We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try to avoid this motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try to avoid this motel”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I was advised to stay in the Sheraton hotel nearby but it was sold out, so I picked the Sundowner Inn as it was located near to my business meeting and I would only be there for one night.

The person, I can't bring myself to call him a gentleman, at the desk when I checked in was on the rude side of brusque and has obviously never been made aware of concepts like customer service. He was also difficult to understand. The lady at the desk in the morning was much more friendly and offered me free coffee but I just wanted to get away.

The room itself was clean and the Internet access was stable, albeit slow but the nearby highway is noisy at night and motorbikes and trucks can be heard right at the back of the room.

This is definitely not the worst place I have stayed at in the USA but I would put it in the bottom third.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbydammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Thank you for your criticism. I have personally looked in to your situation. I like to suggest if you ever believe in second chance please let me show you the best of best hospitality we like our guest to experience. For the guest comfort we offer several complimentary amenities such as full breakfast, WIFI, hard wire internet service in the room as well as business center in the lobby. We have reinforced our customer service personnel training identifying your comments as an example for them to learn from. I apologize that you were subjected to the experience that you were. I have taken your comments very seriously and have started monitoring employee behavior. We have multi cultural staff and some of them are foreign students.Please allow us to show you best part of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    88
    61
    77
See reviews for
72
30
30
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Okay, it truly doesn't even get one star, but I had to put something to write this review. This is the honest truth. My husband and I travel a lot for business and were both in the Bay at the same time. We try to never stay at anything less than a 4star (for the following reason), but this was all that was available because Oracle was holding their convention at the Moscone and everything was all booked.

Anyway, so one evening on the way back to this dump of a motel, I stopped to pick up dinner figuring that my husband and I would eat at the dump. I put our food out on the table and sat down with my husband to watch a football play on TV, we both heard somethng and looked towards the table to find a rat on top of the table nibbling on our meat. I was so totally grossed out.

To make matter worse, the darned rat wasn't scared of us and just stayed there eating away. I hurried and called the man at the front who told me that he didn't have anyone that could help me. I told him that he needed to do something immediately or I would go knock on each door and let the rest of his customer's know to watch for rats. He had the nerve to show up at my door yelling at me and accusing me of letting the rat in through the door! I coulnd't believe what I was experiencing. Needless to say, I left his hotel and went to stay in Newark - totally inconvenient but at a nice brand named hotel. This place is a total dump and I did report them to the board of health.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Thank you for your input and I sincerely apologize for the mishap. We fumigate and carefully monitor the premises. Professional pest control company regularly treats the property. Your experience has made us double up our effort to avoid the mistake. Please give us a second chance to show you our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

Trivandrum, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I found this hotel through a net search and booked for a week of stay as part of a business trip. Reached there at about 9.00 PM and have to wait for a while to see somebody at the reception ! The property is quiet large, but very deserted. Not many people were there when I stayed there.

Room was very large. But the carpet was very dusty and after a while I started sneezing beacuse of the dust problem. The entire property is unclean and the lack of proper maintenence is very obvious. Next day I found out another accomodation and checked out !

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness, carpet, break fast, reception
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnandCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I enjoyed my stay. Rooms have a refrigerator and microwave. Staff was very helpful. Great rates. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripSFbayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We've stayed here for one night, arriving around 10pm. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, spacious and contain desk, tv, fridge. Free wireless internet is available. The beds, desk, cabinet and carpet looked nice without any stains.

Nice pool area. Breakfast was included and turned out to be very good (buffet style including hot stuff). It was quiet at night, but there didn't seem to be as many guests compared to the other motels we stopped by to do some price comparison. We weren't aware of all the negative reviews here on tripadvisor, that might be a reason, but our experience is totally different. We would stay here again and can recommend it to anyone.

Also, what I don't understand is that some reviewers list their compliants here on tripadvisor, but their post doesn't show if they have taken any action while staying at the motel to get it fixed which is what I would have done.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fjorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

It is a Motel/Inn style. You walk from your room right into the parking lot. For the first couple nights, there was a small crowd of college aged kids, guys and girls, playing around at 10:00pm with an American football in the parking lot, drinking booze, and displaying wild behavior. Not exactly a family environment.

The room is large and it has all the core conveniences but it is all dated. The room also smells like was cleaned but my white socks looked filthy after just a few steps on that carpet. However, the TV set is new and they offer a good selection of cable channels. The Wi-Fi connection was flaky at 60% signal strength. My room was located by a busy road. By 6:00am I could hear cars going by...

I stayed at the Sundowner for 4 nights. It was a business trip for me, so I was just looking for a place to crash. But next time I will likely look for better place.

  • Liked — Location was close to work
  • Disliked — Noise, poor internet service, carpet cleaness, old furniture
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank descobridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This place was rated a 3 star hotel on Orbitz, which is grossly overstated. It is a decaying one star motel at best. It was clean, I'll give it that, but the furniture in the room was old and worn, the carpet had stains, and the appliances were from like 1972. The on-premises "gym" had ancient equipment which was far from safe. Management was not friendly and they seemed busy putting out fires from guest complaints. Not too many happy campers at the Sundowner Inn. Don't be fooled by inflated star ratings from Orbitz and the like.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the fact that I almost had to sue the hotel to get my money refunded
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ccstump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#22 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Sunnyvale
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
#10 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Property: Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Address: 504 Ross Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1442 (Formerly Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our amenities are designed to make business travel a pleasure. Here you will find high-technology companies, abundant recreational and entertainment choices and storybook landscapes. The Days Inn and Suites Sunnyvale is centrally located South of San Francisco Bay in the heart of Silicon Valley, convenient to major Fortune 500 companies, Shoreline Amphitheatre, Stanford Shopping Center, and beautiful Stanford University. We look forward to hosting your next stay in the Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing