We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to watch sports”

St. John's Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 377 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place to watch sports”
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Can't beat the juicy burgers and onion rings. It's a locale hangout for many sports teams, both young and old, and offers good food and a friendly atmosphere. Several beers on tap and decent wine selection. Take the family out if you're too tired to cook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    99
    23
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best burger place in the valley!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Mushroom burger can not be beat, fries are great and the atmosphere is excellent!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgmcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pass”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

OK I have been here a couple times. Let me just say, I personally don't see why its getting more than two stars by anyone. IMO there are much better places for the $$. The burgers are OK. Nothing to write home about. Not to mention for the price most places serve you an order of fries. Here you get the smallest bag of chips made. It does tend to get noisy. Probably because they have several televisions with sports on. Yeah I know i'm weird, a guy that doesn't care for sports. Anyway I am sure this attributes to a lot of their business. For myself I would just assume go somewhere else for the $$

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great And Consistent Burgers”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Always on my to-do list when in Sunnyvale, St Johns has some great burgers and fries. Well, and it is just a block or two from Frys Electronics, so it is that much better.

Nothing fancy. Small bar in the front corner that you could easily miss. Always busy and loud, but fast moving. Good for the family too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducka62
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome gardenburger!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Pick a burger any style and you can request it garden-burger style. First time for me eating a garden-burger at a restaurant, and it was good. Good prices and good food. Great daily specials too!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing