We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oasis with the Friendliest Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This boutique hotel has a charming atmosphere from the cabanas in the pool area to the open-air lobby to their canopied beds in the rooms. The staff was exceptional in their ability to help suggest local sites, restaurants, or whatever was needed. The mornings were filled with the most cheerful employees greeting each person and creating a lovely environment to enjoy a cup of coffee or a full blown breakfast. We had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you , we like to think we are a beautiful oasis in Sunnyvale too! Thank you for the excellent feedback and I will thank the staff providing you with great service.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the best hotel I ever stayed during my past trip during which I stayed in around 7 different hotels. Room is clean, free WIFI is really fast, free breakfast quality is OK and has adequate choices, staff is helpful and friendly.

By the way, I just cannot understand why almost all the hotels(except 4/5 stars) in USA have such bad air conditioning - this kind of air conditioning is really out of date in China for more than 20 years now.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are OK. Probably the best rooms are those facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgao_bgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

That is a great compliment that we were the best of the 7 hotel stays during your trip. Thank you very much! Your comment regarding the heat/ac units in the states is interesting. I think it is because of the age of most of the buildings and how they were built. Most were not built with central air or heat and they can't be converted without tearing down the buildings. The good news is we are updating our units with the most efficient units we can.

Thank you and have a great day.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This will be a short review: Any hotel that has a fake thermostat control panel on the wall that does nothing to change the temp of the room can get a max of 2 stars in my book. So I guess that, all things considered, this hotel is not that bad for a place that has a fake thermostat on the wall.

Room Tip: Try to find one with a real thermostat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I am so sorry about your thermostat, it is not fake, but broken or not connected. The ac/heat units in the walls can be controlled by the thermostat when they are properly installed. I am sorry to say but it looks like the maintenance team did not do this in your room. There is no excuse for them not connecting it up when they installed the new unit. I truly apologize for this mistake. I will follow up with the team to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I used a Groupon for a stay of 3 nights while attending a family members college graduation in San Jose, CA. This was an excellent value - just did not have a lot of time to enjoy what the hotel had to offer during our busy Graduation/Memorial Day weekend.

The staff were very nice, fresh apples were always available (a nice touch!), and the buffet breakfast offered quite a range of choices. It appears as though the rooms have been refurbished with a unique style, they are quite large and very clean.

The Wild Palms is a good 'central' location if you are visiting the San Jose and/or San Francisco area and the value can not be beat. A great deal for families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Congratulations to the graduate! I'm happy that we could add to the celebration and the team took wonderful care of you. Thank you for the fantastic comments and we hope to see you again.

Best,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed an overnight in this charming hotel, which is well located for Silicon Valley, and also worked well for my non-business related stay. Staff greeted me by name throughout the stay and accommodated my needs as they arose. Room was quiet, bed comfortable and generally clean.
This was a pet friendly accommodation with a nice lawn, bags and trash can conveniently located. Breakfast was excellent -- eggs, bacon, hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, bagels, cereal and coffees and teas. Although the area was rather crowded, and the food eaten up quickly, there were several servers who were attending the area, frequently clearing tables and resupplying food bins.

This is not an upscale hotel; but serves my needs in a warm and friendly way. I am looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaulaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

It looks like you really enjoyed yourself and thank you so much for the amazing comments! I love that I can share these great comments with the staff, especially the part about using your name. We hope to treat everyone like family when they are here and it looks like the team did a great job.

Come again and thank you!

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was bothered by a bit of street noise, but the room was clean and the property lived up to the Joi de Vivre funky --- nicer than the sibling "Avatar" hotel. Paid over $130/night, and I may return on another trip --- if other regular hotels are full-up.

Room Tip: Recommending not on the busy street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwhized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I'm sorry, El Camino Real is a really busy street and that can be annoying. I'm pleased to see the hotel, JDV vibe and room lived up to our reputation! We hope to see you soon and maybe we can move you away from the busy street.

Best,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love the style of this hotel, it reminds me of the motels I stayed in with my family when I was a kid and on a road trip. It has a couple of floors with rooms that all overlook a central pool. The good news is that it has been redone with Mediterranean-inspired decor. The colors make you think summer and sun, and that's when I usually go there. It's the perfect break for a night or two. My boys love to swim and the pool is seasonally heated. They have huge cabanas around the pool so it's nice that Mom and Dad can laze around, read a book, and still be able to keep an eye on the swimming kids.
The rooms are a great size. I recommend a one bedroom suite if you have little ones who need to go to bed early. Everything is very clean, and comfortable, as you'd expect.
Breakfast is included, which makes this place one of the best deals around! The prices are great. The hotel is only 40 minutes from my house, but it feels a world away and it's just right for a quick getaway any time of year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your staycation with us! You enjoyed the hotel just as we intended for our weekend travelers. Thank you for the great comments and we hope to see you again.

Robin Donovan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 35 in Sunnyvale
1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#6 of 35 in Sunnyvale
988 reviews
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sunnyvale, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 35 in Sunnyvale
392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#8 of 35 in Sunnyvale
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cupertino Hotel
Cupertino Hotel
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 910 E Fremont Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#4 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $111 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Palms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing