We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Francis Arms

St. Francis Arms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sunnyvale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Francis Arms
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
washington, d.c.
1 review
“Rude Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

Lost a necklace during my trip and when I called to follow-up to see if maidservice had found it no one got back to me. When I called for the second time front desk person was rude and defensive.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank hrvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

The room was hot and smelled of mold or mildew when we arrived. It looked like a studio apartment from the 70's that has never been updated with popcorn ceilings and low sinks in the bathroom and dirty white walls. The carpet looked dirty as did the blinds, walls, etc. The a/c unit was so outdated - it took hours to cool off the room. The bed was only a full. Would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

There internet is not reliable for the business people as it went down almost every day in the last week of the month. I understand it failing once in awhile however daily, I be getting a new server. Seem office persons didn't understand when I called to report the down service, they reported my shower out of order! Other wise every thing else was very clean and nice.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2005

we had a two bedroom suite--outstanding!

its a converted apartment building, and a great place for the feel at home for a long stay.

not too many services, but very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2004

I stayed here about a year ago and while the exterior is just decent, the interior is very nice and extremely clean. It's in a nice area and is very close by to restaurants, supermarkets, even a golf course and lots of retail shops. The rooms itself though are set back from the main road so it does provide a little more privacy. Complimentary breakfasts are pretty good. Mostly hardboiled eggs, some sausages, hams, and great danish's. I had to stay here for a little more than two weeks and I would recommend the place with no problems. If you smoke but aren't able to get a smoking room, no problem because each unit has a balcony.

Helpful?
3 Thank cbyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2004

My boyfriend and I stayed here from 3/15/04 - 3/20/04. I was scared after reading the reviews, but once I got there, I was so glad. This is a clean place and even though it is not gated, our apartment was all the way in the back so we felt safe since it was away from the main road. Our place was clean and the hallways didn't smell (from what someone had mentioned in a review). The TV was small, but we didn't watch TV much so it was not a big deal... but the only things I can complain about was the pans, bedding and AC. I tried to make scrambled eggs and they tasted awful. The bedding was hard 3 tc thread sheets (Luckily, I had brought my own 250 tc spare sheets! A MUST if you are staying long term) and there is no AC in the bedroom. We had to keep our window open which was noisy with the chirping birds first thing in the morning (it was unually hot in N. California when we stayed). The free breakfast is great (has lots of stuff!!). I would definitely stay here again!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2004

Two of us stayed here in late Jan 2004. The apartment obviously dates back some decades, but the interior was clean and very spacious -- an apartment with a full kitchen. It was nice to have the sitting area and the fridge. For the price, it was a great deal. We stayed in more expensive hotels with lots less room. I got the lowest rate on the web, and the person at the front desk told me that next time I could simply call him and he'd offer me the same rate without the bother of going on the web. The breakfast was a very nice effort, and perfectly described by the staff as, "slightly more than continental." They have a few things to learn about miso soup and rice (the reconstituted soup needs some fresh garnish, and you need to have something to eat with the rice -- pickles or fish or something) but it was a thoughtful effort to please Japanese guests, and we appreciated the touch. The TV was run down, but functional, and there was free DSL. Our experience was perfectly acceptable, though we kept laughing and saying to each other, "What a funky hotel. . . "

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
1.0 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#24 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#9 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friendship Inn
Friendship Inn
#20 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Arms

Property: St. Francis Arms
Address: 739 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Francis Arms is an all-suite property in the heart of Silicon Valley. Specializing in corporate housing with both long-term and short-term stays available, the hotel offers upscale amenities and modern home-like comforts with complimentary breakfast, full kitchen, easy parking, and free high-speed Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Francis Arms Hotel Sunnyvale
St Francis Arms Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing