We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Reviewed April 5, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Precy M, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 339 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank W D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Precy M, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Fidelando M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ckshah, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had booked the hotel for 3 weeks, but when I reached there I was told that since I had booked the hotel from some external agency, daily rates will be applied. It varied from $65 to $115 everyday, and I decided to move out after 6 days of stay.
Rooms are decent, facility is okay - nothing to write about. Can get noisy at times.
Wi-fi is a pain. Connection is very weak inside the rooms - my mobile internet connection worked better. Wi-fi password expired randomly and you have to walk all the way to front desk to get a new one. Tip - pick 3-4 passwords, one of them will work!
Overall, it wasn't a pleasant experience. Won't recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VibsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Your rate should not vary. The rate you booked the hotel at is the rate we honor for the period of your reservation. Rates vary according tosu pplyanddemand and when you try to extend or book another reservation your old rate may not be honored. We have two major companies supplying WIFI service. Pass words are generated and they change every day. This is for the guest security reason. You need pass word for each device that you use eg. computer, cell phone etc. Please come back and see the manager in the futureif you have issues like these. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you are in Silicon Valley for a tech job, I suggest you stay elsewhere! The staff tries very hard to provide good service, but dealing with CK Shah, the property owner, has been an absolute nightmare. He screams at his staff and at guests, does not want to honor confirmed reservation rates, and practices illegal discrimination against hotel occupants. Also, check your credit card for unauthorized charges...we found them on ours!

Many of the rooms have a hardwood floor renovation, which is what we prefer for sanitary reasons and is the main reason we chose this motel. The floor did turn my feet black so I had to re-mop it myself because that is just gross. Also, the chairs and couches are extremely worn and appear so dirty we had to cover ours with something or we were afraid to sit on them. There is no disinfectant spray in the gym, the rowing machine unfortunately does not work properly, and the bottled water in the gym tastes suspiciously like it came from the tap.

The Sunnyvale Motel 6 a couple of blocks towards El Camino on Matilda also has the hardwood floor renovation, is much cleaner, and is a better bargain for the price and has a General Manager who isn't scary and actually treats the guest with respect.

Our experience with Wyndham, the franchise company for this property, has by contrast been great.

Room Tip: Try the Motel 6 on Matilda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

This guest gave us her credit card for pre authorization for the reservation. Night auditor checks for high balances that are due and applies them toward the authorization. Reservation can only be guranteed upon payment authorization for the length of stay. Long term guest prepay months in advance like apartment rent. We have thousands of guest their credit cards are preauthorized and charged at the time of departure. These guests are short term stay guest. The guest currently owes over 1000 dollars and can not pay until he gets paid. This is not an acceptable practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ckshah, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is horrible. I made the poor decision to change a reservation to stay here because it was cheaper. The hotel is run down with dirty walls and curtains that do not close all the way. Another reason I changed to this hotel was because they offered a breakfast, but it didn't begin until we had to leave for the day. The towels are thin and one couldn't even dry us off. There were not enough towels. When I left a note for housekeeping, it was ignored. When I tried to call the front desk, the phone did not work. Later when I saw housekeeping & went to ask for more towels, I discovered why my note was unanswered, she didn't speak english. We had issues with the water being too cold at night and steaming hot in the morning. Sirens and loud music were heard at night.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your feed back. Yes housekeeping personnel do not speak english but the front desk and head house keeper do speak english. We apologize for the siren noise as one of the guests decided to smoke in side the the room. This set off the siren. Towels are to Wyn Rest specification. We are checking in to your complaint about the quality. Telephones are regularly maintained how ever the mitel system line cards do fail. We sincerely apologize for this. Our front desk is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Please help us to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
3.6 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#16 of 35 in Sunnyvale
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#24 of 35 in Sunnyvale
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#26 of 35 in Sunnyvale
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sunnyvale, CA
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Address: 504 Ross Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1442 (Formerly Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $91 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our amenities are designed to make business travel a pleasure. Here you will find high-technology companies, abundant recreational and entertainment choices and storybook landscapes. The Days Inn and Suites Sunnyvale is centrally located South of San Francisco Bay in the heart of Silicon Valley, convenient to major Fortune 500 companies, Shoreline Amphitheatre, Stanford Shopping Center, and beautiful Stanford University. We look forward to hosting your next stay in the Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing