We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rooms stink and the carpet is dirty. Staff is nice though” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms stink and the carpet is dirty. Staff is nice though”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just checked in and I can't believe they are calling this a Days Inn! I learned my lesson on this one that's for sure. Drove by the place twice since the sign says Sundowner Inn and it looks nothing like what I was expecting. But live and learn. The carpet looks like it hasen't been vacuumed in weeks, the room smells musty there is 1960's era wallpaper and so on. The room does have a nice Samsung LCD but not sure about the channel selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakandscubadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments. As you may have noticed the hotel is going through serious renovation. Our customers demanded flat panel TV first, then the mattresses and next on ther list is floor treatment. All the rooms will have 40 inch flat panel TV and new pillow top mattress by the year end. We are working on getting new floor treatment (Hardwood floor and carpet) by the yerar end. Sinage is another thing we are working on with Wyndham corporate and the City of Sunnyvale. It should be done by the beginning of the year, The building are being painted and Rooms are getting ready for the ADA compliance. Please come and see the changes as they are being implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    55
    74
    48
    68
See reviews for
64
25
24
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is the Sundowner Inn on all the maps and they have a flimsy plastic cover over the signs that at night still show the Sundowner Inn through the plastic. The reason to stay here is that Los Altos is expensive and this hotel is cheap. I paid less for this hotel than almost any hotel on a trip from SF to Phoenix. The good news is that the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable albeit a little outdated. The bad news is that they rent a party room on the Mathilda Ave side which has very loud parties regularly. Ask for a room closer to the lobby side - mine was and I slept fine. The hotel lobby is also the worst smelling I've ever been in - thank goodness the rooms are better maintained. The breakfast was fine and the pool was fine. Overall, my experience was better than many of the reviewers but you do get what you pay for. I would recommend this as a budget option. When I looked for other options this seemed to be far cheaper and convenient for Los Altos.

Room Tip: Stay near the lobby and away from the party room on Mathilda Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liquidsunshine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As we have mentioned to many of our guests the sign on Mathilda has been ordered and will be here by the year end. Monument sign on Ross drive will also be installed at the same time. Roof top signs will say Sundowner only. Inn will be removed. We are working to get the city permit and Wyndham corporate approval. I am told we will get this momentarily. Sorry that we have to cover old Sundowner Inn sign with the Days Inn and Suite bubble sign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here with friends for 4 nights the weekend of the Bridge School Benefit. The hotel we've stayed at for years had gotten too expensive for what it was so we decided to give this place a try. The double rooms are large and spacious, bathrooms clean and beds very comfortable. Continental breakfast is basic corporate fare - make-your-own waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, apples, bananas, toast, bagels. muffins, etc. but there was a rather large foreign travel group staying there so table space was at a premium. One morning I had to eat out by the pool - not really an option in the rain!

The carpeting in the room could stand a bit of cleaning, and the electrical outlets definitely need some work (all of our re-charger plugs fell out of each outlet unless they were supported in some manner) but other than that I found the Days Inn to be a good value for the money. I didn't have the opportunity to use either the heated pool or the sauna, but appreciated the availability of both. I was on the first floor and had no issue with noise and felt safe at all times.

As a side note, there is an EXCELLENT Greek restaurant across the parking lot if you are too tired after a long day of travel to venture out far to eat. Also management should upgrade the computer in the lobby. While serviceable enough, it was really slow!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RustedGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here on a Monday night. I had a very hard time sleeping because of all the noise from the nearby roads. I decided to leave a night early because of this issue.

Also breakfast was only served until 9am which I was not told. I spend about 10 minutes just trying to figure out where breakfast was since everyone pointed me in a different direction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I chose this place due to price and location. It was barely worth what I paid. It seemed clean, but upon looking for an outlet for my phone, I realized it was not - unmentionable wrappers on the floor. The doors open to the outside, and as a single female traveler, it wasn't comfortable on the first floor. Was happy to leave.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#18 of 34 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 34 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Property: Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Address: 504 Ross Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1442 (Formerly Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our amenities are designed to make business travel a pleasure. Here you will find high-technology companies, abundant recreational and entertainment choices and storybook landscapes. The Days Inn and Suites Sunnyvale is centrally located South of San Francisco Bay in the heart of Silicon Valley, convenient to major Fortune 500 companies, Shoreline Amphitheatre, Stanford Shopping Center, and beautiful Stanford University. We look forward to hosting your next stay in the Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing