We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is not a 5-star hotel, but you get what you pay for. They gave us an excellent group rate on short notice at a busy time. The room was clean and the grounds in good repair. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Everything you need is close by within a reasonable car ride. Yes the place is old, but it does not show inside the rooms. If you don't come in with expectations of grandeur you will be well satisfied. We had two groups. One stayed here and one at a hotel costing $50 more a night, and that was on its' best group rate. We were just as comfortable and satisfied as they were.

Room Tip: Try to get an interior room overlooking the pool, and as far away from the freeway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Collette K,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review about recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that your stay was satisfactory.

Yes we are not a 5 star and we are an older property; however we pride ourselves in providing the best guest services as possible and glad to hear that you felt our staff was helpful and knowledgeable.

Should you return to the Silicon Valley area, we look forward to welcoming you back!

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 552 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

When I arrived, the reception clerk told me that due to heavy booking, I would need to stay in a 2nd floor room. There were probably at least 5 cars in the lot, and over the night, about 2 dozen more arrived. I think one dormitory building is out of service, and they were kidding about the heavy bookings.

The room was nothing fancy, but due to the low occupancy, it was quiet and restful. The TV was aging, and huge, but the channel line up was adequate. There was no card in the room to use in decoding what broadcaster was on what channel, so you have to hunt. There is ample hot water for your bathing, and due to lack of other demand, the temperature and flow are pretty constant; no scalding spells, and no freezing, either. The refrigerator must have been set to about 45 F, so don't plan on having a cold one in your room.

I did not try the captive restaurant, but did try the complimentary breakfast. The focus seemed to be the standard 150 second waffle maker. It was so busy I had to give up and have an English muffin instead. I also had a boiled egg and some sausage. Not wonderful, but sufficient. There are other restaurants around, but not close.

One of the challenges is figuring out how to get back to Lawrence Expwy. The best approach is to proceed east from the Ramada, and turn left onto Sandia which will take you back to Lawrence.

If I had to pay more than $80/nite for my room, I would probably lower my overall rating, but it was what I needed, a cheap, clean place to sleep for a few days.

Room Tip: Get a room in the part of the hotel that is farthest from US-101 (north side) so you won't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daSVGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear daSVGrouch,

Thank you for posting your review about recent stay with us.

Based on your comments, we couldn't determine of the dates you stayed with us; however please know we've been close to full capacity/some nights were completely booked for the last few months. Our hotel is located in 5 acre lot and you can't tell the size of our parking lot as well as the hotel from the frontage road that many guests have initial impression that we are not busy. On the contrary to your comments, all buildings are open and none of the buildings are "out of service."

We were pleased to learn that you felt the room was clean and reasonably priced. We appreciate feedbacks, both positive and negative from our valued guests to improve our service. We know you have a choice in hotels and we thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This property is at least 30-40 years old and shows every year of it. Formerly a Holiday Inn, It’s location is somewhat secluded off a side street. Typically I stay exclusively at a different lodging chain but was booked here for two nights due to a company meeting- and checked out after one. The structure is a two floor U-shaped old style motel. No elevators! So if you’re on the second floor, you must haul your luggage up stairs. You’re a bit fooled when you enter because the lobby is somewhat attractive, you’re greeted by a grand piano and a small lobby bar. The rooms though are another story. My colleagues room smelt of cigarette smoke, mine had a musty odor. My room had old carpet, outdated furniture, old wallpaper, old TV (no LCD panel) and a fridge that didn’t close properly. The ironing board had what looked like candy smudged on it. Unfortunately I also found a nice hairball on the carpet. The desk had a table lamp bolted to the table. Breakfast was weak- sugary cereal, waffles, yogurt and pastries. They had juice/milk but it was warm- no one thought to perhaps sit them in a tub of ice for serving. Daytime staff was friendly, the night clerk however was not accommodating to a simple request i had and did not speak English adequately. They have one solitary computer in the lobby and you have to stand to use it- some of the keyboard keys are worn off. Room internet speed was good. They do have a restaurant (Japanese) but apparently you can’t charge to your room, which is quite inconvenient. Decent sized outdoor pool. At one time, I bet this was an attractive property, now it either needs a major renovation or to be totally razed.
Bottom line- this is a poor choice for the business traveler- I just did not feel comfortable. For the leisure traveler, it might be somewhat acceptable if price is your major consideration.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, ask for a 1st floor room so you don't have to haul your luggage up stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear edtoby007,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate feedbacks, both positive and negative, from our valued guests.

Based on your reviews listed on Tripadvisor, we see you frequently stay with Marriott brand that we want to thank you for the opportunity to be in your service and we were sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Please know your comments/feedbacks will be addressed to our management team. Feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to discuss further.

We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for business. Room was nothing fancy, but clean, which is all I care about. The Ramada Inn is located close to a shopping center with AMC theater and restaurants such as In & Out burger, which makes for a nice 10 min. walk. The Japanese restaurant on-site is ok as well. Breakfast was nothing fancy either, but enough choice to have a good solid breakfast. You get what you pay for, and for the low price ($75/night), I thought the quality of what I received was very good. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Dick d,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that we met your hotel needs.

As you stated, we are not a "fancy" hotel with frills; however we pride ourselves in providing freindly and courteous service. We are glad to hear that you felt price was reasonable for the area.

Should you return to the Silicon Valley, we look forward to welcoming you back. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The only thing I think is going to bad but when I came late at night
only after 1h i got the key to a room that i could not be open with the key ,after 3 time going to front desk, it will found out the room is occupied and in the end i got different room .



all is basic in this hotel and this is ok ,but the service is bad long time to check in ,long time to check out

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Fly TO,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedbacks about recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory.

As we pride ourselves in providing friendly and courteous service, we were sorry to learn that your experience didn't meet your expectations. Please know your comments will be addressed to our management staff including the General Manager.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be in your service and again please accept our sincere apologies.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Ramada in Sunnyvale, CA for 8 nights with our three children. We were very impressed with everything. The rooms were clean; the pool my kids used a lot was cleaned on a regular basses as well. We were served breakfast and we were all very happy with the choices. Few other motels we stayed in served breakfast as well but this was nothing compared to what we got in Ramada. Staff was very helpful, very courteous and responded immediately to all of our requests. We would definitely visit again if we were in the area. One more thing to say is that their rates are very good, very affordable, especially compared to what we were getting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear travelingmira,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that your recent stay met your hotel needs. We value feedbacks both positive or negative from our valued guests to create an enjoyable stay with us.

Should you return to the Silicon Valley area, we look forward to welcoming you back.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Anytime I'm in the valley on business this is where I stay. Great locations, people and customer service. Great job guys, keep it up!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear John M,

We appreciate your feedbacks about your recent stay with us. We are also delighted to learn that this is the place you will be choosing when you visit the Silicon Valley.

We appreciate your loyalty and business. We look forward to welcoming you back.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
2.9 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.7 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
1,013 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#17 of 33 in Sunnyvale
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Address: 1217 Wildwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $109 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing