the price, we felt we got a good deal.

If you're looking for modern, updated accommodations, you're going to pay for it in this area -- at least double what we paid here. Again, we felt like we got a good deal.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the courtyard. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAWriterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear RosevilleTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.

Your feedbacks are appreciated. We thank you for giving us an opportunity to be in your service. Hope you had a wonderful time at the concert.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is not a 5-star hotel, but you get what you pay for. They gave us an excellent group rate on short notice at a busy time. The room was clean and the grounds in good repair. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Everything you need is close by within a reasonable car ride. Yes the place is old, but it does not show inside the rooms. If you don't come in with expectations of grandeur you will be well satisfied. We had two groups. One stayed here and one at a hotel costing $50 more a night, and that was on its' best group rate. We were just as comfortable and satisfied as they were.

Room Tip: Try to get an interior room overlooking the pool, and as far away from the freeway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Collette K,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review about recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that your stay was satisfactory.

Yes we are not a 5 star and we are an older property; however we pride ourselves in providing the best guest services as possible and glad to hear that you felt our staff was helpful and knowledgeable.

Should you return to the Silicon Valley area, we look forward to welcoming you back!

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When I arrived, the reception clerk told me that due to heavy booking, I would need to stay in a 2nd floor room. There were probably at least 5 cars in the lot, and over the night, about 2 dozen more arrived. I think one dormitory building is out of service, and they were kidding about the heavy bookings.

The room was nothing fancy, but due to the low occupancy, it was quiet and restful. The TV was aging, and huge, but the channel line up was adequate. There was no card in the room to use in decoding what broadcaster was on what channel, so you have to hunt. There is ample hot water for your bathing, and due to lack of other demand, the temperature and flow are pretty constant; no scalding spells, and no freezing, either. The refrigerator must have been set to about 45 F, so don't plan on having a cold one in your room.

I did not try the captive restaurant, but did try the complimentary breakfast. The focus seemed to be the standard 150 second waffle maker. It was so busy I had to give up and have an English muffin instead. I also had a boiled egg and some sausage. Not wonderful, but sufficient. There are other restaurants around, but not close.

One of the challenges is figuring out how to get back to Lawrence Expwy. The best approach is to proceed east from the Ramada, and turn left onto Sandia which will take you back to Lawrence.

If I had to pay more than $80/nite for my room, I would probably lower my overall rating, but it was what I needed, a cheap, clean place to sleep for a few days.

Room Tip: Get a room in the part of the hotel that is farthest from US-101 (north side) so you won't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daSVGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear daSVGrouch,

Thank you for posting your review about recent stay with us.

Based on your comments, we couldn't determine of the dates you stayed with us; however please know we've been close to full capacity/some nights were completely booked for the last few months. Our hotel is located in 5 acre lot and you can't tell the size of our parking lot as well as the hotel from the frontage road that many guests have initial impression that we are not busy. On the contrary to your comments, all buildings are open and none of the buildings are "out of service."

We were pleased to learn that you felt the room was clean and reasonably priced. We appreciate feedbacks, both positive and negative from our valued guests to improve our service. We know you have a choice in hotels and we thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
2.9 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.7 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
1,013 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#17 of 33 in Sunnyvale
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Address: 1217 Wildwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $109 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing