We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Kids' Night Was Great”
Review of Hobee's

Hobee's
Ranked #20 of 378 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Holiday Kids' Night Was Great”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My family came here to relive the deliciousness that is their blueberry coffee cake, having moved out of the area a decade ago. The cake and the restaurant have changed little in that time. What made this visit special is that we stumbled across a kids eat free special Easter celebration. The manager, despite being temporarily understaffed, set up a really cute egg-painting station and invited us to join the fun! I'm impressed that one person can do so much so well.

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Breakfasts, Soups and Salad Bar”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hate the music they play, but other than that, there is little to complain about here. I've become a regular; however, I think that Sweet Tomatoes has a greater variety on the salad bar. They also have a gluten free menu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yguy94086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hobee's has been our go-to place for many years, and it never disappoints. Their coffee cake is superb. The blueberry coffee cake is a year-round favorite, and they have seasonal coffee cakes like cherry (in honor of Washington's birthday) and pumpkin walnut (in the fall).

They have a dozen variations of hash browns including many vegetarian options. My favorites are hash browns with salsa, sour cream, and guacamole; and hash browns with chicken-apple sausage, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and cheese.

Other excellent offerings include scrambles and omelettes. Try the south of the border omelette with black beans, guacamole, sour cream, and salsa.

They do tend to get busy late weekend mornings but often have complimentary coffee while you wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hobee's Again at Last”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a 12 year hiatus, my wife and I wanted to visit Hobee's again. It turned out that Hobee's in Sunnyvale was just down the street from Best Western's Sunnyvale motel where we were staying, so we walked to Hobee's for a breakfast of cinnamon tea and a gigantic hunk of blueberry coffee cake. Both were just as delicious as they were when we lived in the Bay Area. You can't beat this coffee cake, at least, I can't. BTW Hobee's is selling a big old pan of blueberry coffee cake OR a big old pan of apple walnut coffee cake for $14.95 or so each. Of course, Hobee's has other good food; I'm just a coffee-cake nut.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aWriter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for breakfast”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Perfect place for breakfast! Coffee cake is great add-on to the traditional breakfast.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gene3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobee's also viewed

 

Been to Hobee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing