We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great, but a nice little place within walking distance of the Grand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kabul Afghan Cuisine

Kabul Afghan Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 374 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not great, but a nice little place within walking distance of the Grand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Decent food, but nothing stellar. Kabobs were tasty but slightly dry. Rice and nan were excellent. Decent service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmerc2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    73
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wow, this place is every bit as good as the reviewers are saying!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The best Afghan restaurant I have ever visited. This place really is fantastic -- the food (authenticity, taste, selection) service (really great) and value (good value for money). If you have a taste for Afghan cuisine and are anywhere within the area, you really must try this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Afghan Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hadn't been here for years - and it's just as good if not better than 20 years ago. Reservations are a must since it's crowded almost every meal. The rack of lamb, although very tasty, was cooked just a bit more than our liking. The Chef's Platter was delicious, but seemed a little 'over-produced'. I would have preferred one of this, one of that, one of something else, etc. Tables are quite close together - too close for my taste. The salad is non-descript, giant leaves of lettuce on a teeny-tiny plate. Despite all this, this is a wonderful restaurant and we recommend it. Go for the side dishes - go for the kebabs. It's all good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumper E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice and fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

So we were looking for non american food and we took a leap of faith, after all it was nearby a jack in the box, but we were surprised the place is really good and the food very tasty, cinnamon spiced rice was delicious :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nestor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good by American and Afghan standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I just had lunch here with a young woman from Afghanistan. She loved both the food and the atmosphere. I did, too. Don't let the photo fool you - the restaurant looks much better than that. White table cloths, nice Afghan art pieces on the walls (which my friend recognized and told me how the woven pieces are used) and sophisticated, dark wood chairs (not the colonial ones shown in the picture). The food was authentic according to my friend, and I just found it delicious. I had the dish that is rice with lamb, raisins and carrots (don't remember the name) and something that translates into an elephant ear (flat, fried dough with sugar and pistachio). Attentive staff, and the owner had nice conversation with my friend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabul Afghan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Kabul Afghan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing