We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice for the business traveler...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This property is at least 30-40 years old and shows every year of it. Formerly a Holiday Inn, It’s location is somewhat secluded off a side street. Typically I stay exclusively at a different lodging chain but was booked here for two nights due to a company meeting- and checked out after one. The structure is a two floor U-shaped old style motel. No elevators! So if you’re on the second floor, you must haul your luggage up stairs. You’re a bit fooled when you enter because the lobby is somewhat attractive, you’re greeted by a grand piano and a small lobby bar. The rooms though are another story. My colleagues room smelt of cigarette smoke, mine had a musty odor. My room had old carpet, outdated furniture, old wallpaper, old TV (no LCD panel) and a fridge that didn’t close properly. The ironing board had what looked like candy smudged on it. Unfortunately I also found a nice hairball on the carpet. The desk had a table lamp bolted to the table. Breakfast was weak- sugary cereal, waffles, yogurt and pastries. They had juice/milk but it was warm- no one thought to perhaps sit them in a tub of ice for serving. Daytime staff was friendly, the night clerk however was not accommodating to a simple request i had and did not speak English adequately. They have one solitary computer in the lobby and you have to stand to use it- some of the keyboard keys are worn off. Room internet speed was good. They do have a restaurant (Japanese) but apparently you can’t charge to your room, which is quite inconvenient. Decent sized outdoor pool. At one time, I bet this was an attractive property, now it either needs a major renovation or to be totally razed.
Bottom line- this is a poor choice for the business traveler- I just did not feel comfortable. For the leisure traveler, it might be somewhat acceptable if price is your major consideration.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, ask for a 1st floor room so you don't have to haul your luggage up stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear edtoby007,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate feedbacks, both positive and negative, from our valued guests.

Based on your reviews listed on Tripadvisor, we see you frequently stay with Marriott brand that we want to thank you for the opportunity to be in your service and we were sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Please know your comments/feedbacks will be addressed to our management team. Feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to discuss further.

We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 556 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for business. Room was nothing fancy, but clean, which is all I care about. The Ramada Inn is located close to a shopping center with AMC theater and restaurants such as In & Out burger, which makes for a nice 10 min. walk. The Japanese restaurant on-site is ok as well. Breakfast was nothing fancy either, but enough choice to have a good solid breakfast. You get what you pay for, and for the low price ($75/night), I thought the quality of what I received was very good. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Dick d,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that we met your hotel needs.

As you stated, we are not a "fancy" hotel with frills; however we pride ourselves in providing freindly and courteous service. We are glad to hear that you felt price was reasonable for the area.

Should you return to the Silicon Valley, we look forward to welcoming you back. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The only thing I think is going to bad but when I came late at night
only after 1h i got the key to a room that i could not be open with the key ,after 3 time going to front desk, it will found out the room is occupied and in the end i got different room .



all is basic in this hotel and this is ok ,but the service is bad long time to check in ,long time to check out

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Fly TO,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedbacks about recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory.

As we pride ourselves in providing friendly and courteous service, we were sorry to learn that your experience didn't meet your expectations. Please know your comments will be addressed to our management staff including the General Manager.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be in your service and again please accept our sincere apologies.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Ramada in Sunnyvale, CA for 8 nights with our three children. We were very impressed with everything. The rooms were clean; the pool my kids used a lot was cleaned on a regular basses as well. We were served breakfast and we were all very happy with the choices. Few other motels we stayed in served breakfast as well but this was nothing compared to what we got in Ramada. Staff was very helpful, very courteous and responded immediately to all of our requests. We would definitely visit again if we were in the area. One more thing to say is that their rates are very good, very affordable, especially compared to what we were getting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear travelingmira,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that your recent stay met your hotel needs. We value feedbacks both positive or negative from our valued guests to create an enjoyable stay with us.

Should you return to the Silicon Valley area, we look forward to welcoming you back.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Anytime I'm in the valley on business this is where I stay. Great locations, people and customer service. Great job guys, keep it up!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear John M,

We appreciate your feedbacks about your recent stay with us. We are also delighted to learn that this is the place you will be choosing when you visit the Silicon Valley.

We appreciate your loyalty and business. We look forward to welcoming you back.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very clean. Grounds were well kept. Restaurant is closed. Breakfast was basic and the usual stuff-only complaint was there was only one waffle maker and there were about 10 people in line (on a Saturday morning) waiting for it. The pool area was nice. Location is right near the freeway so it was convenient. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tduthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear tduthu,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that we met your hotel needs.

The restaurant on site is open for lunch Mondays to Fridays and Mondays to Saturdays for dinner. We apologize if the restaurant was closed during your stay. In regards to the waffle maker, please know your comments will be addressed to our General Manager as well as the owners.

Again, we thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hotel is clean, well located, and price is decent for the Silicon Valley Area. The available Breakfast was decent as far as freshness and variety goes. Staff is friendly. If you are there on a weekend when they are having a special event in their ballroom, be advised that the partyers may keep you up late at night as they tend to take the party to their rooms when it ends---and they also leave no ice in the sparse ice machines for the rest of the guests. We couldn't even get ice for our water bottles Sunday morning and we checked all 3 of the ice machines---which aren't enough for a hotel this size!! If that doesn't bother you this is a good buy for an overnight stay. This is our second stay on a weekend. Weeknights may be better!!

Room Tip: upstairs may be quieter and to the back if there is an event at the hotel that weekend. Ask the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YAYASister70128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear YAYASister70128,

Thank you for your comments! Glad to learn that you are stay with us was acceptable yet we sincerely apologize about the noise you had experienced on weekends.

Parties are sometimes taking place in the hotel as well as the restaurant (which is located inside of the hotel yet it is under the separate management.) We take your feedback seriously and we will take cautionary measure about parties taking place on weekends. Our sincere hope is that you had let us know when there was any noise issue as it is our goal here at Ramada Silicon Valley for every guest to have a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your business. We hope to welcoming you back in the future.

- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
1,043 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.7 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Address: 1217 Wildwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $109 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing