We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in a city that usually has none” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value in a city that usually has none”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We are pleasantly surprised. It looks a bit like an 80s motel from the parking lot. However, it is a great place to stay in. The bed was really comfortable and the room was really clean. The room was modern enough and very spacious for the price. The only thing missing is a microwave. It has a fridge, but no way to heat up what is in the fridge. If they remedied this, they could earn the fifth star.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear William P,

Glad to learn that your recent stay with us was "pleasantly surprised one." We thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

Although we provide a micorwave in the lobby area, we get many feedbacks about putting a microwave in the guestrooms. We value both positive and negative feedbacks from our guests; however as you mentioned, being an older property is the challenge with limited outlets in the room. Please know your comments will be addressed to our owners and see if there's anything we can do to make your future stay "5 star experience."

William P, we thank you again for your time and business. We appreciate them both and we look forward to welcoming you in the future!

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    154
    138
    76
    52
See reviews for
136
55
37
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kreskin2207
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed here recently on a business trip and would definitely return if in the area. The check-in process was very quick and friendly. I had a package delivered earlier in the day and it was at the front desk when I arrived. The room, while very old school '80s motel feel, was very clean. My only downside was the shower which gave me quite the leg workout. I had to keep my knees bent to keep my body under the water as the shower head was so incredibly low. Breakfast the next morning was really good too, especially considering it was free. A very nice selection of danishes and muffins, cereal, bagels, etc. Price was super great too, which drew me here in the first place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Kreskin2207,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that we met your hotel needs.

As you mentioned, we are an older property; however we strive ourselves in providing friendly guest services as well as the clean guestrooms. We sincerely apologize about getting some "leg workout" while taking the shower. To be honest with you, I am not quite sure if we could raise the shower head in our existing bathroom, but I will check with our maintenance staff to find out.

As for our complimentary continental breakfast, we recently changed the settings of the breakfast that you may have to fly out to California to check one out! Should you return to the Bay Area, we look forward to welcoming you.

We thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Delightful front desk staff. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. And great price. Not new, kind of reminds me of home.

Room Tip: We got aassigned room in the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sweetsioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear sweetsioux,

We pride ourselves in providing a friendly customer service that we were pleased to hear your reviews! We thank you for choosing the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Should you return to the Silicon Valley area, we look forward to welcoming you back!

We appreciate your business.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We have stayed here twice - last year during the Christmas season, and at Thanksgivng this year. They have the very best weekday breakfasts we have had anywhere!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_from_Gallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Linda_from_Gallup,

Thank you for posting your review about recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that your recent stay with us met your expectations. We are pleased to learn that we offer "best weekday brakfasts" despite the many negative comments from other hotel guests in the past.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I stay at this location for well over a year whenever we visit family up north. Sure, it's not a fancy, 5-star hotel, but we're not stuck up folk who are picky. One of the main reasons we stay here are for the beds! They are so comfy!! Another reason we stay here is because it is pet friendly. Our dog is like our baby and we take him everywhere with us, so this is a big plus for us! Of all the times we've stayed here, there was only one time where the customer service was unsatisfactory. Luckily the next time we went, there was a better manager working the desk who knows her stuff. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay and we'll gladly stay there again for the upcoming holidays.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Jacinta S,

Well stated! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are definitely not a fancy 5-star hotel and certainly we can't be! However, we pride in friendliness of staff as well as the cleanliness of the guestrooms.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our "Serta pillowtop Mattress" and had comfy sleep. We know the trend of people traveling with their pet that we contnue to welcome "woof" and "meow" to this hotel.

Should you return to the area, we look forward to welcoming you back. We appreciate your business!

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

they have not done anything with this hotel in 40+ years. It still looks like the 1960s Holiday Inn from the outside, rooms are old and worn out on the inside.

Smell inside the room is like my 90 year old grandmothers house -yuck
Ants in the bathroom
TV very old - remote long gone and replacement remote only does volume/channel
Hair dryer 20 years old and overheats and shuts down
Ice machines are broken
furniture was probably updated in the 70s
shower is very old
water smell like they are pumping sewage into it.

Question is: What are they doing with all the money they are taking in, because not a dime is going back into this dump.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear grantedtravel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about recent stay with us at Ramada Silicon Valley. Your business is important to us and your comments will be addressed to our management staff as well as the owners of the hotel.

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We, here at Ramada Silicon Valley, strive to provide friendly service and cleanliness of the rooms, which we failed to provide to meet your expectations. With this said, please accept our apologies.

Thank you for your time and business.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed here by making a booking mistake through Hotwire. The photos on the Hotwire site must have been 20 years ago when the hotel was first opened. When I got to my room, I notices that the room smelled mildewed and after inspecting closer, found that the vents in the bathroom were clogged with dust and dirt. I didn't even take off my shoes while in the room because the carpet looked as if a mechanic had taken oily car parts and laid them out. No joke the carpet was that filthy. The coffee pot looked as if it had not been cleaned only emptied and returned for the next guest. The AC worked but the heater never did and it was pretty chiily when I was there. The bed was never changed only made up, how do I know? There was a stain on the sheets and the sheets the next day had the same stain. Avoid this place unless you want to sleep in filth and hear low life people making noise all night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Brian E,

Your feedback, positive or negative, is important to us to strive the best and friendly customer service and to provide clean and economical guestrooms to make every guests' stay a memorable experience.

It is apparent that we didn't meet your expectations during your recent stay with us; with this said, we sincerely apologize for the less than satisfying stay.

We appreciate your time and business.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
0.6 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Property: Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Address: 1217 Wildwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing