We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Sunnyvale North
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good value for the money”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Pros: cheap, clean, everything in working order (A/C, nice bed, etc), nice staff.
Cons: internet is slow, sound isolation is kinda poor, my linens were never changed in a week (probably would have if I complained, but I didn't care - I change them much less often at home :))

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
11
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After quite an unconfortable experience in another motel of the kind, we were doubtful as what we would find in the Sunnyvale Motel 6.

I was really pleasantly surprised.
The room was clean (the carpet seemed clean ! wasn't scared to walk bare feet on it), smelled fresh, bathroom was ok. Only thing missing : the hairdryer.
It's still a motel, but a good one, i would recommend it : cheap, clean, quite nice neighborhood, nice reception.
The WiFi costs 3 $ for 24hours.
The pool seemed nice but i didn't had the chance to dive in.
It's a 40/45 min drive to San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calliesmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Seriouosly, it is $60 for a single, for a midweek stay in the heart of Silicon Valley.
I don't expect much except a clean room with the items required, such as a bathroom, bed, and tv.

The room was clean. I was on the side by the pool, but didn't have noise issues during my stay. I don't know if the street side would be noisier. The pool looked clean, but I didn't use it. The WIFI fee was $3, but a bit slow, however, it was ok for standard browsing. So, the place was clean. I didn't notice any shady characters hanging around. It shares a parking lot with Burger King, so "food" is really close. There is a Hobees and, I think, a Denny's across the street, next to the lower rated Motel 6, so don't go to the wrong one. Sunnyvale North is next to the Burger King.. For $60, it was a good value, as values in this area go. I think the weekly rate is about $340 (plus tax). Maximum stay is 28 days, then you have to be gone for a week. Interesting law. I only stayed a day though. I believe the daily rate for 2 is about $5 or $6 more.
Notes: The soap is adequate for getting clean, but recommend bringing your own. Towels are small, but I managed to dry with the 2 of them :). I didn't like the pillow (small, non fluffy)
I don't normally stay at Motel 6, but this was the best one I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: I would suggest not getting rooms on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtravel-gmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I needed to stay two times in the area and choose the Motel6 North (!) in Sunnyvale, CA.
Reception staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms are Motel6 rooms standards, clean !!
I requested a quiet room on the top floor which they provided for each stay. Teh structure of the building really allows some nice pivacy.
Overall, a good expereince and I can recommend this Motel6 as an effortable place to stay in the south bay area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

$60 a night in the heart of silicon valley!
Updated and clean but still a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Quiet and clean. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RxDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you are visiting Silicon Valley and need inexpensive but good quality accommodation, look no further than Motel 6. Their weekly rate is even better than the already reasonable daily rate. It is conveniently located, and a 20 min walk away from the Sunnyvale Caltrain station which can take you anywhere in the Bay area. The Burger King and Denny's joints nearby are perfect for food at odd hours. As for the room itself, the furnishings are basic but perfectly serviceable. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious and very clean. And the staff, helpful as ever. The $3 per day wi-fi rocks too. Other hotels in the vicinity like Best Western and Comfort suites are significantly more expensive and don't offer a lot more (except breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayaksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My room was very nice and I really have no complaints. The only fly in the ointment was the pillows. I like pillows on the thin and flat side as opposed to very thick and "sturdy" ones as were these. I sleep on my side and/or stomach and don't like big fat pillows. Oh, by the way, there are TWO Motel 6's in Sunnyvale.....North and South. But physically they are directly across the street from each other, so it is a moot point.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#23 of 33 in Sunnyvale
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
3.4 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
956 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sunnyvale North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sunnyvale North

Property: Motel 6 Sunnyvale North
Address: 775 N Mathilda Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-3511
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sunnyvale North 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sunnyvale North is a non-smoking property. Restaurants are nearby. Paramount's Great America amusement park and the Shoreline Amphitheatre are minutes away. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Sunnyvale North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Sunnyvale North Hotel Sunnyvale
Motel Six Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Motel Six
Sunnyvale Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing