We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a king executive suite - Room 407. The bed was wonderful, full size kitchen with full-size refrigerator and freezer (very important for my husband's ice cream at night) and we had a balcony with chairs that we could relax on. Only thing I would change would be maybe a waffle maker, eggs/bacon offered on weekends. Other than that we loved staying here for our 4-night stay. Staff very friendly, hallways and room very clean and you can't beat the hot cookies offered at front desk when checking in! Came here for Stanford reunion and Palo Alto completely sold out so this was a very nice surprise. Will definitely stay here again next trip to this area.

Susan V
Los Angeles

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    84
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
27
26
13
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minden, NV
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Sitting in room 414 as I write. Bed was comfortable, but oddly noisy. Some sort of crinkly cover was put between the mattress and the sheets- and made noise every time you turned over. Breakfast not impressive with just toast/muffins, bottled juice and coffee. Fridge in room is full sized, but hummed all night

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback, it really does help us to understand where we need to focus our continuous improvement efforts. Regarding our breakfast, we are always looking for ways to improve and again, appreciate your feedback. We currently provide hot menu items three days each week but will certainly look into adding additional days to our menu.
On our beds, your comment was a bit concerning, so we’ll have to do some investigating and ensure the Feature Topper on our signature FeatherBorne bed was installed properly within the room you stayed. I do understand however, that bed comfort is different for each individual and was sorry to hear that you were not comfortable during your stay with us.

Thanks again for helping us to improve our product!

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of my favorite places i've stayed in the 100s of hotels i've been in in the last few years. There is a kitchen which is a tremendous help, everything is super clean and comfy, and a business center for computer and printing needs. The breakfast is even pretty good although not impressive.
The only time to stay, however, is on the weekend. The rates are about 1/2 or 1/3 of the weekly rates. This is because it is in silicon valley and the people with expense accounts fill the place during the week.

Room Tip: Book on the weekends (Friday and Saturday) for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a lovely stay. I took a work trip to CA and was able to stay here and it was beautiful. The touches are very nice and it was quiet. I only wish I could have stayed a couple nights longer in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 202, a one bedroom studio. The room was spacious and extremely clean, as was the entire hotel. It all looks brandnew to me.

Kitchen has a double stove and a huge microwave, good counter to work on, big fridge/freezer and all necessary utensils. It even has a dishwasher.

Bed slept very good, AC is doing a good job (may be a bit noisy to some) and the bathroom has a nice bath and shower with hit water and good pressure.

The gym has very good facilities. All in new condition and they have free weights.

The two ladies behind the check-in are very customerfriendly (especially Ray), the elderly guy was a bit rude to us concerning our reservation. Nit helpful at all, but the ladies made it all up.

Recommending this facility 100%: I could live here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucas5915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well, this is a comfortable sleep wise hotel. The location is good. But the breakfast space and setup was very bizarre...I had a good night sleep - the WLAN in the hotel room was good, but then in the morning I decided to check out the breakfast -- and that was interesting
It was served in the lobby / TV room - with only one table with 4 chairs, a couch -- all in all not much place to sit down and eat....
The food was OK, but be prepared to stand upright as you eat your bagel. I did not understand this !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickInChina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay here at the Larkspur Landing Hotel in Sunnyvale. I am happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and comfortable. Regarding our breakfast, as a portion of the lobby is in fact used to serve our breakfast, we do actually have a larger connecting room with a TV, a few tables and several chairs for our guests to sit and enjoy their breakfast. I’m sorry if this room was not clear during your stay however in the future, please be sure to take advantage of this extra space provided.

Thank you again for your time and for your business! We hope to see you again during your next visit to Sunnyvale.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff at this hotel are great. They always remember our name and always welcome us back with smiles...even when they are busy. We have allergies and they always have our room ready for us without the allergens when we arrive. They always work with me when I arrange my husband's business travel. It is also conveniently located to 101, 237 and the El Camino. There are many restaurants, specialty stores and department stores located relatively close by. It is so quiet and comfortable that I usually forget that I am in a city until I leave the hotel. This is my hotel of choice when we come to the Bay Area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. If you have allergies let them know when making your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! It is always great to hear when our guests are able to enjoy the many amenities provided as well as our helpful and friendly front desk staff. I will be sure to share, with our staff, the pleasant impressions they left with you.

Thank you for staying such a loyal and valued guest of the Larkspur Hotels.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
921 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
0.2 mi away
Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Property: Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Address: 748 N Mathilda Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#5 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#7 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale hotel near San Jose is conveniently located in the heart of Silicon Valley off of Highway 101 on North Mathilda Avenue. The city, which is home to well known companies like Yahoo!, Lockheed Martin and Juniper Networks, also offers close proximity to attractions like the Shoreline Amphitheater, California's Great America, the Tech Museum of Innovation and much more. Larkspur's Sunnyvale CA hotel provides easy access to these famous attractions as well as dozens of eclectic boutiques, shops and fine dining options. This San Jose Hotel provides guests with unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing