We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wild Palms Hotel- Sunnyvale
Stayed here for 2 nights. Good location, easy freeway access. Neighborhood has a good range of restaurants in walking distance; although not the most pedestrian-friendly neighborhood. The look and feel of the hotel can best be described as a Motel 6 with Ikea furnishings. On the surface it looks stylish, lively, and fun but the building/structure is old. No surprise, overall quality of this place is that of a 3 star motel at best so, don't expect more. Here’s the specifics of the good and not so good based on my experience:

Pros:
Staff is very professional, courteous, and helpful.
Rooms are clean, comfortable bed, chairs, and desk.
Large closets, average sized bathroom with tub and shower.
Common areas are also clean, seem well-maintained.
Good amenities: bathrobe, iron/ironing board, basic toiletries, small refrigerator, flat screen TV.
Swimming pool area has hot tub and comfortable lounge chairs.

Cons:
Dark rooms due to small windows.
Noisy—rooms have thin walls; you can hear the next room’s TV and plumbing; worse if you’re in a room that’s facing the street or courtyard/pool area (there were people late at night using the hot tub and could hear them partying). The heating/cooling system in the rooms are noisy too.
Painfully slow wi-fi/internet access; you have to pay some ridiculous amount to “upgrade” to a faster speed! This should just be free to guests given the hotel is frequented by tech geeks!
Business Center-- cramped space with one old PC and printer and uncomfortable chairs.
Fitness Center- pathetically small space, 3 old exercise machines.
Pool although nice and clean is short and small.
Free breakfast: you can taste why it's free but coffee is passable.
Hotel is showing its age in spite of the cosmetic makeover.

Bottom line, this is indeed a 3 star motel so, it's a fair deal if you don't pay more than what you would pay for any other 3-star. Above that, you might want to look elsewhere. For me personally, I would stay elsewhere next time I need to be in that area.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms, facing away from front and side streets, or facing away from the courtyard, pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x2fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    288
    102
    34
    15
See reviews for
163
163
78
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pleasant hill ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hanging around in the hot tub and the pool surrounded by tropical plants,palm trees and a little waterfall-yet in the middle of Sunnyvale-NICE!!.The rooms continue the tropical motif. It was pleasant. Yes, it is an older motel-updated,but that was okay with me.Sean at the front desk was very nice and helpful.Plentiful breakfast.For this price level,I'd choose a Joie de Vivre hotel over others every time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eusnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I booked my room here via Hotwire and I received a great rate. I was skeptical at first because of the rate but after reading some of the reviews I thought why not. Driving up to the hotel the building looks a little worn but the waterfall in the front and landscaping made me want to proceed with my check-in.

I was greeted with a smile and some flavored fruit water by the person checking me in. My room was large enough with an old 1980 tube television. The staff called me to see how I was doing and expressed that they wanted to wish me a great stay. Nice touch Wild Palms!!!

The only negatives were the breakfast set up and the old tube tv. Who has these anymore? The fitness "dungeon" is a joke too but I wasn't there for that so it wasn't a bother really.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT_oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We started our hotel search a little late and were shocked at the prices even south of San Francisco. Anything reasonable was taken or just plain unreasonable! This was a wonderful value. We stayed 9 days and were very pleased with the pool, the whirlpool, the room and the breakfast buffet.
One note, do get to the breakfast buffet early. Staff does not do a very good job of refilling the warming trays once they get low or empty. We got Fr. toast and pancakes on alternate days, with bacon and wonderful sausage, again on alternate days. Scrambled eggs were very good! Also toast and pastry and juices, plus rice and hot oatmeal, not instant.
There is not a bar at this hotel, as others have stated here. The bar was made into the breakfast dining room.
Bed was comfortable and the A/C had a consistent fan so that we were able to sleep all night without interruption. Rooms were clean although small. Great desk area that was built-in.
One ice machine for the entire hotel, however, and no signs to show us where it was. Ditto the vending machine.
I would give service an excellent rating but for the breakfast that runs out of food. Cleaning staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a poolside view. Traffic noise can be intense for others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Wild Palms several times. The place is comfortable and clean. There is also a backyard pool, though it closed at night, probably because of noise concerns. The rates they usually state are not a good bargain, but I got better deals online at around 60-80 USD, which are ok. Generally I can recommend this place if you have business in the area.

Room Tip: Try to make time in the morning for a swim in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I try to get away locally every so often and for this trip I choose another one of the JDV hotels. While this location isn't the Ritz it was suitable for my needs and budget. At first I reserved a deluxe room but after speaking to the staff I was sold on the upgraded executive room. Don't let the name fool you! The only difference with the rooms is that the upgrades have flat screens and are on the interior side of the hotel. If you aren't spending time in the room I would ask to be in the back of the hotel (I think it's the 3 building) because its quiet there.

The room was clean, the breakfast was free and decent, and my girlfriend and I enjoyed the free wine and roses the staff gave us. In short, the hotel isn't a 4 star full service hotel but they're a solid 3 star that (DOES NOT have a bar even if the sign says so) that had a decent room with great service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Free2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and understanding that we are a solid 3 star property and agree we are not the Ritz. We try to give 4 star service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Wild Palms offers great value for a sillicon valley business stay. The rooms are nice, if a little noisy sometimes (if you're on the El Camino side), the service is great. They have great flatscreen TVs in all roms and they deliver packages directly to room (so you don't have to go to reception). Breakfast is typical American and the swimming pool is just big enough for laps on Sunday.

Room Tip: Try to be on the 2nd floor close to a stairway that leads directly to a good parking space. Those ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzvika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 5 in Cupertino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 910 E Fremont Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#4 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Palms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing